Burdastyle 7/2016 #103: Like a Bee on Acid

Summer has been a long time coming (or not) around my parts. Maybe it’s the lack of warmth that has had me reach for the more outragous fabrics in my stash.

Case in point is this little top from the latest issue of Burdastyle:

IMG_3520

IMG_3524

This is what happened to a skirt project that was abanoned a few years ago. I used Burdastyle 7/2016 #103. It’s a simple, bias cut top with a ruffle.

IMG_3528

I’m not too sure about the ruffle, at least in this cotton lawn. It’s meant to have its edges left raw, but to be honest I can see that annoy me even now before the top has been washed for the first time. I guess I will have to try and fold over and stitch – or I might just not bother, given that I feel like a bee on acid once I put this on.

Talking about drugged bees: there is more!

IMG_3539

IMG_3545

What can I say… The fabric is just crazy, but it’s the craziness I love about it. Oh, and also that is was a souvenir from Vienna, so it reminds me of one of my favourite cities too.

IMG_3544

I used the peplum jacket version of this coat pattern from Burda Easy A/W 2014.

It’s obvious that the pattern is too roomy in the back (and it was clearly visible in the post above, but I only realised this when making the pattern for a third time (post upcoming), so clearly I’m being easy on myself on the fit front.

IMG_3542

I know that absolutely everyone is over the whole peplum trend, but I’m very, not at all fashionably late to the party and liked this 2014 pattern for its treatment of the front peplum.

IMG_3541

Just a touch of the science bit: The jacket is unlined, so I decided to bind all the interior seams in bias tape. Yes, I do realise I could have used black to try and tone down the whole craziness, but where would be the fun in that?

IMG_3550

So there, two crazy bee projects in one post. If that doesn’t scare summer out of whereever it is hiding, then I don’t know what else to do!

Merken

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “Burdastyle 7/2016 #103: Like a Bee on Acid

  1. Tia Dia June 20, 2016 at 1:27 pm Reply

    Brilliant! I love the cheery summery-ness of both these makes. The ruffle on the top is barely noticeable. I really had to stare at the pic to realize it was there. And style is style, regardless of trendmasters, so the peplum jacket is a keeper. Did you see Molly’s recent Cordova make in ivory? Lots of stylish peplums over there. Check it out:
    https://toferet.wordpress.com/2016/06/18/where-are-all-the-cordovas/

    • Chris June 23, 2016 at 9:06 am Reply

      Wow, that is a very chique jacket!
      Ever since seeing the “African wax print edtion” of the Great British Sewing Bee, I can’t get wax print peplum tops out of my mind. And all that while I wasn’t really going to buy new fabric…

  2. neela June 20, 2016 at 11:22 pm Reply

    Love the jacket fabric and the genius pop of blue binding and the peplum… Just divine! Nee x

  3. Lynsey June 20, 2016 at 11:30 pm Reply

    Super makes, the blouse is lovely, I like the ruffle it adds a lovely touch to a normal blouse, I like the funky floral fabrics on both, very summery we just need some sun now.

  4. prttynpnk June 21, 2016 at 12:09 am Reply

    I really like these pieces- summery but not tshirts- lovely!

    • Chris June 23, 2016 at 9:04 am Reply

      You’ve got it! That’s exactly what I was thinking! I’m kinda bored with tshirts and tanktops.

  5. Love that jacket! I think these are the perfect fabrics for summer!

  6. Sewing Elle June 22, 2016 at 11:35 pm Reply

    These are both awesome.
    I’ve been wanting to comment on this posts and lots of your recent ones but I’m having tech issues. Grr. My silence is no indication of my level of interest!

    • Chris June 23, 2016 at 8:59 am Reply

      Thank you! I’m glad to know you are reading along.
      I get tech issues too – so annoying! There are a couple of blogs where none of my comments go through and some where it happens ever so often…

  7. […] so pleased to hear that many of you liked my bees-on-acid-garments. I’ve since gone further down the print-craziness route, but have diverted from Drugs Lane and […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

