Burdastyle Wide Leg Trousers: Feel Free to Laugh Out Loud

Actually, the trousers are fine – no need to laugh at the trousers (though if you feel you want to laugh at them, go right ahead, I won’t be offended).

But I had to laugh at myself and my embarrassing attempts at posing. You see, I while back I promised I was going to get the lack-of-photography situation on this blog under control. To this avail I bought a new camera – nothing fancy, still a point and shoot, the Sony Cybershot RX100 III. But it can be remotely activated via the mobile, so I am able do do my own photoshoots and don’t have to rely on my long suffering husband who enjoys photoshoots as much as I do a visit to the dental hygienist.

But boy, this posing lark is a learning curve!! I’m fully accepting of the fact that I won’t look any prettier on photos than in real life – but I would be really pleased if I didn’t look a whole lot worse. So I read up on “how to shoot good blog pictures”.

All the technical side is still a bit above my head, so I decided I might have to work with what I’ve got.

Making long lines is what I’ve read one should make – judge for yourself in the picture at the top.

 

Or may be “creating angles” is where it’s at?

 

or alternatively no nonsense what you see is what you get?

I’m really working this, girlfriend, don’t you think?

On a slightly more serious side note, can you see how my cowl doesn’t gape?! More about the Hila top in another post!

I even arranged a photo”studio” in a corner of my sewing room: (and oh my god, I just discovered how to do these fancy circles!!!)

And on a by-note, may I introduce this top from Fashion Style 5/2015 which I suppose is not going to make it onto a separate blog entry. Win some, loose some, ey?

 

So there, you may stop laughing now!

How do you cope with posing? Is is something you enjoy? Find as awkward as I do? Do you have any tips? Mind you, beginner’s tips will suffice…

 

Merken

Tagged: , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Burdastyle Wide Leg Trousers: Feel Free to Laugh Out Loud

  1. Tia Dia March 16, 2017 at 7:12 pm Reply

    Love the trousers! As for posing….. I take 100 pictures for each good one that ends up on the blog. The harder I try the worse the photos.

  2. tialys March 16, 2017 at 7:52 pm Reply

    Your outfit is great – no laughing here.
    I have no posing tips for you as I absolutely hate hate hate having my photograph taken – either by human hand or remote control. Did I say I hate it? I can’t relax and it shows. What’s worse is, when one of my family says ‘oh that’s a good photo of you’ and I look at it and can’t believe I really look like that. Surely I am twenty years younger and wrinkle free?

    • Chris March 16, 2017 at 9:40 pm Reply

      I’m glad you said that! I look like that in my minds eye!

  3. SewingElle March 16, 2017 at 10:17 pm Reply

    No tips. Just nodding head furiously. And wondering if drama coaching might help.

  4. Hila March 17, 2017 at 12:01 am Reply

    these are lovely pictures! & the top is perfect. you have nonchalant chic nailed! I need one of those remote thingies – my OH isnt as available for pictures lately so I have a huge backlog. i’m cutting into my Chris fabric this weekend πŸ™‚

  5. Summerflies March 17, 2017 at 3:45 pm Reply

    I went out with a very good photographer for a newspaper years ago and he would take 20 rolls of film and get 4 photos out of it..I think you’ve done a great job. I love the white pants and i really love the look of the green top in the circles… I’m impressed by the circles too.

  6. KS Sews March 17, 2017 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Very chic. I just love white pants!!

    I think your poses are just fine! πŸ™‚

  7. ellegeemakes March 18, 2017 at 2:46 am Reply

    Great pantS! The fit looks perfect from here..I hate posing. And I think your photos always look great so….but yes, it’s my least favorite part of blogging but what can you do? I love the cowl neck , in fact all of your tops!

    • Chris March 18, 2017 at 11:21 am Reply

      aaah, I’m glad that the Pictures are better than I feel when making them. You are so right, what can you do, they are a necessary part of Blogging.

  8. Mia March 18, 2017 at 10:59 am Reply

    Chris, you really made the white trousers, haha :). Well, you put up a very good show – the whole outfit fits you so well. The posing is great stuff too, since it is sort of positive entertaining and makes your blog something special, so keep going!

    All I have to add: congratulations on another very cool outfit. Hopefully spring is around the corner so you are able to wear your makes.

    Mia

    • Chris March 18, 2017 at 11:18 am Reply

      Oh Mia, what I relief you like those trousers. I was umming and aahing over my knickers drawer because I couldn’t think how to combat the dreaded VPL issue in white see through trousers (humming my Mantra “what would Mia say” πŸ˜‰ ).

      • Mia March 18, 2017 at 12:16 pm

        Chris, it is good to see that you stil take care of it (and as I said: white pants are quite challenging). You already made a good joice there although you know what I would prefer in this case ;-).

        Mia

  9. jay March 18, 2017 at 11:31 am Reply

    Nice trousers! I’ve no tips for photos as anyone who checked my blog could tell.

  10. catherinedaze March 18, 2017 at 6:10 pm Reply

    We just take hundreds of pics and hope there is something usable! Angles are definitely good. One thing that really helps and I should do more is having something to do with my hands…

    Carolyn from Diary of a Sewing Fanatic found that having music on helped her relax when taking photos.

  11. amcclure2014 March 19, 2017 at 1:23 am Reply

    No tips. I’m hopeless at it – I’ve gone for the basic look. I hate how I look in photos. It’s about communication though, isn’t it? Nice pants.

  12. Danielle March 19, 2017 at 4:37 am Reply

    Pants looks great, and so do the tops!

    I’ve only taken a few pictures as I’ve only made a few wearable items, but I feel super awkward! I once took and posted a pic from the neck down for a dress I made because it was just so awkward!

    • Chris March 19, 2017 at 1:37 pm Reply

      Yep,I know that feeling well! Even now, after Blogging for a while I sometimes still cut my head off (at least in the Picture πŸ˜‰ ) if I can’t get half decent Pictures

Leave a Reply

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

Tialys

Life and Creativity in the South of France

