Knitting plans: A Cardigan refashion

A few years back I knitted a summer cardigan and wore it exactly –  never.

IMG_3097

I took some real trouble over it, with loads of cabling on both front and back and I’ve always wanted a light weight ivory cabled cardigan. So what went wrong?

Well, for starters, inspite of frogging it twice I never got the CF band right.

IMG_3089

Can you see how the CF dips down quite dramatically because the band does not have the right tension. So that’s the first thing I want to amend. I will frogg the existing band and add one of the right length AND made it a lot wider and make it into a shawl collar.

IMG_3093

Also the sleeves really annoy me: they are a little long for a summer cardigan but also way to tight. They do fit, but it’s quite a close fit that I think doesn’t go well with the relaxed look of the garment as a whole. So I want to frogg the complete sleeves and make them 3/4 length but wider from the end of the ribbing onwards.

Hopefully these changes will make the cardigan into the much loved garment I always intended it to be.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Knitting plans: A Cardigan refashion

  1. navybluethreads April 4, 2016 at 10:17 pm Reply

    I wouldn’t have a clue how to go about altering this, so I’m very impressed with your plans Chris. It actually looks fine just as it is but I hate too tight sleeves too, totally impractical. Good luck!

  2. Thimberlina April 7, 2016 at 8:49 am Reply

    I think it looks lovely. Won’t the sleeves was den a but more Ruth blocking??

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

