Burdastyle 3/2013 #103: The Brexit Coat Part III: Some Leadership!

Well, what can I say? I sure didn’t think that the connection between sewing and political life was quite so direct. But in view of the event of the day I decided that some leadership was needed and put a collar on the Brexit Coat.

Yes, I know I asked for your vote on no collar or Peter Pan collar. But what can I say – listening to experts is not what should be done on a Brexit Coat.

But let’s look at the poll first:

Clearly, no collar won over Peter Pan collar – and a notched collar was nowhere on the ballott sheet. But that’s what you are getting, suck it up, you lost! (Well, you didn’t loose, but I’m not sure that matters)

I other news it seems that the outward looking option of a snazzy lining seems to be ahead in the voting process rather than the make do and mend option of the plain lining. However, I considered my stash and realised that there might be another option hiding in there. Which one that is I’m not going to reveal at this stage as I like to keep my options close to my chest.

What I really enjoyed is the addition of “Other” – the almost Goove-ian subversiveness of this addition becomes the whole project, I think.

Now, when I started on the notched collar I realised that it is a lot more complicated than I was expecting! Somehow, I cut the facing piece too short and only realised what the problem was after I was missing what I should have had. This will forever go down in history as the Welsh Farmer move.

So I had to add another little piece to the facing to make up for the subsid — ahh, piece that I had cut off.

So I almost wonder if no coat might be better than a bad coat?

But I took heart from Nigel Farage (and no, I never thought I would say that), thinking that if the Brexit Coat didn’t work out I could simply go and buy myself a RTW coat – of course not without making ALL OF YOU have to wear the coat that I botched up,  mwahaha.

So while I ponder that thought, I wll give you the cold sholder and think of my sewing programme.

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2013 #103: The Brexit Coat Part III: Some Leadership!

  1. Colleen April 19, 2017 at 3:12 am Reply

    I love the collar you chose. Perfect! As for the missing piece..no way brexit is going to go smoothly so why should the coat. lol

  2. Tia Dia April 19, 2017 at 3:40 am Reply

    Lol… this project and your posts about it is keeping me chuckling. Well, if one doesn’t laugh, one cries, right?

    And good call on that collar. It’s a good shape for the coat, I think. And I love that back yoke.

  3. thenaughtybun April 19, 2017 at 8:56 am Reply

    Goodness, this is hilarious! Brilliant way to use the brexit frustration. I feel for you, and I have a hope that some “eff this, we don’t want brexit” politician will explode onto the arena and win by a landslide. Up yours, May.

    That said, this is looking to be a lovely coat. Might be the only thing with that b name that ends up being a good thing…

  4. sewchet April 19, 2017 at 11:55 am Reply

    This collar is the best option, I agree! Love your take on Brexit – very amusing.

  5. SewingElle April 19, 2017 at 2:25 pm Reply

    Too funny

  6. diaryofasecretsewist April 22, 2017 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Hi Chris, I’ve loved reading your blog – your stories are so witty. I was one of the “other” anarchists who thought a high stand collar as in your white trench was the way to go, but now I’ve seen your chosen collar I agree with you. Katie

  7. catherinedaze April 23, 2017 at 11:11 am Reply

    Oh Chris, I love your humour. And the coat is looking really good to my eyes, I hope it’s a success.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

