Burdastyle 4/2016 # 101: Floaty Maxi Dress

aaaand I’m back! I haven’t posted in a while, but this time with good reason: I was off on my holiday to Ecuador, visiting Child 1 who is doing an exchange year right now. I’ve also done a Spanish course, so I can now just about haggle in the market for fabrics and crafts – but more on this later.

In the meantime I’d like to show you a dress that I made back in March but haven’t worn yet – it’s still far too cold and rainy for this kind of flippancy around my parts.

IMG_3135

This is Burdastyle 4/2016 #101. I’d fallen in love with it right from the start and knew exactly I wanted to make it from this precise shape of purple. HOWEWER (and there always is a however with this type of definite plans, isn’t there) I couldn’t get a rayon woven in this shade, only a really rather fine rayon knit. I kinda knew this would be courting desaster, but I soldiered on anyway.

IMG_3141

In order to stabilize the bodice, I underlined it in knit lining and then lined it in self fabric. This turned out not to be a great idea, because both fabrics have different amounts of stretch and so I do get some creases and puckers.

IMG_3132

It’s quite evident in the back – but to be honest, I think this is one of those projects that doesn’t benefit from photos and a closer look. In real life, the swishiness of the dress takes over and it looks a lot better.

IMG_3128

Or am I kidding myself?

IMG_3138

 

All in all I can’t really call this dress a success, its mistakes are just too obvious. But at the same time I quite like it, and given that I will only get a handful of wears out of a maxi each summer I guess it’s good enough.

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Burdastyle 4/2016 # 101: Floaty Maxi Dress

  1. Helena@grayallday June 4, 2016 at 9:14 pm Reply

    The swishiness and that beautiful color are the stars of this dress. I certainly wouldn’t worry about the puckers – it looks like it moves beautifully and it fits you really well! Pretty, pretty!

  2. Lesley June 5, 2016 at 10:21 am Reply

    I think this is gorgeous!

  3. Rosi June 5, 2016 at 12:51 pm Reply

    Wow traumhaft schön! Ich bekomme direkt Lust mir auch so ein tolles Kleid zu nähen, obwohl ich mit langen Kleidern nichts anfangen kann. Es sieht umwerfend aus und steht dir ausgezeichnet!

  4. prttynpnk June 5, 2016 at 1:32 pm Reply

    I like it! The bodice details are delicate and flattering.
    I think it’s funny how we sewists strive for amazing and see tiny things about our makes that most people have to just assume is the best they can do in retail!

  5. Summerflies June 5, 2016 at 1:54 pm Reply

    It’s gorgeous! The colour is great on you and nobody (me included) will notice the puckers. I love how how the bodice fits and sits.

  6. I think the purple is fantastic and far out weighs any errors you might see. Enjoy it!

  7. Marianne June 8, 2016 at 10:21 am Reply

    Please stop talking this dress down! It’s gorgeous!

  8. Birgit June 11, 2016 at 1:12 pm Reply

    It’s beautiful!

  9. Danielle June 11, 2016 at 2:23 pm Reply

    That’s really lovely!

    I love that style of dress. So comfortable. I’ll have to check that pattern iut!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

