Welcome to 2017!

Dear readers, I hope 2017 is treating you kindly?! I think most of us collectively breathed a sigh of relief for seeing the back of 2016, so I hope 2017 is going to be a lot better!

img_5556

I’m seeing in the new year with a new cardigan! I’ve manned up big time and finished all my backlog of knitting projects! This cardi was a case in point: it only took about a day to finish what was left of sleeve 2 after the project had been sitting around for the best part of 2016 while I had got distracted with shinier things.

img_5559

This is the Watson cardigan by Amy Butler. I got attracted to it for the combination of lace and stockinette stitch. This is the first time that I have used an English knitting pattern after only ever having used German knitting magazine patterns. In case you are not familiar with the difference: the knitting magazine patterns tend to be a lot less carefully written out. More or less you get a set of instructions telling you to use this pattern for x and that pattern for y cms. That means that the instructions for a garment may be a few lines long. All that works well enough for fairly boxy garments, and I’d never known anything different. The Watson cardigan has a few pages worth of instructions, partly giving a row for row account of what to do. There really isn’t any making it up as you go along possible, because you are shackled to the pattern a lot more than I was used to. I found that a little disconcerting at first, but by the end of the project when everything went as instructed to the last stitch I think I’m a convert!

img_5561

The body is knit in one piece and the sleeves are grafted on after the body is assembled and knit in the round – so there was absolutely no handsewing to do after I had finished the second sleeve! So really there was no excuse for letting it slip for so long!

img_5554

So here’s me with my determined face, promising to myself in a half-hearted new years resolution-kinda way that 2017 will be the year where I finish one knitting project before I start a new one.

AND I’m going to blog the last few makes of 2016 that I have pictures for – so I hope to see you soon here on this blog!

How are your new year’s resolutions going? Have they stood the test of week 1?

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “Welcome to 2017!

  1. Sew Exhausted January 6, 2017 at 8:22 pm Reply

    Lovely! Especially love the “lacey” looking knit portion! You can tell I am not a knitter! But I wish I was! 😀

  2. Thimberlina January 7, 2017 at 5:12 am Reply

    I bet you’re kicking yourself for not finishing it sooner, it’s lovely and a neutral shade so I bet you’ll wear it loads. No resolutions for me, I just keep smiling and plodding on, and maybe make a jump suit in and amongst!
    Happy new year!!! xx

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 7, 2017 at 9:50 am Reply

    That is beautiful! I love the lacey details. I am always amazed when I see people knitting – since I don’t have the faintest idea how to!

  4. tialys January 7, 2017 at 12:52 pm Reply

    What a great cardi!. The back pleat detail is an interesting feature and makes it very stylish. I like patterns without any sewing up to do afterwards. I wouldn’t like German magazine patterns – I like to be told what to do! I am about to re-learn crochet with a French woman so that might be interesting.
    A happy new year to you.

  5. pelagia5 January 8, 2017 at 10:02 am Reply

    You’ve done a great job, and it seems like a lovely pattern. I’ve been looking at cardigan patterns, trying something that would look nice, and at the same time not too complicated. Maybe the pages of instructions will do the job 🙂

    • Chris January 8, 2017 at 11:19 am Reply

      I haven’t found the Watson too complicated – it just dragged on a bit, but that was my fault, not the pattern’s.

  6. SewingElle January 10, 2017 at 9:52 am Reply

    Its lovely. Makes me think I really should get back into knitting. No specific resolutions for me apart from more joy. I’m still on leave so its all going well so far! Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

