A Last Salute for the General

Thank you so much for all your kind enquiries in and good wishes for the health of The General.

I’m sad to have to say that the General has passed on – what I thought might be a simple case of exhaustion has proved to be a fatal heart attack. The General will now live on in my thoughts and memories and – no doubt – have a great time in Sewing Machine Heaven. While I’m observing a minute’s silence you might want to read how it all started.

Sad, ey?

But the General is dead, long live the General: Grief-stricken as I was I ordered a new Bernina machine there and then in the sewing machine shop where I received the dreadful news. Hopefully it will arrive early next week. Who knows, I might even manage to make an Easter dress on it. As you know, it’s not a matter of lack of fabric that’s keeping me 😉

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “A Last Salute for the General

  1. thenaughtybun March 19, 2016 at 12:13 pm Reply

    Too bad the old bernina died, but old machines do things like that. Mine did too, but thankfully I eventually found an old repairman who fixed it. What model have you ordered? I am a bernina lover myself, and I totally love the vertical bobbin. I had a janome fling, but my heart was not in it. Actually, I wanted to kill it enough times that hubby though a new bernina would be a good idea. So now there are two – one old and one new. One I can bring along on holiday and on beast. 😆

    • Chris March 19, 2016 at 12:26 pm Reply

      I bought the 550 Quilt edition. Apparently it’s got some Swiss magic to make free motion quilting easy – so I might get round to quilting again which I had almost stopped out of frustration with the actual quilting part of it.

  2. navybluethreads March 19, 2016 at 8:40 pm Reply

    An Easter dress sounds fun!

  3. Anne W March 19, 2016 at 10:21 pm Reply

    What a sad day, I’m happy you’ve managed to order a new one. Fingers crossed my old Generals don’t have any ideas of passing on just yet!!

  4. Thimberlina March 20, 2016 at 12:50 am Reply

    Oh dear! I hope you will be as happy with the General’s replacement, and have a wonderful future together making lots of jumpsuits! 🙂

  5. Tia Dia March 21, 2016 at 12:25 am Reply

    Here’s to a new General! Let the sewing march on…. 😀

    • Chris March 21, 2016 at 3:28 pm Reply

      Apparently the new General will be stationed with me from Wednesday! Can’t wait!

  6. Oh I’m sure the General’s replacement will make you forget all about the Old General!

  7. Marianne April 2, 2016 at 11:37 pm Reply

    Oh dear, I missed this news. Glad to hear replacement has been arranged!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

