Burdastyle 4/2016: A Little Review

Just to recap: Burdastyle and I had not been seeing eye to eye for a while in 2014 and 15 and so I cancelled my subscription mid 2015 in what almost felt like a divorce. Then I went to buy every edition apart from one at the kiosk, so when the nice lady from Burdastyle called and offered an eight-month subscription for the price of 3 months, what could I do but agree.

Ever since Burda has been on probation I’ve felt a lot more positive about their offering and April is no exception. In fact, their feature on solid colours is a revelation for me: I would wear every single garment as is (although not all those colours might suit me), but I just love love love the styling.

IMG_2960This is my favourite outfit. It’s nothing special, but it’s an outfit I could jump into straight away and wear every day. The trousers could be my new uniform from spring and I’ve already traced the top (which is for drapey wovens, so I might get to use those silp remnants I’ve been stashing).

IMG_2961Then I’ve just fallen head over heals for this dress. I already bought a berry/purple viscose knit, which I’m hoping will be able to hold its shape with the help of a little structural underling in the bodice and underbust band.

IMG_2968

I do realise that the dress might look a little maternity with those tummy pleats, but I suppose I’m coming to an age where the thought of “Can she still get pregnant?” might start to be flattering again, so I’m going with the flow. I have an event on 1st April where this dress might come in handy, so hoping that i get my sewing machine back in time this jumps right to the top of the queue.

IMG_2962

I’m not sure what it is, but I love this too! It really is just a tunic lenghtened into a dress, and normally Burda do these in crazy patterns which I like, but never love. But in a solid I just think it’s really stylish.

IMG_2969

Look, this really is all it is: If it goes well, this could be done in an evening!

IMG_2964

It looks good in crazy print too and gives rise to all sorts of colour blocking ideas too. On the right there is “my” dress again.

Oh, and then jumpsuits!

IMG_2963

This is for petite sizing, so I doubt I would be able to make this work for me, but isn’t this all kinds of wonderful? I do have fabric for a jumpsuit lurking around, so I’m collecting ideas!

So yes, I’m kinda surprised to learn that I love solids in loud colours! Recently I have bought a lot of prints thinking that they would endulge my love of colour in the best possible way, but maybe I’ve always been more of a solid kinda girl? Who knows…

But in case solids aren’t your jam, at least here’s a full view of all the patterns in April’s edition:

IMG_2966

IMG_2967There is some lovely stuff in the plus size section, some really sweet and classic girl’s dresses and even men’s shorts. I guess my Burda subscription will continue for the time being!

Tagged: , , ,

18 thoughts on “Burdastyle 4/2016: A Little Review

  1. sewbusylizzy March 16, 2016 at 1:15 pm Reply

    Love the jumpsuit!

  2. Nakisha March 16, 2016 at 3:31 pm Reply

    So far, 2016 has been a complete HIT for me with Burda! So many things to love, especially in March and April.

    I love the details on those pants.

  3. irecital March 16, 2016 at 8:26 pm Reply

    If it wasn’t for that pink powder assymmetrical dress (122), I wouldn’t consider buying this April’s mag.

  4. They have such a lovely presentation for their patterns. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do!

  5. Tia Dia March 17, 2016 at 6:03 pm Reply

    I love the solid colour collections Burda puts out every now and then. I wouldn’t wear most of the styles, but the colour combinations are so cheery! I really liked the April edition, too, especially the jumpsuit patterns.

    • Chris March 17, 2016 at 11:27 pm Reply

      I completely agree! The plus size jumpsuit is fab as well. I’ve never graded a pattern as I would need to for this one, but I almost wonder if I might try my hand on this jumpsuit.

  6. Anne W March 18, 2016 at 10:14 am Reply

    The plus size jumpsuit is fab, it’s so nice to see good looking stuff for this section again. I must confess to buying fabric to make just the trouser part of it yesterday! So far the April issue is looking good!

    • Chris March 19, 2016 at 12:24 pm Reply

      Haha, I did just the same thing yesterday. The trouser part basically is the same as the pleat front trousers I made recently but with a wide leg – so I thought I could use that pattern, and would not have to do any grading. What fabric did you go for? Linen again?

      • Anne W March 19, 2016 at 12:30 pm

        I have a fabulous parasol print poplin!!

      • Chris March 19, 2016 at 12:50 pm

        whow! I look forward to seeing the finished article! It’s gonna look fab on your holidays.

  7. navybluethreads March 18, 2016 at 6:39 pm Reply

    That first outfit grabbed my attention too: comfy, easy and stylish. And having now got my head round jumpsuits (thank you) loving the one with that fab back detail, although underwear would prove problematic…

  8. Thimberlina March 19, 2016 at 12:21 am Reply

    It’s gotta be another jumpsuit first!! Shall we jump into June again??

    • Chris March 19, 2016 at 9:19 am Reply

      Do you think we should? It was rather a lot of fun last year!!

      • Thimberlina March 19, 2016 at 9:21 am

        I do! Otherwise I don’t think I’d probably get round to making another. And there were one or two who nearly did last year. I bet Hila will – she’s got the holly jumpsuit pattern 😃

      • Chris March 19, 2016 at 12:02 pm

        Well, if we can get Hila round to making one I think we should too!

  9. Mia March 19, 2016 at 11:50 am Reply

    Outfit #1 looks very cool – quite simple but very stylish. Go for it! (I hope your working equipment will return to the desk soon and in good condition again) 🙂

    Mia

  10. prttynpnk March 20, 2016 at 1:30 am Reply

    Ooh that is a good month!

  11. ellegeemakes March 22, 2016 at 6:44 am Reply

    I agree this months magazine was definitely a hit! The beat outfit was the first one if you ask me…

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

