Burdastyle 10/2014 #113: The Copying a Statement-Vest

Dear Reader,
read this first!

Ok, you are back? Good! Now, what you must know before reading this post is that I have an almost embarrassing girl crush on all things Gray-All-Day. I just love every single garment that Helena makes, I love the way she wears them, I love the way she writes about them. So it was only a logical step to copying her garments:

IMG_2838

 

I hasten to add that I had wanted to make something drapey from this wool twill for a while and had narrowed down my choice to this pattern (Burdastyle 10/2014 #113) and one other one already. But when I saw Helena’s version and when she confirmed that it would equally well in a woven than in a knit (as specified in the pattern) the decision was made.

IMG_2836

When I wore the vest for the first time I felt really strange as I don’t normally go for floaty clothes. Don’t get me wrong, I love the look of them, but I don’t seem to be able to carry them off – or even keep them on. Anything that’s not firmly anchored to my body seems to fall off in the course of a day. You would be surprised at the number of times one of my students shows up at the staff room, bearing a crumpled piece of clothing, saying (cue eye roll): ” You forgot your cardigan – AGAIN”.

IMG_2837

So I was unsure about the vest at first – but actually looking at the pictures I love the way it drapes and floats and sways. So I guess I will just have to learn to wear it!

IMG_2833

Well, no, this isn’t it, Chris!!!

IMG_2841

Did you notice the cross-over-feet-position? I gather this is what you do in fashion pictures, because it makes you lower legs look half their size. Well there, I’m trying to up my modelling game 🙂

(Sorry, I had to laugh out loud even as I was typing this!)

IMG_2832

Sewing this was really easy: There are just two pattern pieces, the collar is cut onto the front. I used French seams everywhere apart from the seam that attaches the collar to the body, I didn’t manage the the 3D- thinking that would have been necessary to make this a French seam, so I covered the normal seam in bias tape. Unlike Helena’s vest the edges aren’t sandwiched between bias tape, instead I folded the bias tape over and stitched it down. Cutting the bias tape from very, very slipperly rayon lining  was the only thing that took a long time, but if you use ready-made bias this is a very simple project indeed.

And guess what I found, this time AFTER I had made the vest, because I’m not a totally creepy sewing stalker: Look at this project from Lilysageandco: Debbie only also made a cream wool drapey cardigan! Can you believe I can be mentioned in the same breath as Helena and Debbie??!! I realise all this is a bit like when three friends wear the same clothes and there is always one that distinctly looks less cool in them – but still I am very happy and totally content indeed to be the hanger-on in this one!

I think I just got fashion cudos by association (aka FCA, which is very much a thing just as TFAD is, as you will find out in this post 😉 )

What are your favourite sewing-related acronyms?

 

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Burdastyle 10/2014 #113: The Copying a Statement-Vest

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 17, 2016 at 8:37 am Reply

    I love TNT (tried ‘n true) because if something is TNT, I love it! 🙂 I have made those “floaty” cardigans for myself. I love them. Now I would never make a white one as I would slop something on it! Your’s is just lovely! Maybe you need a belt to tie it on you!

  2. navybluethreads January 17, 2016 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Fab! Love the floaty shape of this on you Chris and the slightly different colour on you 🙂 Looks perfect for snuggling up in.

    • Chris January 18, 2016 at 9:01 am Reply

      Yes, it is very snuggly. Just in time for the big freeze. I can even camouflage in the now wearing this 😉

      • navybluethreads January 18, 2016 at 3:43 pm

        Was thinking of you last night… We’ve just discovered Deuchland 85, fab!

      • Chris January 18, 2016 at 6:28 pm

        You just gave me the fright of my life! I googled Deutschland 85 (because I have no idea what it is) and came up with one hit suggesting to raise the pension age to 85. I just hope this is not what you mean…

      • navybluethreads January 19, 2016 at 6:52 pm

        Ha! No, it’s the new German version of Nordicnoir which is incredibly popular over here. Think it’s 83 rather than 85, sorry to give you a shock…

  3. Thimberlina January 18, 2016 at 4:52 am Reply

    Looking lovely and very girly. Definitely suits you. It’s good when the inspiration works and we end up with a garment that’s suits us 😃

  4. […] And just because I thought it might be nice to show a me-made garment where you can actually kinda make out some details, here is a picture with version 2 of my Copying a Statement vest (version 1 here) […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

