Another One for the Category “Stupidest Mistakes Ever”

Stupidest? Is that even a word? Does it have to be “most stupid”? Or can it be “stupidest”?

Grammar questions aside let me show you what I did:

20160811_172622

There is my almost completed shirt. No, it’s not even the unbalanced button holes that I would regard as particularly stupid. But look what happened when I cut open the button holes using a brand new and unexpectedly shrap seam ripper:

20160811_172638

Yep – I cut right trough the button hole!!! Duh – facepalm moment of the highest order. Made worse by the fact that this was the last task on this otherwise finished shirt.

So here I am, cutting another collarstand, counting my blessings that at least this happened on the collar and not on the main body of the skirt.

Sewing can be so annoying sometimes!!

Tagged: ,

15 thoughts on “Another One for the Category “Stupidest Mistakes Ever”

  1. Lynsey August 12, 2016 at 11:43 pm Reply

    Oh no, so frustrating when at the last hurdle. This has reminded me of a tip to put an pin at end to stop the ripper but never remember to use it at the time and often try and sew to up where I’ve gone too far. Rest of the placket looks great.

    • Chris August 13, 2016 at 12:41 am Reply

      That pin-idea is genius, actually! Will try to remember next time.

  2. Thimberlina August 13, 2016 at 12:08 am Reply

    On no!!! 😡 hope it doesn’t spoil your enjoyment of your new shirt 😳

    • Thimberlina August 13, 2016 at 12:09 am Reply

      When you’ve redone the collar I should’ve added.

      • Chris August 13, 2016 at 12:40 am

        It’s redone now – but I still need a little while until I’m able to forgive the shirt…

  3. SewingElle August 13, 2016 at 2:14 am Reply

    I feel your pain. Good on you for redoing the collar stand. I would’ve been tempted to do some creative embroidery.

    • Chris August 13, 2016 at 8:59 am Reply

      I was thinking about that! But the shirt is meant to be a present, so I needed to raise my game.

  4. Kay August 13, 2016 at 3:49 am Reply

    That’s it? That’s the worst you have?

    • Chris August 13, 2016 at 9:00 am Reply

      Hahaha, no, I’m just not telling on the really stupid stuff 😉

  5. Anne W August 13, 2016 at 3:03 pm Reply

    Oh no! I usually only rip to the centre, so I “start” at each end of the buttonhole. Fingers crossed, it’s worked for me so far!

  6. Tia Dia August 13, 2016 at 7:35 pm Reply

    I *hate* it when that happens. Glad you could re-cut the collar. As for the grammar, colloquially, “stupidest” is what you’ll find people saying more often than “most stupid”. 😉

  7. Summerflies August 14, 2016 at 9:44 am Reply

    So you can’t really be a sewer if you haven’t done that! In the ’90’s when I was in fashion design college, they said start at each end and only go to the middle and then do the other side. The pin idea is great too as that stops it ever happening…if you remember to do it that is.

    • Chris August 14, 2016 at 11:31 pm Reply

      I normally do the ” only go to the middle” thing too. But this time my idea of middle was just too far out…

  8. ellegeemakes August 16, 2016 at 4:53 am Reply

    Well, I’ve been there more than once:) I’ve started to work from each end to the middle but have had issues with that method too, so I’ve adopted the ‘pin’ strategy, frustrating to have to deal with this when you are almost done with your project!!

  9. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! August 17, 2016 at 4:35 pm Reply

    Yes I’ve done that before. I use a pin now or a buttonhole punch. And I use stupidest all the time. Autocorrect even knows how to spell it!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

