Maison Victor: A little more jumping

img_3649

You just need to look at the state of my garden to know that this is not a recent project. In fact, while I have been sewing a bit, the weather has been atrocious here, so no recent projects have outdoor pictures, consequently no blog posts about them.
This jumpsuit was made in May following a Maison Victor pattern.

img_3641

It was very much a werable muslin kind of project. I loved the suit in the magazine but wasn’t sure if I would actually like to wear it. In fact I’m still not sure it’s all that flattering on me, but I’ve worn it a few times during the summer and into early autumn, so I guess that tells me it’s  a winner.

img_3638

The bottoms are like wide leg culottes, but I fell for the interesting arm scythe of the bodice.

img_3643

Objectively speaking there is something a little off about these arm scythes on me. I can’t pin point what it is, but something bothers me when I look at it on a picture. But it’s a garment that is fun to wear and apparently a little fashion forward – I got a few compliments from friends as well as strangers who asked which shop I had bought it from, so that’s all good.

This is definitely the last of my summer garments that I have pictures for. The wax print dirndl did get finished but never worn as intended as the weather turned just days before the October fest style event I wanted to wear it for. But there is always next year for that!

 

 

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Maison Victor: A little more jumping

  1. tialys October 26, 2016 at 9:14 am Reply

    I think your arms look good in this style – no ‘bingo wings’ there. Flaunt them while you can!

  2. Anne W October 26, 2016 at 8:11 pm Reply

    I like it! The print is fab and I think it suits you. 🙂

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 27, 2016 at 7:18 am Reply

    Very nice! I like the drape of this fabric.

  4. irecital October 28, 2016 at 9:34 am Reply

    I think it is very sophisticated arm scythe, very designer. On the front seems like a raglan with a wide straps over shoulders that plunge into “V” on the back. It is so party garment if sewn from party fabric, something shiny velvety maybe, or even ecrew white. The only thing I thought is to make it maybe in full length. Love the print direction on the belt. It is very complimentary on you. Lovely!

    • Chris October 28, 2016 at 6:12 pm Reply

      Wow, that is such a nice thing so say! Thank you very much. The idea of making it in white really appeals to me too – maybe there is one more jumpsuit on its way for next summer!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

