Burdastyle 11/2016 #109: Isn’t it a great time to be alive?

Well, of course I know that there are many things in the world that don’t make life all that great, both on a political and personal level. But then, so many things are good about the world and my heart is overflowing with these right now!

I mean, how great is to have a quick drink down the ice cream parlour on a Saturday morning with Child 3, who, I feel, is camouflaged enough to warrant a rare appearance on these pages.

And how fab is it to be able to give an outing to the blouse that has been lingering in my wardrobe for about 6 months waiting for warmer weather.

What do you think of Child 3’s qualities as a blog fotographer? Not doing badly, don’t you think?

And my qualities as model are unparalleled, as has been discussed many times. Look how versatile I am: I can even look the other way!

But back to the blouse: It’s Burdastyle 11/2016 #109. I’d actually traced the corresponding dress pattern and then decided to make this into a blouse, so the hemlined is eyeballed rather than what is intended by the pattern.

I’m wearing a cami underneath because I felt it was still a little cold. But even without one the neckline feels perfectly fine to me, and that’s though I’m not always at one with Burda’s opinion that where there is  a neckline there’s a belly button.

The blouse is plain in the back. I used a lovely silk cotton woven. It’s quite sheer and it would have been a bugger to cut and sew if I hadn’t given it my gelatine treatment.

I also gave an outing again to my Rosa jacket – still one of the light jackets I reach for most often.

Because of the sheerness of the fabric I took some time over the interior finish. All seams are French and the neckline is faced in self fabric.

 

The sleeves are a little wide for my liking, but they have an elastic finsh and I can push them up and out of my way, so that’s fine with me. I like the little vintage touch of the front yoke with the gathering.

Let me just leave you with a few impressions of this perfect morning that made me smile!

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Tagged: , ,

10 thoughts on “Burdastyle 11/2016 #109: Isn’t it a great time to be alive?

  1. SewingElle May 11, 2017 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Delightful blouse. Your photographer is pretty good too. I’d pay him in ice cream parlour trips for his services!

  2. NancyD May 11, 2017 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Very pretty! How did I miss this blouse first time around? Must read up on your gelletine technique and give it a try

  3. amcclure2014 May 11, 2017 at 5:46 pm Reply

    Lovely blouse. The photography is definitely worth an ice cream!

  4. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) May 11, 2017 at 5:55 pm Reply

    very pretty blouse and I really enjoy your blog (and your sense of humor)

  5. Tia Dia May 11, 2017 at 9:13 pm Reply

    That’s a blouse to make a happy day, for sure. And your photographer is a keeper!!

  6. Paola May 12, 2017 at 12:16 am Reply

    Very sweet. I’ve been contemplating making this blouse, but have been put off by the directions to include a zip, which doesn’t go with the planned silk chiffon too well I think. I see you have no zip – Am I right you don’t really need one?

  7. Jonathan Caswell May 13, 2017 at 2:26 am Reply

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    UYES—IT SURELY IS!!!

  8. catherinedaze May 13, 2017 at 8:05 pm Reply

    I love the proportions of the blouse with the jeans.

  9. Anne W May 14, 2017 at 11:20 pm Reply

    Gorgeous, I love this top. Good photographer too!!

  10. Ingrid KV Hardy June 13, 2017 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Lovely blouse! You did a marvelous job with it, it fits you wonderfully. My eye has been on this pattern since I got the issue but I haven’t done it… You’ve given me the the inspiration to try it with some light, fluid fabric I have. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

