Dewsbury Sewing Meetup: 2017 just got a whole lot more interesting!

Now, Dewsbury isn’t all that close to southern Germany. In fact (and embarrassingly) I had to look up where Dewsbury is – so when I read Ali’s post about the next sewing meetup on 25 February and remembered all the reports about last year’s meetup and the fun everybody was having I cried a little tear about how sad it was that I couldn’t come.
And then as you do I convinced myself that flying over to England was a totally stupid and completely unfeasible idea, that it would cost hundreds and take days.

Only then I discovered that in fact I could leave my place of work on the Friday, have lunch, take the subway to Nuremberg airport and be in Manchester 2 hours later on Friday afternoon. And the flight would set me back all of 30 Euros.

And so: I’m coming!!!! I’m actually coming to the Dewsbury sewing meetup and I’m already SOOO excited. So much so, in fact, that going back to work today was hardly noticed although I always dread the start after the Christmas break.

So I hope to see as many of you as possible in Dewsbury. I will have to be very select in my fabric shopping as I’m travelling with hand luggage only (or I will have to wear several lengths of fabric as scarves or skirts on the flight home ;-), but I’m coming for the chat anyway.

It’s going to be my first time in Yorkshire, apart from a couple of very quick visits to York, so I hope to do a little bit of hiking on the Sunday. Any tips on Shaun the Sheep inspired landscapes are welcome – the more stereotypical the better!

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Dewsbury Sewing Meetup: 2017 just got a whole lot more interesting!

  1. Thimberlina January 9, 2017 at 10:06 pm Reply

    It’s amazing that you’re coming Chris!! Sorry I’ve not emailed you yet, I’ve had a crazy weekend working then the MIL git taken into hospital. Will be in touch soon 😀

    • Chris January 10, 2017 at 7:21 pm Reply

      o dear, I hope your MIL is oky. Please don’t worry, there is no rush for me.

  2. Simona January 10, 2017 at 12:15 am Reply

    Waw! That’s great! I will surely be there to. Only I won’t be flying from Germany. 😉

  3. tialys January 10, 2017 at 3:02 pm Reply

    You will probably get there quicker than some people already in the U.K. will manage it – especially if the train strikes keep going 😦 I’m a Southerner so don’t know Yorkshire that well but I don’t think there will be any shortage of stereotypical hiking opportunities.I bet you’ll have a great time meeting everybody and I will, as you did last year, shed a tear when looking at the photos of everybody shopping, eating and chatting.

    • Chris January 10, 2017 at 7:23 pm Reply

      In fact I’ll almost be there more quickly than it would take me to get to Munich! The beauty is that Nuremberg airport has as 10 min tube connection from the city centre, so the travel time there is negligible.

  4. SewSouthLondon January 10, 2017 at 4:36 pm Reply

    That’s amazing!!! Just imagine what else we assume to be impossible…. wish I was going too, but from KL it would take me about a whole day!

    • Chris January 10, 2017 at 7:24 pm Reply

      Well, I think that kind of distance is indeed in the realm of the impossible – unfortunately!

  5. jendavismiller January 13, 2017 at 8:22 pm Reply

    Oh lucky you! One of these times I hope to make it, too, but coming from the US will set me back a fair bit more than 30 euros! 😀 Have a marvelous time, I’m happy to have discovered your blog.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

