Burdastyle 10/2017 #119 and 9/2017 #121: Lemons in the Lady Garden

One of the problems with my lack of regular blogging isn’t a lack of sewing, but a lack of taking pictures I’m happy with (and my standards of happiness are clearly very much lower than other bloggers’ anyway).
But looking at things realistically, happiness isn’t really achievable in the world of my blog photos anyway, so I ‘ll just post this as it is rather than delaying even further.

These are two of my favourite recent pieces: The trousers are Burdastyle 9/2017  #121, which, following a suggestions from Ali , I’ve named the Lady Garden Trousers, because, of course, there is a lot going on in the lady garden area, as Ali helpfully suggested.

There is actually a lot I would normally not like about these trousers. They don’t have pockets for starters. I hate clothes without pockets as I always have stuff to carrry around with me. So I added a small front welt pocket to at least accomodate my phone. Secondly, they have a side zip, which again I wouldn’t usually chose and which I normally convert into a front zip opening.  Of course I could have changed all that, but I was short on fabric and didn’t want to experiment with a new pattern. And thirdly the fit isn’t great, they came out a bit large and large quantities of elastic were used in the waist line (I did use my usual size 42 in Burda, but I might have needed to size down).

But, but but – I just love them! The fabric just makes these trousers and it makes me feel happy every time I put them on, so they are a big win in my book.

Patternwise I’m in fact more excited about the top Burdastyle 19/2017 #119.

This is a pattern I thouroughly recommend! It’s as comfortable as any regular knit top, but is just elevated a little bit about the standard top. Admittedly you won’t wip this up in an hour, there’s a bit of precision sewing necessary around the waist area and for setting in the sleeves that personally I couldn’t have done on the overlocker. So I used all three machines: the regular machine for precision sewing, the overlocker for the rest and coverstitch for the neck and bottom seams.

I sized down one size to a 38, which I usually do in Burda knit tops and it turned out just right. I used a very hefty ponte and that was a good choice, I this the waist belt wouldn’t sit right in a flimsier fabric. Oh, and I managed to get this top out of 1 metre rather than the 1.3 metres specified. I had to shorten the arms by about 2cm, but that was all.

Regular readers of this blog will know that one of my modellig special skills is walking up and down, so I wouldn’t want to leave you without proof that I’m still at the top of my game!

See, told you so, exemplary stuff!

 

 

 

Merken

Tagged: , , ,

12 thoughts on “Burdastyle 10/2017 #119 and 9/2017 #121: Lemons in the Lady Garden

  1. Anne W November 1, 2017 at 10:46 pm Reply

    I love your photos! 😀 I have the same problem as you do regarding blogging and photos, I’ve made loads of stuff, but getting it photographed is something else. I’m tempted by that top, the details are cool, and you’ve used a fabulous colour!

    • Chris November 2, 2017 at 12:12 am Reply

      In fact I was thinking of you when making that top, wondering if you had already made it – that seems to be the usual state of affairs 😉

      • Anne W November 2, 2017 at 12:13 am

        It’s my turn to make something inspired by you!

  2. Anonymous November 2, 2017 at 2:50 am Reply

    Glad to have you back! Karen

  3. Yvonne Bennett November 2, 2017 at 4:51 am Reply

    I absolutely adore that top! I love the real photos much more than the perfectly staged, edited ones anyway. Keeping it real! Great new additions to your wardr9be!

  4. KS Sews November 2, 2017 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Ahhhhh! You’re making me HAVE to sew that top!!! It’s FANTASTIC!

    I love your lady garden pants too 🙂

  5. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) November 2, 2017 at 5:24 pm Reply

    yes I also want that top pattern now as well. Great outfit.

  6. SewingElle November 2, 2017 at 10:34 pm Reply

    I want to sew that top now too. Your photos are the best. Don’t change a thing.

  7. Alex November 3, 2017 at 9:46 am Reply

    Missed you, Chris! Glad to have you back! I love your writing so much, you can put whatever pics you want, they are just bonus.
    On the other hand, so many Burdas, so little time!!! Grrrr! Great makes :).

  8. L November 5, 2017 at 3:39 pm Reply

    Love the top!

  9. Audrey November 10, 2017 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Great looking top! And fun pants.

  10. Tia Dia November 10, 2017 at 6:34 pm Reply

    I love the colour of the top! And your photos are the best. My fave is the last one. 😀 I hate taking photos, so most of my makes never get onto the blog!!!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

