What does a girl do when she can’t sew…

and when her sewing room has no more empty boxes to hold cut projects in the sewing queue?

Well, she moves down to a very chilly basement and starts a mosaic project

IMG_2971This is going to be the table top for a serving trolley/butcher’s bench – you know the kind everyone bought from Ikea about 10 years ago.

This is the inspiration. I’m pleased to know that this is going to result in “sophisticated home style”!

IMG_2972

And here are some teeny tiny pieces of mosaic which hopefully will all find a room in this project.

IMG_2975

Mosaic is almost like quilting: you cut up bits of tile and then assemble them together again.

IMG_2973

But the big advantage is that once the piecing is done, the project needs no quilting (which to my mind is the worst part of making a quilt) but only grouting which is done in no time at all.

IMG_2974

What do you do when, for one reason or another, you can’t sew?

 

Tagged:

11 thoughts on “What does a girl do when she can’t sew…

  1. sewbusylizzy March 20, 2016 at 12:22 am Reply

    I knit! Although I’m dying to learn macrame for some reason. I’ve tried lots of different handcrafts but I’m very much a fabric & yarn girl.

    • Chris March 20, 2016 at 9:43 am Reply

      Yes, I knit too. I have four projects on the go right now – I might not have got the memo that said that with knitting because it takes so long to finish one thing it makes no sense to have lots of stuff going on in parellel…

  2. Thimberlina March 20, 2016 at 12:29 am Reply

    I hope you’ve not been smashing pots up to make all those tiny squares! If I can’t do proper sewing like when I went away in the new year, I do hand sewing or crochet or knitting, or if the sun’s shining I’ll go play golf. Or go for a run. Or read blogs, or write a blog post. But never housework!!

    • Chris March 20, 2016 at 9:42 am Reply

      You know what: I have been so inspired by your running that I started a couch to 5k programme too. I’m only on week 2 right now, so everything is very easy, but I wonder what’s gonna happen once the running portion of the workout starts to bite.

  3. prttynpnk March 20, 2016 at 12:44 am Reply

    I cross stitch- then force it upon my poor family- I’m sure they’d be thrilled if I had your skills!!

  4. Danielle March 21, 2016 at 3:53 am Reply

    Knit or read, when I have the luxury! It’s hard to keep these activities going on a regular basis in my new normal schedule with an almost 6 month old! (I’m an avid reader and it kills me that I haven’t been able to read anywhere near the amount I usually read each year!)

    • Chris March 21, 2016 at 3:27 pm Reply

      oh, I can imagine how frustating that must feel. It’s only been a few years since I’ve had more time to myself again post-babies, so I appreciate it a lot more than I ever did before.

  5. ellegeemakes March 22, 2016 at 7:12 am Reply

    When I can’t sew, I head out doors, to hike or run or ski. But it’s hard to be without a project and some sewing time. I get on everyone’s nerves as I rattle about…hang in there !

    • Chris March 22, 2016 at 5:37 pm Reply

      I’m hoping the new machine might arrive tomorrow. I already tidied my sewing room – it’s come to that 😉

      • ellegeemakes March 22, 2016 at 6:43 pm

        How exciting! You’re preparing the nest for your new addition 🙂

  6. If I can’t sew, I better be reading sewing blogs, hiking or cooking, otherwise I will be very, very grumpy. Nice job on the mosaic!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

