My Jeans in January Debut: Jalie Flares

Well, to be completely honest, I cheated a little bit – I completed these jeans around Christmas, but I thought given that I’m hosting Jeans in January I should step up and show you a pair of jeans early on in January.

IMG_2704

So here they are: the mother of all flared jeans patterns, Jalie 2908, high-rise version. I made those last year in a non-stretch denim and wore them exactly once as they proved far to tight and uncomfortable. This time I learned and used a medium-stretch denim (marked as 3% lycra, but a LOT less stretchy than my 3% stretch corduroy) and the pattern cut in the same size as last year came out quite roomy.

IMG_2707

I’m a pear shape and so theoretically, the flares should balance out any extra weight around the hips. I’m not really sure this theory works for me – at the very least I would need to wear serious heels to achieve the leg-elongating look. But then I work standing up, serious heels simply are not an option for me.

 

(Disclaimer ahead of the next picture: May I ask my reader Mia to avert her eyes as there is a major vpl-situation going on here. I do realise, but I’m afraid if it’s thong v. vpl, vpl will win in my case…)

IMG_2764

Here’s the arty shot that the photography on this blog is famed for πŸ˜‰ : me next to some art.

In this version of the flares I had a major face-palm moment when I realised a mistake I had made last time round. I had somehow managed to use the front leg of the low rise version together with the back leg of the high-rise version. Don’t ask me how I had made those to match up at the side seam, but I did manage it. This time around I amended that mistake, used the high-rise version all around and magically, the fit is a lot more comfortable.

And now, not because I’m uber-critical or because I’d like to make an ablology, but just because we all live and learn, let me draw your attention to what happens if you go against Chris’s 9th rule of sewing jeans and put the button in the wrong place:

IMG_2711

Yep, it’s zipperband-gapeage! If the button is too far towards the corner of the inside waistband it will distort the waistband when closed and the button band will gape. And that makes you look as if your jeans don’t fit when in reality they do. And that’s never a pretty thought, don’t you agree?

Overall I’m not too sure what to make of the flares. Sewing-wise I’m pleased how these turned out, they fit well and are very comfortable. But fashion-wise I just don’t know, I still feel a bit frumpy and dated in them. Strange, on others I kinda like the retro-vibe of the flares, but on me I’m just not really convinced. I have been wondering whether they might look a bit more fashion in a lower rise so there isn’t quite so much jeans fabric overall. But then I suffer from tummy-flab-anxietiy-disorder (TFAD, it’s a condition, you know?!), so low-rise jeans are a thing of the past for me.

However, inspite of my reservations about flares, if you are enamoured of the trend, you are in luck: Heather Loo just published a flare extension for her Ginger pattern, so if you want to make your Gingers into flares (and properly stylish ones at that), you can do so in time for Jeans in January!

If you are taking part in Jeans in January, how are your sewing plans coming along? Do say in the comments!
I almost finished my first pair of Gingers – I say almost, because I realised I had put on the waistband bottom-up (so that the smaller curved side is attached to the body of the jeans and the larger curved side now stands away from my waist – a truly comical look). Major face-palm moment! So all of that has to come off again, including belt loops and button for a second attempt. Next time, I’m not gonna do this after midnight, though. Live and learn, live and learn!

Tagged: , , , ,

18 thoughts on “My Jeans in January Debut: Jalie Flares

  1. Thimberlina January 9, 2016 at 12:20 am Reply

    “Gosh!!” I thought. “You’re on the ball”, but then I read on and I get why you had an early start. But then you made these when you were busy sewing up all those fab clothes for your men folk. December was a crazy sewing time for you!
    These look a great fit, but I’m not sure either on the flares either. I think they narrow down their versatility and wearability and which footwear will go with them. But I think the photo showing your VPL is the best one which shows the legs off best and they look good.
    Your TFAD condition made me chuckle. Even spandex won’t fix mine, but if I lay flat on my back with my arms stretched out above my head it almost disappears!
    I’m going to make a start with my Misty Style Arcs tomorrow, even if it’s just getting them cut on. Hopefully I’ll have something to show you soon πŸ™‚

