Burdastyle 10/2016 # + True Bias Ogden: Culottes with silky top

Oh culottes!! If only I could make my mind up about them! My love/hate relationship with them goes so far that I don’t even know whether to love or to hate them at any given time. I mean, it would be great if I loved them: they are such a great garment in principle. The beauty of skirts with the practicality of trousers! Plus they are having a fashion moment and for me to partake in that is a rare pleasure.

But then: do they really look good, in real life, not in the “cool city girl” life that clearly isn’t mine? Not sure…

A case in point are these culottes that Burdastyle has been going crazy about for a couple of years:

https://i1.wp.com/www.burdastyle.de/chameleon/mediapool/thumbs/1/8e/111-102016-B_300x400-ID391407-e05327e4d1dd13f4dc23877165e4cd19.jpg

http://www.burdastyle.de/burda-style/damen/7-8-hose-hosen_pid_188_15151.html

Aren’t they just the coolest thing?

Well, here is my version:
img_4674

(BTW: Don’t get any delusions about the quality of the weather here in Germany. These pictures were taken a few weeks ago. We are well into autumn dreariness right now…)

It’s all a bit more art teachery, isn’t it? Clearly, they should be worn with heels rather than with flats. A slightly drapier fabric would be good as well, rather than this rigid denim from deep stash.

img_4676

img_4677

But feast your eyes on my new favourite make: the True Bias Ogden cami! I already made about 5 and they are revolutionising my underwear drawer.

img_4678

As you all know I like to prove the versatility of my makes! Look, the Ogden is fully pull-outable!

And just in case somebody should think I don’t pull out all the stops for my blog photography here is proof to the contrary!

img_4681

Always in action for your viewing pleasure!

But back to those culottes:

img_4688

I made them with slanted pockets rather than with single welt side pockets as in the pattern. I did make another version that I don’t have pictures of with the welt pockets, but I did not like the way the pocket bag feels against the leg, so I went with slanted pockets.

The front and back creases are sewn in, not just ironed. I made a little mistake there by sewing them just a bit too wide, so they look a bit severe. I really should have sewn just a needle width away from the edge of the crease.

img_4689

It’s especially obvious running down the back where ironed in creases would have been sat flat, so this looks a bit unnatural. Well, lesson learnt, I’m not loosing any sleep over it.

img_4693

I love me a gold zipper, so they got the hardware salvaged from a previous make. Obviously, there’s a little metal confusion going on, what with the gold zipper and the silver belt, shoes and top but hey, this is how I roll ;-).

And indulge me with one last picture: I’ve been clearing out my wardrobe recently and have given away a lot of me-mades that just weren’t got worn. But one of the items that is still going strong is the white topper from Burda’s 1950s Vintage edition:

img_4686

I still love it and wear it regularly, both as a jacket in the spring and a top in the autumn/winter.

So what do you think about these culottes? Yay or nay? I’m still undecided – but I have a few bits of fabrics in my stash that would be just right for another pair. So should I – or shouldn’t I?

Merken

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Burdastyle 10/2016 # + True Bias Ogden: Culottes with silky top

  1. Mia November 27, 2016 at 9:55 pm Reply

    First!! 🙂

    I like your outfit as a whole, despite the culottes aren`t fully (the 101 percent I hasten to add) convincing. But I think you already figured out the sticking points: heels and might be a different fabric. The former should be easy to alter and you should give it a try (> I`ll wait patiently for the update).

    Mia

    PS: Full points for the cami and the golden zipper detail on the Culottes!

    • Chris November 28, 2016 at 8:47 am Reply

      Thanks for the vote of confidence, Mia! Already auditioning fabrics 🙂

  2. Faye Lewis November 28, 2016 at 3:03 am Reply

    Very nice!

  3. Life of Janine November 28, 2016 at 8:35 pm Reply

    I like the culottes. They fit you beautifully and are so nicely sewn. But there is a completely different personality when worn with flats versus heels.

    • Chris November 28, 2016 at 9:22 pm Reply

      I never thought of it in these terms, but you are right: they really are a different personality!

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 30, 2016 at 3:46 am Reply

    I like the culottes. You got a perfect fit on them! The lack of heels just mean it’s a casual look!

  5. tialys November 30, 2016 at 9:40 am Reply

    I am confused now with the term ‘culottes’. I always thought of culottes being something that looked like a skirt but then – surprise! – the wearer moved a bit and you could just about make out that there were separate legs going on in there. More like this sort of thing https://1ststatestyle.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/asos-box-pleat-full-culotte.jpg. But what do I know and whatever you call them, yours fit you a treat.

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

