Coated Denim Ginger Jeans #JeansInJanuary

Unfortunately these pictures are not really going to show anything: coated black denim, winter days and Child 2 as photographer with a fashion tolerance of milliseconds do not a great marriage make! But trust me: the fabric is coated black denim, the pattern is Ginger high-waist skinny:

IMG_2886

IMG_2887

IMG_2890

Can you see how thoughtfully I have accessorized this with my work key band? AND: Can you see the shocking lack of pattern matching on this RTW top, where the simply cut the pattern in half (well, just shy of the geometric middle…) and then inserted the zip. Quite, quite shocking, I’m sure you’ll agree. It wouldn’t have happened to us, ey?

IMG_2892

Crossed over leg, hand on hair is what I have learned to be my fashion pose 😉

And just because I thought it might be nice to show a me-made garment where you can actually kinda make out some details, here is a picture with version 2 of my Copying a Statement vest (version 1 here)

IMG_2879

IMG_2882

This was make from a long-time stash resident, an acyrlic knit that I originally bought for a sweater, but then realised that the artificial fibre makes it very sweaty for me. A sleeveless vest seemed just the right solution to save this from the donation pile. This time the edges are simply overlocked. I didn’t even turn them and topstitch them down as this would have distorted the drape of the vest. As it happens you can hardly see the overlocking anyway.

So there, this is my contribution for Jeans in January. There are also these Jalie flares, but to be honest I made those in December. I also started some Ginger corduroys but ran into trouble at the last minute and got disenchanted with the project, so those might not get finshed this side of spring.

I am really please with the way the Gingers turned out, by the way. I used the skinny pattern but made the legs a bit wider below the knee so I end up more with a straight leg. I’ve already pencilled in some white denim from the stash for a second pair of straight leg jeans. Judging from wearing those Gingers for a few days there is not much to choose between them and my usual jeans pattern, Burdastyle 3/2014 #113, which there are many iterations of on the blog. So all things being equal I will make the Gingers again, because cutting is a lot faster with them (I never put the seam allowances on my Burda patterns and only add them when cutting, so that makes cutting a bit more time consuming). I doubt i will be able to finish the white pair in January, but maybe if I start them in January they will still count as a contribution to Jeans in January?

Have you seen the first contributions to Jeans in January popping in? There have already been some great ones, others are still in the pipeline.  If you are taking part, make sure you let me know in the comments if you have blogged about your jeans so I can make a compilation of them all in February.

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Coated Denim Ginger Jeans #JeansInJanuary

  1. navybluethreads January 24, 2016 at 9:33 pm Reply

    Fab job Chris! Now very jealous mine got stuck along the way 😦 I couldn’t get mine up past my thighs though, so probably need to start again, going up at least a size or two… Onwards and upwards!

    • Chris January 24, 2016 at 9:44 pm Reply

      oh no, that’s terrible. At least you are taking it well! I only use very stretchy fabric now after a few experiences like this…

      • navybluethreads January 24, 2016 at 10:23 pm

        You read my mind! Been inspecting my favourite RTW ones much of late and the extra stretch makes such a difference. Next time…

  2. Thimberlina January 24, 2016 at 10:33 pm Reply

    These are super-duper! I have a pair of black coated jeggings that I’ve had about 5 years and they cost something ridiculous like £40, I’ve worn the to death and they still look fab. I bet you’ll do the same with these. 😃

    • Chris January 25, 2016 at 12:03 am Reply

      Thank you! Yep, I have high hopes for these. When I first bought the fabric (online) I was a little shocked when it arrived because it was a lot more obviously coated than I thought it might be. But I’ve got over that now and love them now.

      • Thimberlina January 25, 2016 at 12:26 am

        Have you washed them. It took me about 6 months before I plucked up courage to wash mine, and they were just fine. The coatings still on now.

      • Chris January 25, 2016 at 2:25 pm

        I washed the fabric first thing and that was fine. I even tried to scratch off the coating, but it stayed on regardless. Long may it live!

  3. Thimberlina January 24, 2016 at 10:35 pm Reply
    • Thimberlina January 24, 2016 at 10:36 pm Reply

      Oops, fat fingers. Sorry for spelling your name wrong 😳

    • Chris January 25, 2016 at 12:01 am Reply

      ooo, love that! Is that real denim underneath that print? That would be so cool!

      • Thimberlina January 25, 2016 at 12:25 am

        Yup, I think so. I’ve a £30 voucher for here so I might treat myself, tho it’d be a case of only being able to wear plain tops.

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 26, 2016 at 7:01 am Reply

    I wasn’t looking at the top at all actually.. Love the jeans! Great pattern choice!

  5. craftycreeky January 27, 2016 at 1:01 am Reply

    Love the Gingers, I’ve finally plucked up the courage to buy the pattern, just have to get some denim now…and a lot of luck!!!

    • Chris January 27, 2016 at 8:33 pm Reply

      I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. Hope you have a great experience sewing your first Gingers

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