    • Chris January 9, 2016 at 1:42 pm Reply

      Haha, I tried your TFAD cure this morning – perfect! Now to find a way of incorporating laying down with ones hand stretched out above ones head into daily life…

  2. Tia Dia January 9, 2016 at 1:33 am Reply

    I love the Jalie pattern – it fits very well straight out of the envelope. I do like a bit of a boot cut, so I measured the flare on my one and only pair of RTW jeans, and took the Jalie flare down by a total of 5 cm, grading from the knee to the hem. And you would not believe how many jeans buttons DH has had to saw off for me because I’ve put them in the wrong place. πŸ˜€

    • Chris January 9, 2016 at 1:41 pm Reply

      You have just given me the best idea ever! My husband did look a little dubious when I told him he had to saw off a jeans button later, but of course he will have to do as he’s told πŸ˜‰

  3. navybluethreads January 9, 2016 at 3:57 pm Reply

    Brill to get some early inspiration up! They certainly look great in the photos. I’m with you on the high rise these days. Looking forward to getting started on mine, but there do seem a lot of steps, hadn’t even considered button placement…

    • Chris January 10, 2016 at 11:24 am Reply

      I’ve since got the tip that misplaced jeans buttons can be sawed off. I knew my husband always wanted to get involved with my sewing πŸ˜‰

      • navybluethreads January 10, 2016 at 1:40 pm

        Lordy! Sounds dangerous. At relatives at the moment, but will be ordering my fabric when I get home later πŸ™‚

  4. Anne W January 10, 2016 at 1:17 am Reply

    I think these look fab! I love flared jeans, and have both the ginger jeans and the new Birkin flares by Baste and Gather. I’m hoping that once daughter no 1 has left for her world trip that I’d have time to make at least one of them up! Never tried the Jalie.

    • Chris January 10, 2016 at 11:22 am Reply

      World trip? That sounds exciting!

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 10, 2016 at 4:40 am Reply

    You’ve got the Jump on your Jeans! (Even if you started in December). Good for you! I haven’t tried flares in a while. I’m not even sure how they would look! Yours look marvellous, even with the button.

    • Chris January 10, 2016 at 11:23 am Reply

      Thanks Linda. Yes , I guess we need to re-learn again what jeans that are not skinnies look like…

  6. delightfullypeculiar January 10, 2016 at 10:28 pm Reply

    They look comfy and nicely fit! I love flares but yes they do look better with high heels, I do wear them with flats as well though haha! Has the button been sawed off now? Looking forward to your next pair! I may contribute with a denim something πŸ˜‰ just for the fun of it!

    • Chris January 11, 2016 at 9:00 am Reply

      No sawing has happened yet – my husband is still in a kind of shocked stupor about what I’ve asked him to do… πŸ˜‰

  7. craftycreeky January 11, 2016 at 12:43 am Reply

    Wow, they look great, Ginger jeans are on my to do list this year! I can’t wear flares, despite being pearshaped, straight jeans work best on me!

  8. Carolyn January 12, 2016 at 2:40 pm Reply

    These look fab! I have a pair of flares, and love them, I think they’re a really flattering line for me, a fellow pear-shape. But I agree, it’s nice to have different silhouettes to choose from πŸ™‚

  9. […] I just got fashion cudos by association (aka FCA, which is very much a thing just as TFAD is, as you will find out in this post πŸ˜‰ […]

  10. Mia January 22, 2016 at 3:49 pm Reply

    Well done Chris – even awesome fast for the January challange *cough*. The jeans look nicley fitted – really like it! So, looking forward to the completed compilation of makes in #jeansinjanuary.

    Just one last effort against the vpl-thing (since the thong looked really a lot better πŸ˜‰ )
    Take a look here > http://www.mrsweaversfinest.com/#!Understanding-Undies-Part-1-Free-Patterns/c3g/54cc11a70cf2cb6524629cb5 – Perhaps there are other patterns to avoid it and you might do okay with.

    Mia

  11. […] there, this is my contribution for Jeans in January. There are also these Jalie flares, but to be honest I made those in December. I also started some Ginger corduroys but ran into […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nΓ€hen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

