Trump, Brexit: Thank God there’s sewing!

Like probably 80% of Europe I’m looking at the new US president in shock and disbelief. But if course it’s not my election and therefore none of my business – but what I am really profoundly sad about is that I absolutely did not believe this could happen.

I had no idea that life in America has become so bad, so impossible, so difficult for so many people that they decided that waking up to Trump is the end, not the beginning of a nightmare.

And I feel I should have had an inkling that this would happen, after all that’s what friends are for, to feel and empathize when a friend is hurting.

See, I have always thought of “us” in Europe and the US as friends, as peoples who, inspite of smaller differences, basically share the same values – but now the realisation dawns on me that maybe that is  no longer the case.
I for one was always happy and proud to live in and be part of “the West” and of course whatever “the West” stands for was always epitomized in the US. But “the West” that Trump represents is a different country – at least for me.

 

And then there was Brexit. Now this, for me, was personal!

If I still lived in England, as I did for 5 years in the late ’90s, Brexit would have meant me! I would have been the economic migrant that would have gone on that list of foreign workers. I would have been the one to be criticised for using the scarce resources of the NHS. I would have been the one who would not have been sure if I would be able to stay in the country where my children were born and where I paid my taxes, I would have been a pawn in negotiations. I would have been one of the reasons that the UK left the EU, just to be able to get rid of me (because, let’s be honest, it was never about the sovereignty of Parliament in the face of the EU bureacracy…)

So yes, Brexit really hurt!

For an Anglophile like me 2016 hasn’t been a good year!

So I’m glad there is sewing to occupy my mind on a day like today that has profoundly shaken me up. My next sewing job might be therapeutic enough: bagging my new winter coat.

Here’s to new beginnings!

 

11 thoughts on “Trump, Brexit: Thank God there’s sewing!

  1. Ali November 9, 2016 at 7:25 pm Reply

    I share your feelings, but for me I feel it’s more important than ever to teach tolerance, respect, understanding… to not take a back seat to rasicism, sexism and homophobia and make an effort to actively do things to promote good. X

    • Chris November 9, 2016 at 8:37 pm Reply

      You are right, of course, and I’ll dust myself down. Just right at the minute I feel a little despondent…

  2. lauraborealis November 9, 2016 at 9:22 pm Reply

    I’m despondent as well, with flashes of outright rage.

    Here’s a sewing idea… how about if we all sew p*ssy costumes and march on this orange twit? Grab this…But wait, only decent-looking ones need apply for the opportunity to be groped.

    I cannot believe that behavior that was not acceptable of a third-tier talk show reporter is acceptable of the leader of the alleged free world.

    • Chris November 9, 2016 at 9:35 pm Reply

      That whole story really left me speechless too. It’s just very sad…

  3. SewingElle November 9, 2016 at 9:59 pm Reply

    Well said.

  4. STH November 10, 2016 at 12:31 am Reply

    It is ghastly. I’m an American and I can tell you we are as horrified as you are (most of us, anyway). There’s a very deep racism, sexism, and white privilege that spoke yesterday. We’re all mourning right now (and sewing!) Then we will fight.

  5. jay November 10, 2016 at 9:52 am Reply

    Brexit is very bad news for expat Euro- Brits like me, but for an example of the wider implications of anti foreigner sentiment, see the debate in the House of Lords on it’s effects on Science. The UK is already feeling the effects of uncertainty on European funding for it’s research projects. Research into minority diseases in childhood needs international co-operation,( one example). Now, Trump.More scapegoating to appeal to and distract those in failing economic areas. More false promises. More cheap denigration of others.

  6. C BERRY November 11, 2016 at 6:39 am Reply

    …. except that it DOES effect those of us non-US citizens who watched the spectacle unfold over months like some B-grade reality TV show. Like it or not we do have a global economy – look at the massive effect of the financial crisis on nations not at all involved in the unethical and illegal activities of a few financial institutions. Similarly, when a country like the US changes their trade policy and diplomatic stance to a protectionist philosophy many of us beyond the US borders will pay a real price. OK rant over! Let’s hope that the sane can prevail and we can learn to focus on the similarities between people instead of the differences.

  7. Mia November 21, 2016 at 6:44 pm Reply

    A few days later now and I am still surprised and despondent. Not entirely sure what all this means for the entire world… even for German companies some American decisions might get ground breaking. The future will tell…

    But anyways (let us look at joyful subjects): planning any updates on the sewing front, Chris?

    Mia

    • Chris November 21, 2016 at 11:01 pm Reply

      Good to hear from you Mia! Yep, plenty of sewing in my world, but only few blog photos… but some silk pajamas are in my future, so if that doesn’t qualify as a joyful subject then I don’t know what will!!

  8. […] only imagine must have been exasperated embarrassment. But given my history it is no surprise that Brexit has upset and saddened me. I personally profitted so much from Britain being a member of the EU, enabling me to study, live […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

