What a girl does when she can’t sew II

Don’t panic! I do have my new Bernina and we have been getting along with each other just fine over the last week. Still I haven’t been able to do too much sewing, because the second round of my philosophy exams are about to start and I had to get down to study.

But I did manage to revive my first love knitting. Knitting in fact was my first craft from when I was a young teenager and while I’ve always loved doing it I had not been so lucky wearing my knitted garments. Somehow I’ve often found my sweaters and cardigans too warm and too bulky (this girl doesn’t believe in fingering weight yarn…). But recently I’ve tried again and have been reasonably happy with the results.

IMG_3035IMG_3038

IMG_3037

This is a batwing sleeve sweater from German knitting magazine Verena. The front is covered in cabling:

IMG_3042

The yarn is Malabrigo Silk Merino in colourway Lluvia. The is the most delicious yarn ever so soft and with a slight sheen that my point and click camera is unable to capture.

IMG_3041

It’s handpainted and every skein is very different, so it’s imperative to knit from two skeins intermittently (I switched every two rows) to get a nice blend of the different colours. I just love the effect!

I also finished two more knits, so provided I get some pictures taken I might be able to tread water with a couple of blog posts while my exams and then the finals at my school take place.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “What a girl does when she can’t sew II

  1. navybluethreads April 2, 2016 at 8:47 pm Reply

    I have the same issue with knitted items: love making them but so bulky to wear (and store). You seem to have chosen well here though. Lovely colours and the perfect weight 🙂

  2. Danielle April 3, 2016 at 3:48 am Reply

    Looks great! Love the texture the cables provide and the color is just lovely!

  3. Marianne April 3, 2016 at 1:06 pm Reply

    Lovely sweater! Exciting news about your new sewing machine! Hope you’ll post more about it! My Bernina is 27, and although I like to believe she’s immortal, I have been looking around at the dealer. I just have no clue which one of the many types would be the best replacement. So I’m very interested to hear how you decided. Good luck with the exams!

    • Chris April 3, 2016 at 8:02 pm Reply

      Yes, I’ll certainly post a review once I’ve sewn a few garments on the machine.

  4. Mia April 4, 2016 at 8:02 pm Reply

    So we don’t have to worry about you getting bored without your machine, as you so clearly show… Lovely outcome btw.

    I can`t wait to hear about your new Bernina and good luck for your exams!

    Mia

    Oh, there`s one last thing: Wah, VPL!!! Please give the thong or at least the lace undies from so sew easy or the lace tanga from burda a chance 😉 http://www.mrsweaversfinest.com/#!Understanding-Undies-Part-1-Free-Patterns/c3g/54cc11a70cf2cb6524629cb5 / http://www.burdastyle.com/patterns/lace-tanga-panties

    • Chris April 4, 2016 at 8:14 pm Reply

      Mia, your concern is much appreciated, but I guess we’ll need to face the truth: I don’t care enough about VPL to wear a thong. Sorry…

      • Mia May 22, 2016 at 3:17 pm

        Hey Chris,

        since I have already thought that I posted you a “non-thong” pattern (check the second link) which is also quite effective. 🙂

        Mia

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

