A Sad Story from the Sewing Room

Long time no see, ey? And want to know why?
Look at my sewing room:

IMG_2959

Isn’t this a kimono robe waiting to be underlined? And a flowery top cruelly abandoned mid-construction? And a spring coat that only needs its belt done?

IMG_2956

And doesn’t each box contain a ready cut project, patiently waiting it its sewing queue?

 

IMG_2957

But wait, what’s this? The overlocker and cover stitch machine all ready and waiting? But where is the trusty Bernina, matron – no – general of the sewing room?

You might have guessed it: General Bernina has gone AWOL. She’s been having a break (a very unexpected and uncalled for break, I might add) at the repair shop for the last 10 days. Adding insult to injury my backup machine had been out of order for months, so now both machines are having a holiday while my queue keeps building and building.

The lady at the repair shop said it might be 10 to 14 days to get her fixed, so given that we are on day 11 today and I discovered some rust inside the machine when I tried to shake her 32-year old self back into life I’m starting to get a little worried.

So in the meantime there has been no sewing from me, only manic tracing and cutting – and I might have started 4 new knitting projects to compensate 😉

I actually have a backlog of finished items to blog, but I felt I was having “fat weeks” rather  than “fat days” so had even less inclination to pose for pictures than normally. (May I add that back in the real world I weigh the exact same than at any point during the last years – I’m not really prone to weight fluctuations, so those fat weeks really are all in the mind.)

So anyways, I just thought I’d update you with this sad story from the sewing room. Burda have been making some stuff I like, so while I am in limbo I might write a little review of the April edition soon.

Keep your fingers crossed that my Bernina will be back where she belongs at the helm of the sewing room soon!

Tagged: ,

15 thoughts on “A Sad Story from the Sewing Room

  1. Lesley King March 14, 2016 at 11:44 am Reply

    Sad as it is to see I’m still immensely jealous that a) you have a sewing room and b) you’re one of those organised people I keep hearing about. One day!

    • Chris March 14, 2016 at 12:05 pm Reply

      Yes, the sewing room IS the favourite room in the house, I have to say. It’s even better since the kids are old enough to leave me alone in it 🙂

  2. Thimberlina March 14, 2016 at 1:02 pm Reply

    Oh no! I have the General is soon back in full duties! I feel I should send a get well card! 🤒

  3. Marianne March 14, 2016 at 1:50 pm Reply

    Get well soon, General! In the mean time: bring out the knits. There are so many lovely projects you can tackle with those two machines that are ready to roll!

    • Chris March 15, 2016 at 10:07 pm Reply

      you are so right. I even cut a knit cardigan yesterday, so there is hope!

  4. jay March 14, 2016 at 1:52 pm Reply

    Life without a machine is hard isn’t it? But I’m impressed by the projects cut and ready!

  5. Hila March 14, 2016 at 2:32 pm Reply

    Hope you get it back soon.

  6. Tia Dia March 14, 2016 at 3:47 pm Reply

    I love all the shots of your sewing room! I don’t have tidy little boxes with each project cut out, ready to go. I just cut, fold, and add to the pile. I do hope the General is healthy super soon! All your UFO’s look beautiful, especially that spring coat. As for your state of mind, well, it’s March, isn’t it? It’s hard to feel wonderful when the sky is always grey, grey, drizzling and grey (at least, that’s the way it feels over on my side of the globe)…. 🙂

    • Chris March 15, 2016 at 10:06 pm Reply

      Can you imagine we had snow again today! It’s starting to be not even funny any more… Far too cold for that spring coat, with or without a belt!

  7. delightfullypeculiar March 14, 2016 at 4:02 pm Reply

    Oh no, sorry to hear both machines are having a break. I was actually thinking that I must have missed your posts. Hope you and your Bernina are soon reunited.

  8. ellegeemakes March 14, 2016 at 6:19 pm Reply

    So sorry to hear your baby is in the repair shop! Last year, my Bernina was awol for a couple of months (they kept waiting for some obscure part to be shipped from the mother ship.) and my back up machine was out of commission too. I thought I’d lose my mind! Hang in there…can’t wait to see your finished lovelies!

    • Chris March 14, 2016 at 7:39 pm Reply

      Yes, you are right: it’s all getting a bit desperate here. I’m hoping for the all clear any day now!

  9. […] with the flow. I have an event on 1st April where this dress might come in handy, so hoping that i get my sewing machine back in time this jumps right to the top of the […]

  10. […] Thank you so much for all your kind enquiries in and good wishes for the health of The General. […]

  11. […] and when her sewing room has no more empty boxes to hold cut projects in the sewing queue? […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

