Knipmode/Fashion Style: The Dressing Gown Wrap Dress

Good heavens – this is one of those projects that really looks a lot better in real life than in those pictures – I promise.

img_5310

While it seems I got straight out of bed, put on my dressing gown and (strangely) a pair of boots, I actually like wearing this dress. I think it has a Missoni vibe going on and the rayon knit is oh so soft and has just the right weight for a wrap dress.

img_5322

I used my tried and true Knipmode wrap dress pattern. What I like about it is that there really is no option for any wardrobe malfunctions. The skirt wrap is so generous that it will not undo, even when sitting down speedily, as I am wont to do. And the the bodice will not gape, even on the less well-endowed and needs no adjusting at all.

img_5315

See – no gaping!!

img_5316

In the meantime I also had my hair cut, snow has arrived in my part of the world and so everything is in place to march boldly into the new year!

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Knipmode/Fashion Style: The Dressing Gown Wrap Dress

  1. Lesley January 11, 2017 at 9:47 pm Reply

    I think most of my makes look better in person rather than in my photos. Maybe I need a new model 😁

    • Chris January 11, 2017 at 10:04 pm Reply

      I think we are just keeping it real, aren’t we?! 😉

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 12, 2017 at 4:07 pm Reply

    Hmm a wrap dress that works! I should look that one up!

    • Chris January 12, 2017 at 5:35 pm Reply

      I definitely recommend the pattern, Linda.

  3. Lynsey Welch January 13, 2017 at 9:40 am Reply

    Love the fabric and wowser a wrap dress that doesn’t gape, I’ve had little success with wraps so will go check out this pattern.

    • Chris January 13, 2017 at 4:32 pm Reply

      Yep, that really sets this pattern apart!

  4. K January 15, 2017 at 4:03 am Reply

    I actually think the dress looks fab in the photos. Great fit and match of fabric with the pattern. Well done!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

