I’m officially obsessed!

Living in Bavaria, every summer is dirndl season. Normally, I never wear my dirndl, with the exception of one time per year for our local town festival.

This was from two years ago:

IMG_8713

So one would think that for one wear a year one dirndl would suffice.

You know where this goes, don’t you?

Avid readers of Burdastyle will know that every September they publish their dirndl edition (to coinicide with the Oktoberfest in Munich) and I’ve always wanted to sew (but not wear) one. And then came the Great British Sewing Bee’s International week and with it African wax prints. And I’ve always wanted to sew with African wax prints.

Well, I thought, couldn’t one sew a dirndl using a wax print? A quick poll of my family concluded unambiguously: NO, one couldn’t, what was I thinking??!!!

But guess what google says: It’s already been done! (Never mind all the waffle in German – look at those pictures!!!)

So needless to say, I’m now officially obsessed with sewing a wax print dirndl. So much so that I ordered some wax print already (oh, the choice!!! How can I possible chose??!!)

But chose I did and came up with this from Middlesex Textiles. So now for a pattern. Ironically, the only edition of Burdastyle since 2010 that I DON’T own is the one whose dirndl I like best (September 2015).

So I might have to buy this issue too – serves me right for daring to let my subscription lapse…

I hope this all comes together and I will have a dirndl-with-a-twist to show for all my obsession.

In the meantime and while I wait for my fabric order to arrive from the UK I’ll be keeping myself busy with sewing camis from the slipperiest silk ever, which I recently ordered from Ebay. Did I say I wasn’t going to buy that many fabrics anymore??

Well – obsession, ey?!

 

Merken

Tagged: , ,

15 thoughts on “I’m officially obsessed!

  1. Tia Dia July 5, 2016 at 5:24 pm Reply

    Ooooo…. the wax print dirndls look amazing! I have no excuse whatsoever to wear a dirndl (although my great-great grandparents were from Hanover, so perhaps I could?), but I love seeing you in yours! The wax print will be amazing.

    • Chris July 6, 2016 at 10:15 pm Reply

      Everyone here thinks I’m entirely mad – and I’m from legit dirndl-land! So you might go for it as well – in fact you’d look a lot better in a dirndl than I will as they don’t really do any favours to the less busty ladies. Who knows, we might start an international trend!

  2. Thimberlina July 5, 2016 at 6:48 pm Reply

    Wow, I’ve not seen african wax prints on the internet before, but I got a bit excited thinking how amazingly cheap it was – then i realised the price was per yard not the whole 6. Oh well!
    Good luck with your dirndl, can’t wait to see it! 🙂

    • Chris July 6, 2016 at 10:12 pm Reply

      Go to the website I bought from – they sell them in the 6 yard length from around 20 pounds. You can have a wax print dirndl too 😉

      • Thimberlina July 6, 2016 at 10:26 pm

        Aw, I read it wrong, thought it was that much a yard!! Doh! I like the fabric but don’t think we’ve any festivals coming up that I could wear it for! 😃

      • Chris July 6, 2016 at 10:28 pm

        Well, my line right now is that this is going to be an everyday dress. Yes, everyone around me does think I’m crazy…

      • Thimberlina July 6, 2016 at 11:08 pm

        There’s no point making such a big effort just for a day! 😀

  3. Lesley July 5, 2016 at 8:38 pm Reply

    My word that wax print is a good price. And it’s an online shop I haven’t come across before. Tum tee Tum…..must dash……!

    • Chris July 6, 2016 at 10:08 pm Reply

      It certainly is – it even made me accept the postage which is almost as much as the price of the fabric. I wonder if it’s acually gone up already in some post-Brexit thing…

      • Lesley July 6, 2016 at 11:06 pm

        I got the bus past my fabric shop today and noticed they have African print fabric in the window. They’ve never had that before so I think it’s the Sewing Bee effect.

  4. I think I like the prints better than the plains! You should make a print one too.

    • Chris July 8, 2016 at 3:13 pm Reply

      I received my fabric today – it is very, VERY much a print, so hopefully I’ll be able to show a wax print dirndl soon. Fingers crossed…

  5. […] is definitely the last of my summer garments that I have pictures for. The wax print dirndl did get finished but never worn as intended as the weather turned just days before the October fest […]

  6. […] story of this dirndl started last year, when I got obsessed about the thought of making a dirndl in non-traditional fabric. Now, although […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

