More Print Craziness – But Without a Peplum!

I’m so pleased to hear that many of you liked my bees-on-acid-garments. I’ve since gone further down the print-craziness route, but have diverted from Drugs Lane and am now firmly down Folksy Avenue.

IMG_3535

Forgive the washed out pictures – I normally have all of two minutes for a “photoshoot” before my photographer gets bored and my facial expression too forced and painful for publication. Plus I have zero photo edit skillz, so keeping it very real is what you get…

IMG_3530

This is the same pattern as the Bees on Acid Peplum jacket, but clearly without the peplum. I had every intention of sewing it with the peplum, as that was what had attracted me to the pattern in the first place, but somehow on this jacket it was just too much. So off went the peplum and I added a border to the bottom of the bodice. It’s a touch short for my liking, but that was the height of the border on the print.

IMG_3549

You can see a little more detail her. The sleeves have turnups using the same bit of border. I quite like how the yellow line marks the end of the jacket almost like a piece of trim.

Of course, the fabric is the star in this jacket!  I bought it last year in spring from Butinette, a German craft store that you really wouldn’t look to for stylish fabrics, so this was more of a surprise find. I started a different project immediately, made several stupid cutting errors, because the print isn’t symmetrical across the grain and the border runs down the centre of the fabric, not down one side, and both portions on flowers on white background on either side of the border aren’t the same and aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh – you have to think around too many corners to get a regular print placement. Had to reorder fabric, could only get 1 more metre, got annoyed and everything landed in some forgotten corner of deep stash.

But in my recent print frenzy (shortly after firmly declaring that I prefer solids  – oh the irony!) I was reminded of the fabric and pulled it out again.

IMG_3533

This time, too, I couldn’t get my head around the print placement, so it isn’t symmetrical across the front, but I don’t even notice that myself with all that is going on on this fabric.

IMG_3548

I didn’t line the jacket as I want to be able to wear this now and I do get hot very easily. A lined jacket would end up in a crumpled mess in my handbag in no time. The side seams are just overlocked. I thought of binding them just like in the Bees on Acid Jacket, but then I felt that the one strip of binding around the front facing and the arm scythe seam is enough.

IMG_3547

I have to say while I’m easily excited by new and shiny makes I REALLY love this jacket! I think this is one of those items that will stay in my wardrobe for a long time to come. That means a lot as I’m quite ruthless and not sentimental at all when it comes to parting with me-mades…

If you want to have a better look at this gorgeous fabric and a wonderful make (and A LOT better potography), go and have a look at Sea Of Teal’s make using the same fabric. Just wonderful, isn’t it?

Tagged: , ,

18 thoughts on “More Print Craziness – But Without a Peplum!

  1. SewingElle June 23, 2016 at 11:56 am Reply

    I love this jacket.
    Perfect and symmetrical print placement? How boring would that be!
    Love your binding. And of course you did it in just the right places. No need to overdo it, after all.

  2. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) June 23, 2016 at 5:55 pm Reply

    love that fabric and a great jacket is the result of your working out how to use it.

  3. ellegeemakes June 23, 2016 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Great jacket and pattern! Always nice to find a versatile pattern, because it obviously works with or without the peplum. Love the print fabric too,

  4. sewingforcatpeople June 23, 2016 at 9:20 pm Reply

    It’s great! I love the crazyness of the fabric.
    Also, I love seeing the inside of garments to see how people finish things off with different fabrics, so thanks for that!

  5. Anne W June 23, 2016 at 10:43 pm Reply

    Aaahh, it’s fabulous! I want one!!

  6. laurajane June 24, 2016 at 12:26 am Reply

    Wow! It looks so designer – like something I would desperately want to buy at Nordstrom. I can relate to your print placement struggles as I often run into the same dilemma. But with a print as strong as this, I think it’s better that it not align. Shows more creativity! Congrats!

  7. Hila June 24, 2016 at 7:39 am Reply

    Beautiful jacket!

  8. Lynsey June 24, 2016 at 8:49 am Reply

    Stunning jacket, it’s timeless and gorgeous. Think not having the peplum was the right choice and the pattern placement looks great

  9. Fabric, Thread, Clothes? June 26, 2016 at 8:08 pm Reply

    Great jacket!!! That is a very fun print!

  10. craftycreeky June 27, 2016 at 10:52 am Reply

    Love the fabric, your jacket looks great!

  11. Tia Dia June 28, 2016 at 8:01 pm Reply

    This jacket is gorgeous. I’m loving all your prints!

  12. That is the best fabric ever! Love the print!

  13. Helena@grayallday July 22, 2016 at 3:56 pm Reply

    Such cool fabric, Chris! I have a couple of upholstery weight fabrics like this that I’m saving for jackets, so this is very inspirational. None quite this fabulous, though.

    • Chris July 28, 2016 at 10:36 pm Reply

      How great that for once one of my makes is an inspiration to you – normally it’s the other way round.

  14. Thimberlina July 26, 2016 at 7:52 am Reply

    Wow! I think this has to be my favourite from all your makes. (Except jumping into June!) The fabric and the style look perfect together. The insides look perfect too, great job! I checked out your link and the fabric is shown better there, but your photos are great. I generally just use the auto correct button when editing my pics.

    • Chris July 27, 2016 at 10:17 pm Reply

      Thank you very much! I love the jacket too I have to say that. Oh, and by the way, I made another jumpsuit! Like jumping into June take 2. But I never got around to posting it – dreadful of me, I know!

      • Thimberlina July 27, 2016 at 10:52 pm

        Only a bit dreadful, have you posted it on IG? 😃

      • Chris July 28, 2016 at 10:36 pm

        No, not even that – I have the worst selfie face in the world, even I recoil from publishing that on IG..

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

