Burdastyle 2/2016 #102: Three out of Four Ain’t Bad

As you know I haven’t had a lot of sewing time recently. So I thought I should make the most of what little time I have by making repeats:

IMG_3004 IMG_2997 IMG_2993

This is my version of Burdastyle 2/2016 #102, which looks quite different in the magazine – I made quite a few changes:

  • I used a rayon knit rather than a woven
  • rotated out the bust dart on the navy and light peach version
  • made the top longer over all and added a high-low hem (imitaging the knit version Burda have in the magazine)

IMG_3000

I also changed the back. The original has a pleat coming off the back neckline, but I thought trying to anchor a pleat to the neckline of quite a thin knit would be asking for trouble, so I cut a back yoke and changed the pleat into gathers.

IMG_2988

 

On version 1 I didn’t get the hight of the yoke quite right, so I made it a bit higher on version 2 or 3

IMG_3006

Now you might wonder why I make those changes and didn’t start off from one of the many many similar patterns that Burda have put out recently that already have all these features.

Well, I originally wanted to make the pattern as is, in a woven, wide sleeves, slit at the front neckline.

And I did – and I didn’t like the result very much:

IMG_3009

 

I used a panel print that I  really liked as a fabric (love the colours!!). But wearing it I just feel very frumpy.

IMG_3011

I also don’t like the wide sleeves on me.

IMG_3018

Let’s not even talk about the strange thing that is happening at the neckline – I think I’m going to call this a fail and won’t even bother about trying to rescue the fabric.

Lesson learned: Just because I like the fabric, I won’t like wearing it.

Lessons to be learned: How do I know IF I will like wearing a fabric from looking at it flat?

If only I had the answer to that question that would save me a lot of money in the fabric shop…

P.S. All ended well – I made a dress from this pattern too and that really works!

 

Tagged: , ,

12 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2016 #102: Three out of Four Ain’t Bad

  1. navybluethreads April 13, 2016 at 11:21 pm Reply

    Have to agree with you on the slight frump factor of your first version sorry. Such a shame when the fabric is lovely as you say. Have you tried with different bottoms? Something ‘trendier’ down below might lessen the frump feeling? Love your other versions though. They look stylish, modern and really practical too 🙂

  2. bellecitadel April 14, 2016 at 5:58 am Reply

    I really like the gathers on the back of your later versions. Better than the Burda version I’d say!

  3. Wow! You have been busy making tops! I love your print.

  4. SewingElle April 14, 2016 at 12:33 pm Reply

    Shame about that lovely panel print. It happens though, doesn’t it. I like the addition of the yoke and the gathers. I’ve just made this pattern up as the knit version, and I totally love it.

  5. Tia Dia April 14, 2016 at 3:11 pm Reply

    These look comfy! It’s too bad about your first version, because that fabric is lovely, and the back photo is really pretty. Can’t wait to see how you salvaged it!

  6. irecital April 14, 2016 at 5:46 pm Reply

    Cool tops! The blue one is definitely my favorite. I really like that yoke. You convinced me that I need high-low hem top. What do you mean by “rotated out the bust dart”? You changed the neck opening on blue one, right? It looks lovely. Was it same width all around, like 4 cm? And that print is very nice too. But since it is rather larger print, may be it would work out better on a wide skirt? The one with deep pleats at the waist kinda skirt (just imagined). )))

    • Chris April 17, 2016 at 8:58 pm Reply

      The neck opening is meant to be the same on the white, peach and blue version, but somehow on the blue it looks different. Not really sure how that happened…
      The bust dart thing means that basically I eliminated the bust dart that the pattern has (because it is for a woven). Why it’s called “rotating out” I really don’t know… I just followed a tutorial 😉

  7. […] been a few nice versions of this pattern appearing in the sewing blog world lately: Handmade by Chris  and The Compulsive Seamstress are two I’ve seen in the last few […]

  8. hannah April 17, 2016 at 10:05 am Reply

    I really like all those tops, great job! My favourite is the blue one. The fit on all of them is very nice. I do agree on the frumpyness of the woven version though. I believe though that it is majorly the fault of the sleeves. Maybe if you would make it into a sleeveless top or with different sleeves it would look better?
    🙂

    • Chris April 17, 2016 at 8:56 pm Reply

      You are definitely onto something here! The sleeves certainly make it worse, so I might just try and take them off. The whole top was put in the naughty corner though, and I’m not sure I’m quite ready for it to come back…

  9. Danielle April 17, 2016 at 5:39 pm Reply

    The gathers at the back look really good and that panel fabric is lovely. I love those colors together.

  10. ellegeemakes April 18, 2016 at 4:23 pm Reply

    Great tops, and I love the back yoke. I disagree about your last version. The fabric looks very boho to me and I think it’s something that might go with a short mini to balance out the flow-y look of those sleeves? Great pattern. I’ll have to look that one up!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

