Burdastyle 3/2016 #111: Gucci-inspired Shirt Dress

IMG_3167

Well, there – long time no see! As it happens sometimes I don’t know where the time has gone, but spring has definitely sprung in my part of the world after a rather slow start and so I got the first chance to wear my new shirt dress.

The fabric was one of those accidental finds in my local fabric shop. When I saw it I was reminded of some of those crazy larger than life Gucci prints and when it was sold for only a few Euros of course I could not say no.

It marinated in my stash for a little while as I wasn’t really sure how to show off the print to its best effect and also I was scared of another print placement fail.

IMG_3168

This time I think I fared rather better: I quite like the print placement, I think it’s gone fabulously around the bust area and ok around the tummy, inspite of some slight ovarian allusions in the print.

IMG_3169

Child 2 says it looks as if wings are growing out of my behind, but I feel you have to be a rather unkind observer (or a teenage boy) to think so!

I used Burdastyle 3/2016 #111, a loose fitting oversize shirtdress pattern. I’m not really used to the shape with no waist definition whatsoever, so I might well wear it with a belt in future, but for these pictures I’m wearing it as Burda intended.

IMG_3170

It certainly is very comfortable like this and very cool and breezy in this cotton poplin.

I went down one size to size 38 when cutting this and then increased the seam allowance by 0.75cm to take it in by another 3 cm all round, so this is probably even closer to a size 36. So yes, this pattern really is oversized!

Feast your eyes on my pattern matching:

IMG_3172

Isn’t that a thing of beauty! This was part deliberation, part luck. And my luck ran out when I didn’t realise that the print wasn’t laid out quite horizontally to the grain line, so the other side is off a little:

IMG_3173

Well, win some, loose some, ey?!

Oh, I also lowered the side slits by quite a bit. Burda like you to flash your legs, but I just thought it was just a a bit too much.

Although this shape is new to me (can you believe it, it’s my first real button down shirt dress) I think this will get worn quite a bit.

I even took the chance to sashay down the local market place with a good looking young man

IMG_3178

IMG_3179

As you can see, he still wears the shirt and jacket I made for him for Christmas – what better appreciation could there be for mum on Mother’s Day?!

Tagged: , ,

11 thoughts on “Burdastyle 3/2016 #111: Gucci-inspired Shirt Dress

  1. prttynpnk May 8, 2016 at 4:26 pm Reply

    Nicely done! I love how the scalloped print gives it a shirtwaist feel, too.

  2. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) May 8, 2016 at 5:35 pm Reply

    great pattern matching, love the colors. looks good on you.

  3. Emily May 8, 2016 at 8:18 pm Reply

    Lovely dress!

  4. Lesley May 8, 2016 at 8:32 pm Reply

    I like it but I agree a belt would be fab. But then I do prefer clothes with structure rather than floaty numbers.

  5. ellegeemakes May 9, 2016 at 6:14 am Reply

    Gorgeous dress, love the blue print and you used it so perfectly!

  6. Thimberlina May 9, 2016 at 9:32 am Reply

    Very classy! And well done with the placements of the pattern. I could resist clicking on the link and was surprised to see the dress – I thought I was going to be the trousers you made. 😀

    • Chris May 9, 2016 at 7:54 pm Reply

      Hahaha, those trousers are a little bit unfortunate (though I still haven’t changed them …), but that dress is something else I think you’ll agree!

  7. Helena@grayallday June 4, 2016 at 9:19 pm Reply

    Your print placement is great, IMO! Great colors, too. I like this dress and am missing my Burdastyle subscription more and more (I let mine run out until I actually made some items from the ones I have). So cute!

  8. Anne W June 21, 2016 at 6:50 pm Reply

    looks fabulous! love the print you chose.

    • Chris June 23, 2016 at 9:03 am Reply

      Thank you Anne! I’m on a print flash all of a sudden after thinking a few months back that I’m more of a solids kinda girl.
      How nice to be able to change ones mind, ey?!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

