Knit Fever!

I don’t know what it is, but after a hiatus of a few years when I did very little knitting I really enjoy it right now. So much so that I even stopped making UFOs – instead I made two projects from start to finish since the beginning of December without any procrastination at any stage.

img_5864

Exhibit 1 is this cardigan.

img_5865

img_5869

The pattern is Vitamin K by Heidi Kirrmeier. It’s a top-down cardigan with waterfall front and without closure. I apologize that I can’t show you any better pictures, but this is the second attempt of photographing this cardi and it was ever so cold (plus I was prancing about outside the restaurant where my dinner was waiting for me which didn’t exactly increase my posing motivation).

img_5789

The waterfall is created via increases at the front so that it forms a triangle that flows down in rather a pleasing fashion when you don’t keep hold of it 😉 . This picture is from my first attempt (sub-zero temperatures, both outside and for the motivation of my photographer).

Underneath you can see a dress to blog – but I just can’t bring myself to step outside in it again while it is quite so cold, so this might have to wait for another couple of months.

img_5793

I loved knitting this! You start at the neck and work your way down. The eyelets serve as increases which help you get the width you need for the waterfall. The sleeves are knit straight after the shoulder section (I knit them flat because I hate knitting in the round with small circumferences, but I’m sure it would be perfectly possible if you are a fan). After the sleeeves the body is finished in one piece – which means that when you are done knitting there is hardly any seaming to do (only the sleeve seams) and tadaa- you are done! Perfect!

While we’re at it, let me show you my most regularly worn garment of 2016:

img_5872

Yep, it’s this simple boring white T-shirt.img_5873

It’s a slight hack of one of the Burda patterns, I don’t even remember which one. While there is nothing special to it, it seems to have hit a nerve because whenever I put it in the wash I miss it immediately.

By the way: The jeans are RTW – shock horror! I’m kinda over skinnies at the moment and while I haven’t found the perfect non-skinny pattern I’m stuck with RTW… But hope is in sight, the latest Fashion Style (which I bought yesterday) has a boyfriend jeans pattern, so I ordered fabric and will try the pattern asap. Marianne of Foxgloves and Thimbles did a really interesting review of this edition if you want to know more. I bought it for the boyfriend jeans which are unusual in as much as the front pocket extends towards the back in one pattern piece, thus forming the yoke. I’ll report more once I know how it has gone. There also is one more pattern that struck my attention: a shirt-bodysuit. It’s a straightforward fitted shirt with a bodysuit attached so that your shirt will never ever untuck itself. I’m not sure I’m going to sew this because I wear shirts quite rarely, but I still like the idea of having this pattern in my stash, so Fashion Style/Knipmode 2/2017 get a definite thumbs-up from me.

Otherwise I haven’t been sewing that much recently. It might be because my sewing room is quite cold, it may be because I’m really waiting for spring now, but the temperatures are far too cold to even contemplate wearing spring clothes just yet, or maybe it’s just that I enjoy knitting more. Hopefully my sewing mojo will pick up again soon – and if it doesn’t the Dewsbury sewing meetup will surely give me new motivation. Can’t wait to get there!

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Knit Fever!

  1. tialys February 5, 2017 at 9:57 am Reply

    The cardigan is lovely and a very intriguing glimpse of the dress beneath. I am expecting you to come back from Dewsbury motivated, inspired, full of ideas and heavy with fabric (or as much as you can fit in your hand luggage anyway!).

    • Chris February 7, 2017 at 3:15 pm Reply

      That is firmly the plan! Winter has started to break here, so I’ve started contemplating spring sewing.

  2. sewbusylizzy February 5, 2017 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Gorgeous cardigan. If it wasn’t around 40 degrees some days I’d be tempted to knit this summer!

    • Chris February 7, 2017 at 3:14 pm Reply

      Good heavens – 40 degrees??!! How do you bear it? I expect you have all air-conditioned houses and just stay indoors until the heat is over? Or do you learn to cope with this kind of heat and do any sort of activity?

      • sewbusylizzy February 7, 2017 at 9:05 pm

        Only our lounge room is air conditioned and we have overhead fans in the bedrooms. It’s been much hotter than usual, a typical ‘hot’ summer day where I live is 35 degrees but it’s generally between 28-30. I haven’t been sewing much as it’s just unbearable in my sewing room

  3. Marianne February 5, 2017 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Lovely cardigan! I’ve never done any top-down knitting. Maybe I should, as so many interesting patterns are for knitting in the round. I’m really looking forward to see that boyfriend jeans made up!

    • Chris February 7, 2017 at 3:12 pm Reply

      The fabric arrived today, so there might just be a chance I get round to it on the weekend. Quite excited about the project now after a little loss of mojo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

