The Moral Highground Cardigan

img_5545

Aaaaaand I finished another cardigan! Remember when I kept wingeing that I has such a backlog of knitting projects that were lingering 3/4 finished or waiting for seaming? Well, in a round about way I made a promise to man up and go ahead and finish that backlog.

And would you believe it: I just did! I am now officially without unfinished knitting projects!

This cardie is the last of the lot (and it hardly qualifies as a backlog given that I only started it in July).

img_5546

The pattern is from a German knitting magazine called Rebecca. However, the I added the cable panels to the centre front rather than ribbing because I wasn’t sure I wanted a button up closure. I figured if I feel like buttons I can still add some at a later stage and won’t need buttonholes because I can fiddle them through the gaps in the cables.

img_5549

So far I am happy with the coziness as it is. I used Malabrigo Rastita in the Jupiter colourway (from this shop). It is is just the most wonderful yarn, really babysoft (it’s 100% merino). I have really sensitive skin and most yarns are slighly itchy for me, even when others think they are perfectly fine, but the Rastita really is beautiful. And I needed a lot less than I thought I would so I might even be able to make another project with the rest.

img_5550

The pattern doesn’t have any shaping in itself, it’s basically rectangles for the front and back, but I think that’s a great canvas for all the cables.

Buoyed by my success in finishing my knitting backlog I even started, finished and made up ANOTHER cardie since! (And as soon as I remember where and what the sun is I shall post pictures – these ones are from the end of 2016 when we still did have sun…). So you see, I feel I’m well and truly on the moral highground with my knitting now. Let’s hope I won’t fall off, ey?!

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “The Moral Highground Cardigan

  1. Paola January 15, 2017 at 12:07 am Reply

    The “moral high ground cardigan” – that makes me smile!

  2. Christine Schwab January 15, 2017 at 2:21 am Reply

    Congrats on getting through your knitting UFOs. I like the color of this cardigan but love the cabling, especially along the front edges- gives it great great presence. Looking forward to seeing your next t make once the sun returns.

  3. tialys January 15, 2017 at 10:08 am Reply

    Look at all that lovely cabling! I must recommend that yarn to a couple of friends of mine who are usually sensitive to wool and perhaps they could give it a try. I hope you see the sun again soon.

  4. SewingElle January 15, 2017 at 2:04 pm Reply

    I salute you for such excellent knitting and finishing of knitting.

  5. Danielle January 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm Reply

    Great job! Love the color. What a great idea with the cables as potential buttonholes. Well done 🙂

    • Chris January 16, 2017 at 12:28 pm Reply

      Thanks Danielle! I hope the button thing is going to work – though for the time being it’s fine without buttons altogether. 🙂

      • Danielle January 16, 2017 at 2:16 pm

        I’m sure it would. But I agree, I tend to wear cardigans open, so it doesn’t need the buttons!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

