Help!!!

img_4698

Can you appreciate the drama of what’s happening here?

Let me explain:

I like knitting and I HATE assembling the pieces. So much so that at the last count I have four projects that only need sewing together, one of which was supposed to be for Child 1 the year before she spent that year in Ecuador. Well, she’s been back since June…

Another cardi only needs about 25 cm of collar to be sewn and the buttons sewn on – but wait, I don’t seem to be able to find the buttons now because it’s been such a long time since I bought them.

So yes, I have a problem! But this make in the picture, a cardi in the most delicious Malabrigo yarn has to be finished soon as I know I really love wearing it plus the yarn was my birthday present.

So please help me: Any encouragement, tips for my predicament or convincing threats are much appreciated!

Tagged: ,

12 thoughts on “Help!!!

  1. tialys November 4, 2016 at 7:32 pm Reply

    Ugh! I know what you mean. The problem is – if you don’t do it well, the whole garment looks ‘home made’ so it’s worth it in the end. Think of it as a necessary evil to achieve a beautiful cardigan which that certainly looks like it’s going to be. I always get out my well thumbed copy of ‘Stitch and Bitch’ and follow their sewing up directions just to remind myself. The only other thing I can recommend is only knitting top down things. There are some nice cardis on Ravelry using this method and it is a treat to have no, or minimal, sewing up to do at the end. Obviously, your choices will be limited but……
    A glass (or two) of wine often helps 😉

    • Chris November 4, 2016 at 8:49 pm Reply

      I think I will follow the wine tip first of all – if only to drink up some courage 😉

  2. NancyD November 4, 2016 at 9:34 pm Reply

    I have a knitting friend who loves sewing the pieces up. So she does it for me. If you don’t have such a friend, yarn store ladies will often do it for a price. I figure it’s like sending my quilt top out to be quilted. No shame in getting help from someone with the tools and the talent!

    • Chris November 5, 2016 at 1:22 pm Reply

      You know what, that idea never even crossed my mind. But you are right, I will enquire in my local yarn shop if they offer such a service. It would be worth it, just to get these pieces out of my stash and into wardrobes.

  3. Chris November 5, 2016 at 1:20 pm Reply

    I tried once but didn’t get a great result

  4. Marianne November 5, 2016 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Desperate times, desperate measures! If it’s such a burden, why not use your serger? In the end it’s just a sturdy knit. I’ve had pretty good results altering a hand knit sweater with my serger. Perhaps you can knit a swatch for testing?

  5. JustGail November 5, 2016 at 5:53 pm Reply

    You will never get to see how lovely Child 1 looks in your knitting if you don’t sit down and get it done.

    The thinking of your dislike of assembly is making it much worse than it will be in reality.

    Once these are done, you can have a clear conscience for a while.

    Bribe yourself? Buy a new yarn or tool when they are finished.

    Finished is better than perfect.

    If the error can’t be seen on a galloping horse at 30 paces, it doesn’t matter.

    If someone is that close to see a small error, they’d better be such close friends they wouldn’t dream of pointing it out.

  6. […] you so much for all your tips and encouragement on yesterday’s cry for help! Lots of food for thought, but mainly all your encouragement has given me the much needed kick up […]

  7. L November 6, 2016 at 8:34 pm Reply

    A friend was just asking to see my sewing/knitting, and after presenting 4 or 5 almost finished projects I realized I should bite the bullet and just do the boring hemming/weaving in of ends!

    • Chris November 7, 2016 at 11:23 am Reply

      How good to hear that I’m not alone in lacking weaving-in-discipline 🙂

  8. […] Readers, thanks to all your encouragement I’m actually doing this! I really am getting on with the job of sewing up my knit projects! […]

  9. […] I finished another cardigan! Remember when I kept wingeing that I has such a backlog of knitting projects that were lingering 3/4 finished or waiting for seaming? Well, in a round about way I made a […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

