#sewdowndewsbury: All my bags are packed…

Only 7 sleeps until the Dewsbury sewing meetup, organised by Ali of Thimberlina! Needless to say I’m already incredibly excited! So much so that I’m already packed and waiting to go, humming Peter Paul and Mary songs.

I’m flying handluggage only, but at the same time I want to do some fabric shopping – not two things that are commonly mentioned in the same sentence. So I thought I have to save on weight by reducing the weight of the carry-all itself. So I sewed a carry-all of the lightest yet toughest fabric my stash could muster.

dsc00203

Now don’t think I intend to rock up at the Ryan Air counter with a bag as full as this and try to get this into carry-on. The bag is just packed full of my entire bedding for the purposes of illustration. I just thought I might as well make it a bit bigger for those times when I fly carry-on on the way there but have one item of checked luggage on the bag back (which tends to mysteriously fill itself with fabric, at least that’s my past experience 😉 ).
It’s made from a waterproof rip stop nylon that was intended for a jacket until I realised that by virtue of being waterproof it would also be non-breathable. I’m sure boil in the bag jackets have their uses, they are just not for me…

While I was at it I also made a new ultra-light-weight toiletry bag.

dsc00198

It weighs in at all of 120 gramms – unfilled, of course.

I “designed” it in such a way that it will hold the plastic bag of liquids that you have to bare at security.

dsc00196

I can just rip the plastic bag out and have the guard inspect the brand of deodorant I’m using and then pack it back in the pouch so that my toiletries don’t get lost in the depths of my massive bag.

In case you are not that interested in the details of my luggage, here’s a look at my goodie bag:

dsc00192

It even has the date of the momentous occasion on it:

dsc00193

And finally a little look at a little present for one of the people I’ve wanted to meet for a long time. It’s navy on the outside and has a silver lining on the inside. I bet you know who it is for already 🙂

dsc00189

I can’t wait to meet all of you very soon! See you on Saturday!

xxx Chris

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “#sewdowndewsbury: All my bags are packed…

  1. Lesley February 19, 2017 at 9:37 am Reply

    Jings that’s seriously organised! Have fun

  2. tialys February 19, 2017 at 11:14 am Reply

    You are definitely very organised – love the ticket fabric.
    You’ve got that blooming song in my head now :/

  3. Thimberlina February 19, 2017 at 11:33 am Reply

    Ooo!! Not long! I’ve been meaning to get in touch these last few days. Looks like there’s going to be plenty of room for fabric in your new bag! Will try and catch you on whats app later, hubby is going bionic at the minute cleaning so I’d best go give him a hand as it doesn’t happen too often!! Is the navy blue a clue for who the bag is for?? I think I know who it might be! 😃

  4. Marianne February 19, 2017 at 1:18 pm Reply

    What a fun trip to make! Enjoy!

  5. […] of you going to #sewdowndewsbury it’s only 6 sleeps!!  It feels really real now as tonight Chris and I have been what’s Apping each other sorting things out.  I still can’t believe […]

  6. Thimberlina February 20, 2017 at 12:52 am Reply

    I’m just reading again on the bigger screen (was on my phone before) and your bag collection is just fab!! ….not long….!!

  7. Carolyn February 21, 2017 at 1:13 pm Reply

    What a wonderful luggage set! It all looks so beautifully made and very practical. I hope you have a fun weekend! 🙂

  8. sewchet February 28, 2017 at 11:19 pm Reply

    Love the silver lining – think I know exactly who that refers to!

  9. nelnanandnora March 1, 2017 at 9:37 am Reply

    It was lovely to meet you on Saturday. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Yorkshire adventures!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

