#sewdowndewsbury – The Aftermath

My god it was good! #sewdowndewsbury was just the most amazing meetup – I had such a good time! So much so in fact that I didn’t even stop to take pictures, but I’m sure you will have read other accounts (and if not, have a look at Ali’s picture gallery). From her post you will know that not only did she help me organise my stay and answer all my many questions, but she also organised a day walking in the moors with expert guide Brian! Isn’t that amazingly nice?! Thank you so much Ali! And thank you Brian for making sure we didn’t get lost and putting up with all our sewing talk!

whatsapp-image-2017-02-26-at-22-21-59

whatsapp-image-2017-02-26-at-22-19-16

whatsapp-image-2017-02-26-at-22-21-16

This was my first time in Yorkshire (apart from the usual touristy whistle stop in York) and I’ve fallen in love with the people! Everyone was just so nice, happy to help or just have a little chat. And now that I’ve realised that it’s just so doable to travel to Yorkshire even for a few days (can you imagine that plane-metro-train-journey to my house on the way back took 2 hours 32 minutes? Absolutely incredible, ey?) I’m hoping for many future visits. Fabworks, I know where you are!

Of course I came back invigorated and inspired and with so many plans! I’ve already made plans for most of my fabric haul – I’m sure you are interested πŸ˜‰

So here it goes:

dsc00446

The only item on my shopping list, a light wool suiting which will become pleat front trousers. I’m not alone in thinking they are a great idea, Shauni thinks so too (and she even has much the same images on her pinterest wall that I do, so we must be onto something).
Patternwise I’m either going for this from Burda 8/2016

 

Or this from Ottobre 5/2015

dsc00455

What do you think? Right now I’m leaning more towards the Burda pattern. Around the hips both are much the same, with slanted pockets and two pleats, but I think I prefer the slimmer legs of the Burda pattern.

This is going to be my Hila top:

dsc00450

Hila bought the same fabric for a dress, I only bought 1 metre, so the fabric has already decided it wants to be a cowl neck top. I have made many sleeveless ones, but I discovered a really nice short sleeve version on Lucie‘s blog, so I think this is what I’m going for.

dsc00449

This fabric told me it wants to be a short sleeve blouse. Does your fabric ever talk to you? Mine sure does and I’ve learnt to heed an order from fabric, so I have decided on this Burda pattern from 2010:

 

This version has a weird collar which I don’t care much for, I’ll swap out a normal collar from another version.

dsc00447

This cotton lace wants to be a sleeveless top of some kind. I wonder whether to make it a quite fitted sleeveless classic shirt with darts or something more drapey. So far, the fabric was not available for a statement, so I’ll have to prevaricate for a little while.

 

dsc00448

This one, however, is spoken for: This is going to be the Teresa blouse. You will have guessed it: Teresa bought this fabric too, so I’m delighted to be her fabric twin. It’s asked to become the blouse version of a dress in the latest edition ofΒ  Maison Victor. I seem to have mislaid the foto right now, but if you are interested I could to a review of this magazine.

So this is it: my #sewdowndewsbury report. It was so nice to have met so many likeminded people and to be made feel so welcome. The day has definitely put Dewsbury on my (until now rather shady) map of the North. Here’s to many returns!

 

 

Merken

Tagged: , , , ,

15 thoughts on “#sewdowndewsbury – The Aftermath

  1. Tia Dia March 4, 2017 at 10:22 pm Reply

    Looks like you had a lot of fun! And your fabric plans look good. I love that wool….

  2. Chris March 5, 2017 at 12:01 am Reply

    I’m a big fan of wool too, ever since I discovered that a) summer weights are not warm and sweaty at all and b) they can be machine washed with the best of them.

  3. Thimberlina March 5, 2017 at 12:37 am Reply

    Aw, I still can’t believe you came all the way to little Dewsbury! I’m so glad you did!! And it sounds like you’re journey home was quicker as well as cheaper than those who travelled down from Newcastle. Hope we meet up again in the future 😘

  4. Marianne March 5, 2017 at 11:24 am Reply

    Visit Britain should put you on their payroll! You completely sold us, we’ll be going back to Yorkshire soon πŸ™‚ Your fabrics look lovely, can’t wait to see your pants. I agree on the slimmer Burda legs.

  5. Chris March 5, 2017 at 2:02 pm Reply

    Haha, Marianne, that would be my dream job! But I’m travelling to the Netherlands later this year for the first time ever, so who knows, I might be able to take on tourist ambassador duties there as well.

  6. tialys March 6, 2017 at 9:42 am Reply

    That travel time is amazing! My husband’s weekly commute to the U.K. takes him around 4.5 hours door to door – most of which is spent driving to the airport and then faffing around for an hour until the plane leaves. I saw Ali’s photos and notice you were in nearly every one πŸ™‚ – sounds like you had a great time both shopping, meeting up with people and yomping across the moors.,

    • Chris March 7, 2017 at 11:41 pm Reply

      Yes, it was brilliant! To be honest, I didn’t include hanging around the Airport time in my calculations, if I had it would be those 4.5 hours that it takes your husband.

  7. SewSouthLondon March 7, 2017 at 2:44 pm Reply

    Sounds like an incredible weekend, and your return journey time defies belief!

  8. ellegeemakes March 7, 2017 at 5:05 pm Reply

    Wow, what a great weekend! I love those pleated trousers too, and have been contemplating my own burda version, so I hope you try that one!

    • Chris March 7, 2017 at 11:34 pm Reply

      You’ve got it, Ellegee, I traced the pattern yesterday and I have high hopes for next weekend!

  9. navybluethreads March 7, 2017 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Was so lovely to meet you in person Chris πŸ™‚
    And I loved those photos of your hike with Ali. Glad you had such a good time and a great shop! I may have already made something up in my pink smudge fabric, will look forward to seeing what you do with yours… X

    • Chris March 7, 2017 at 11:36 pm Reply

      ooo, exciting! I started on the pink smudge fabric too, some rick rack tape was involved, but I’m not quite sure where this is going at the minute…

      • navybluethreads March 9, 2017 at 3:08 pm

        Ohhh, now I always love a bit of rick rack, in black or pink? πŸ™‚

  10. […] already written about how much I enjoyed #sewdowndewsbury and spending time with Ali of Thimberlina. Another thing I was particulary looking forward to was meeting Hila and Teresa, who I’d […]

  11. jendavismiller April 3, 2017 at 2:33 pm Reply

    Goodness, what a fabulous time you all had! Those views are magnificent, and I love your fabric choices as the fabrics’ choices of patterns. πŸ˜‰ That wool is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nΓ€hen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

