The Brexit Coat Part IV: Is Brexit a Success?

Public Service Announcement: If you are the kind who doesn’t like to listen to experts you may proceed straight to the end of this post where the ballot box awaits you.

With all things Brexit clearly there are some stormy times ahead and some nay-sayers have maintained that Brexit couldn’t be a success – however, I beg to differ, at least as far as the Brexit Coat is concerned!

The Brexit Coat is finished now (apart from the buttons that I still couldn’t make a decision on, so I have given me a protraced transitionary period in which to make further decisions. I’m hoping not to crash out onto No Button Status in two years’ time.)

During the pre-Brexit negotiations it was felt across the board that a true Brexit Coat should harbour something unexpected. Well, I was at a loss what that could be, given that I was using a very nice, but borderline boring boucle fabric.

So boring, in fact, that unbelted the coat reminds me more of Eastern European decorator’s attire than is healthy for any true Brexiteer.

So naturally …

I put some flamingoes inside!

It might just be a touch silly, but then, maybe I can inspire any other Brexit process with a little dose of silliness. It might be taking itself rather a bit too seriously, imho.

Dressform pictures:

Just some boring facts: I used Burdastyle 9/2013 #103 and I’m forever grateful to Anne, the Compulsive Seamstress who traced the skirt portion for me in the spirit of international collaboration. I significantly streamlined the sleeves, as per taking back control of the overblown mess they had become. Because it’s a Brexit Coat, you know!

The boucle is from a local shop, the flamingoes can be had from Stoff&Stil. It’s not really a dressmaker’s fabric, rather a calico, but then: flamingoes! In order to make the sleeves more slippery I cut them and the yoke in a lining fabric from my stash rather than the calico.

 

Now, I don’t want to come across all Lib-Dem, but I thought no Brexit Coat could be complete with a second referendum:

Now that you see the full terms of the Brexit Coat, is it a yes or a no? Please do vote, even if you are young or haven’t registered yet.

I’m hoping or a strong and stable verdict from you good readers, so I can keep the upper hand in the future wearing of this coat!

Merken

Merken

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “The Brexit Coat Part IV: Is Brexit a Success?

  1. Tia Dia May 21, 2017 at 5:13 pm Reply

    Loves the flamingos. This is a massive success, imho. Let’s hope the fiasco after which the coat is modeled will be just as successful.

  2. Chris May 21, 2017 at 6:37 pm Reply

    Thank you for the endorsement. Noone can say that I didn’t do my bit for the success of Brexit 😉

  3. tialys May 21, 2017 at 7:27 pm Reply

    Great result. There should be more flamingos in Europe.

    • Chris May 21, 2017 at 10:24 pm Reply

      Yep, I agree entirely. And I think that would be almost completely incontroversial across Europe.

  4. catherinedaze May 22, 2017 at 8:47 am Reply

    It’s beautiful!

  5. lovelucie1 May 22, 2017 at 2:11 pm Reply

    It’s fabulous. I think you have been a tad unfair on the boucle. Not boring at all but now simply elevated with the addition of the flamingos.

    • Chris May 22, 2017 at 3:02 pm Reply

      Lucy, you said that better than I ever could and I’ll gladly go with your description: not boring, simply elevated!

  6. craftycreeky May 23, 2017 at 2:30 pm Reply

    Looks great! Love the flamingoes too 🙂

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

