Burdastyle 3/2014 #103 : The Spring’s Around the Corner Coat

I’m in love – again! If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you’ll know that I am fickle and fall in love very easily. And it’s happened again, this time with this ivory wool coat.

Ever since #sewdowndewsbury I’ve fallen for the Style Arc Stella Coat that Karen wore to the meetup and I was determined to make it from this ivory wool felt in my stash. However, it turned out I didn’t have enough fabric, so I thought this trench style coat #103 from Burda 3/2014 was the next best thing.

Like the Style Arc Coat it has princess seams front and back and it’s also got no closure, although it doesn’t have a wrap that is as pronounced as the Style Arc one (which was the reason it would fit onto my fabric).

It can be worn belted as well as open and I like both ways equally. In fact I fell incredibly glamorous swishing past in my white wool coat with the belt trailing in my wake:

And there she comes back again:

 

As you know, I like to show the functionality of my clothes and I’ve outdone myself again: it fully allows me to walk up and down 😉

I left the coat unlined, which is another thing I’ve always wanted, an unlined cream coat. The edges were finished with black bias tape. At first I wasn’t sure about it, I thought it might look  a bit like a condolence card. But given that I rarely display the inside of my coat is if I wanted to sell contraband out of it, I guess nobody will notice much.

If you are into details, here are a few dress form pictures:

The  wool felt was a dream to work with: holds its shape, no confusing stretch, but can be shaped into submission with lots and lots of steam (although it does smell as if  one is surrounded by wet long haired dogs 😉 ), doesn’t fray. I top-stitched all seams using Gutermann topstitching thread, otherwise there was no way the seam allowances would lie flat.

I’ve worn the coat all week, whether it was warm enough for an unlined coat or not and I just love it. Ever since #sewdowndewsbury I’ve been on such a sewing high – the trousers and top in the pictures are new as well, so I hope I’ll get around to blogging them soon.

Merken

Tagged: , ,

24 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2014 #103 : The Spring’s Around the Corner Coat

  1. Tia Dia March 11, 2017 at 8:00 pm Reply

    This looks amazing. Your entire outfit is very chic. An ivory wool coat is such an awesome piece to have in one’s wardrobe! You know we all love detail shots, so thanks for posting so many! Love your hair, too, Chris!

    • Chris March 11, 2017 at 8:33 pm Reply

      Thank you Tia Dia! I’m in hair confusion mode at the moment, so it’s nice to hear that you like it.

  2. Lesley March 11, 2017 at 8:23 pm Reply

    That is gorgeous!

  3. Thimberlina March 11, 2017 at 8:27 pm Reply

    Wow…I’m in love too!!! It’s absolutely stunning and I bet there’s nothing in your wardrobe it won’t go with, from a posh frock to jeans or a summer dress!! You cracked me up when you said about it’s functionality!! 🙂

    • Chris March 11, 2017 at 8:32 pm Reply

      Haha, yes,the funcionality brings Fligh Lieutenant Said&Done back to mind, doesn’t it?! It IS time for another round of Jumping into June, don’t you think?!

      • Thimberlina March 11, 2017 at 9:04 pm

        It certainly is, I’ll have 4 patterns once my next one arrives in the post! And I’ve another I fancy when I loose another stone! 😃

  4. ellegeemakes March 11, 2017 at 8:38 pm Reply

    Fabulous coat! Love the immaculate top stitching and the cool black binding. It’s so versatile too and it looks stunning….Coat Envy!

  5. fabricfan March 12, 2017 at 1:45 am Reply

    marvelous looking coat on you.

  6. kristina's style March 12, 2017 at 2:13 am Reply

    I love it, this is so awesome!!! Well done!! I can’t wait for tomorrow, I’m going to buy wool for my autumn coat… also open at the front. Looking forward to get stated seeing your amazing make. 🙂

    • Chris March 12, 2017 at 9:39 am Reply

      Coatmaking is the best,dont you think?

  7. lovelucie1 March 12, 2017 at 9:19 am Reply

    This is fabulous! Soooo elegant. And I like the black binding. I recognise the top fabric. Such a wonderful outfit, set off by those shoes!

    • Chris March 12, 2017 at 9:38 am Reply

      Thank you Lucie! For once, the whole Outfit really did come off like intended! 🙂

  8. tialys March 12, 2017 at 9:55 am Reply

    This looks amazing – now you’ve just got to keep away from dogs, small children, mucky public transport and any food containing turmeric or tomatoes – or is that just me?

  9. Mia March 12, 2017 at 1:05 pm Reply

    Just one word: Congratulations (on the coat and the whole outfit)!! Mind-blowing make – hard to find words.

    Mia

  10. notsewsimple March 12, 2017 at 1:42 pm Reply

    This is such a gorgeous coat – I would be too afraid of marks and stains to make a white coat, but it looks amazing! And the bias binding seam finish makes it look really special – and not at all like a condemce card!

    louise

  11. Marianne March 12, 2017 at 2:26 pm Reply

    Your outfit is so chic! Love the coat so much and I can’t wait to hear more about your pants.

  12. danvillegirl March 12, 2017 at 2:32 pm Reply

    Great looking coat! I like your outfit and love the shoes!

  13. thesewingmiserablist March 12, 2017 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Absolutely gorgeous job – it looks so good on you, and just as stylish as the Stella. And you know what, because you sewed it yourself it doesn’t matter if the colour is a bit impractical because you can make it again if it gets dirty!

  14. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) March 12, 2017 at 6:21 pm Reply

    gorgeous, and cute shoes too!

  15. rosemary March 12, 2017 at 10:28 pm Reply

    Amazing! That looks soo luxurious! And I love the detail/contrast of the black bias tape.

  16. catherinedaze March 13, 2017 at 10:05 am Reply

    What beautiful work! How have I never noticed this pattern before? It looks great. I like the colour choice, very classy.

    • Chris March 13, 2017 at 10:48 am Reply

      Thank you Catherine. I was the same, never noticed the pattern when it first came out and only came across it when looing specifically for a slimline trench-style pattern. It’s the “artistic” Burda photography that makes you overlook things.

  17. Back to Blighty March 14, 2017 at 3:35 am Reply

    Your coat is fabulous and so timeless! Very professional. 👏💕

  18. […] However, I want a fold-over collar, so I might take the one of my Spring’s Around the Corner Coat. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

