Burdastyle12/2012 #104 : The Russian General Coat

Let me show you my last project of 2015 – and probably one of the favourite ones of the entire year – I would not be surprised if this made it into my top 5 of 2016 as an early starter. May I introduce: The Russian General Coat

IMG_2793

I have to add a little disclaimer straight away: I have no idea at all what Russian Generals actually look like, but I fancy myself all War and Peace in this. Do you think I make a convincing impression of surveying the length and breadth of the Russian taiga?

IMG_2792

IMG_2794

Wait, the Russian taiga needs a scarf (disclaimer again: I have no idea as to the usual temperatures in the Russian taiga, nor am I really sure where or what exactly it is, but the clichee in my head has it it’s coooold out there):

IMG_2789

IMG_2785

And off I walk into the distance! Watch how I disappear into the fog with only those shiny gold buttons to be seen…

Do you know those cool big city bloggers who position themselves in front of some crappy half derelict walkway and shoot the coolest photos that make that crappy walkway look urban chic and somehow really enticing?

Well – this is not working for me:

IMG_2808

IMG_2809

Yep, still just looks like a crappy derelict gate – but at least I tried 😉

But enough of this frivolous talk, here comes the science bit:

I used Burdastyle 12/2012 #104, a pattern I had fallen in love with when it first came out but didn’t have the confidence to try an make it at the time. Three years later  and with a lot more sewing experience everything went really well.

IMG_2780

Of course the main feature of the coat are the shiny gold buttons which took forever to find. There is only one large button shop (that I know of and that does not price the buttons according to their weight in gold) in my area, so I went to buy those online after more search time than it would take to march through the Russian taiga. At least I was really pleased with the result, though. They are really heavy and very shiny indeed.

IMG_2782

There is also a little bit of piping around the lapels and collar. I also make bound button holes that I forgot to photograph. But at least there is an inside shot

IMG_2779

Inside of the bound botton holes on the right and the facing to cover them on the left.

IMG_2778

I made my own shoulder pads and because they turned out a bit less substantial than I had wanted I added quite a hefty sleevehead. At the moment it’s a bit robust, but I think it will wear down a little bit over time and then be just right.

IMG_2807

As an afterthougt I added an inside pocket, which was a bit of a nightmare to attach, because the lining had to be partly sewn on already. It did all end well in the end, but it was a bit of a long job. But then, a march through the Russian taiga would be long and arduous, so there’s a metaphor for you!

With this make I bow out of 2015. In fact, I had a very productive holiday break with lots of sewing, to if I get a chance to write some posts, I can show you a few more things hopefully really soon.

Update: I just checked: the Taiga seem to be largescale woods that do indeed exist in Siberia. So yes, it would be coooold there. Whether Russian Generals would waste their shiny uniforms in order to march through hundreds of miles of woods or indeed whether Russian Generals march at all I don’t know, though…

Tagged: , , ,

16 thoughts on “Burdastyle12/2012 #104 : The Russian General Coat

  1. Tia Dia January 7, 2016 at 7:54 pm Reply

    Gorgeous! I love the piping detail.

  2. ellegeemakes January 7, 2016 at 8:02 pm Reply

    Wow! That’s an incredible coat. Love the inside of the coat as well as the outside.It looks quite difficult. What a great accomplishment!

  3. Lesley King January 7, 2016 at 8:47 pm Reply

    Oh my that is seriously lovely and some impressive sewing techniques there

  4. Marianne January 7, 2016 at 9:48 pm Reply

    красивый ! Ehm, that’s Russian for stunning, I hope…That piping is awesome!

  5. Sew Exhausted January 7, 2016 at 11:03 pm Reply

    Wow… that is a fantastic coat! It looks like quite a bit of work to me! It will do well in the Russian Tiaga!

  6. qplourde January 8, 2016 at 5:22 am Reply

    Haha, your poses crack me up. But seriously that coat came out amazing! It looks really professional – and I love those buttons, they really add to it. And that inside pocket looks good too, so definitely worth the hard work. Well done!

  7. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! January 8, 2016 at 8:58 am Reply

    Nicely done! I never noticed the “crappy gate” because I was looking at your lovely coat! 🙂

    • Chris January 8, 2016 at 6:39 pm Reply

      Thank you! I did some photos today, this time without crappy gate, just on the road outside my house – back to basics 🙂

  8. navybluethreads January 8, 2016 at 11:32 am Reply

    Ha! Love the attempt at an artistic, crappy gate shot… So close! 😉
    Beautiful coat Chris, and so many details. Looks fab! Well worth the effort.

    • Chris January 8, 2016 at 6:38 pm Reply

      Thank you!
      On a different note, guess what: I heard that you can tag people on Instagram, which seems to be the thing to do. I don’t yet know exactly what this means, nor do I know how to do it, but I will certainly try and find out! 🙂

  9. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) January 8, 2016 at 6:35 pm Reply

    fantastic, what a great coat and so many cool details.

  10. Thimberlina January 9, 2016 at 1:08 am Reply

    Woooooow!!! That’s a BIG wow!! I’m
    In awe and am feeling totally inadequate! 😀

    • Chris January 9, 2016 at 1:44 pm Reply

      now now, now feelings of inadequacy allowed – otherwise you will have to march the Taiga! Though, the way your park running is shaping up, you could run the Taiga while I would limp along…

  11. notsewsimple January 10, 2016 at 12:05 am Reply

    Congratulations on maing such an amazing coat – I love this style and the gold buttons are perfect for it!

    Louise

  12. […] place! Or indeed if you need golden tresses. I should have bought some in order to brighten up the Russian General Coat, but of course I only realised after I’d come back […]

  13. […] This means I need a princess seam bodice and skirt portion. What springs to mind is the Russian General Coat which has just that. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

