Top 5 Sewing Wins of 2015

2015 has been an excellent sewing year for me! Even the fails weren’t all that bad and in compiling my top 5 I even had a few more contenders and had to give some serious thought to which items should make it in the top five.

So, in no particular order (apart from my Best of 2015):

  1. Everyday JeansIMG_2671

Well, these didn’t even get a proper blog post, but still they are probably the one item I’ve worn most regularly in 2015, although I only made them sometimes during the summer. There isn’t much to be said about them, they are just normal, skinny-ish jeans, but they just fit exactly like I like them.

 

2. Lazy Day Sweatshirt

IMG_0700

And this is the second-most widely worn item of 2015. This drapey sweatshirt was made in early spring and throughout the year I have reached for this over and over when I’m not at work. Again, nothing particularly special about this, it just works for me.

 

3. The British Racing Green Dress

IMG_2487

Thus are the vagaries of sewing that both my top 5 wins AND fails contain the same pattern. This British Racing green dress is a win, the Does my bum look big in this -dress a fail, both using the same pattern.  Live and learn!

 

4. White Rosa Jacket

IMG_0775

I’m still surprised by how much I’ve turned out to like this jacket. It started whole love affair with white for me and I’ve worn this loads on cooler summer days as a casual jacket. I made another one in pink, to do honour to the its name “Rosa”, but that never took off as much as the white one. Not bad for a remnant of curtain fabric, ey?!

But the uncontested winner of 2015 is:

The Siena Dress

IMG_1202

In this make, the stars really alligned for me!

I bought the fabric in Siena while visiting a good friend. It was the first time I had seen her in about 14 years and while we’d only kept in touch sporadically during all those years I felt our friendship was as strong as it was in the early 90s when we were both students in Ireland, away from home for the first time and just starting out on life. We met at a small rural university in Ireland, where we spent a winter, which was wet, oh so wet, and altough at 21 we weren’t all that young it was still an important time in my life.  When I visited her in Tuscany in April, my friend took me to the market in Siena where I bought the fabric, so whenever I see it I think of her – so I knew from the start that whatever I made with the fabric would be special.

IMG_1183

And to me this dress truly is! Whenever I put it on I feel just great. It’s not just that it fits well, I like the style and all that – whenever I put it on I simply feel happy. Even when I take it out of the wardrobe the night before I get  little shiver of excitement about the next day being a Siena dress day.

IMG_1196

So while normally I’m not someone who is prone to looking backwards, I think there can be many things worse than looking back at the sewing year that was 2015!

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Sewing Wins of 2015

  1. navybluethreads December 27, 2015 at 12:19 am Reply

    Well done! A whole host of lovely items. I’d totally forgotten about that sweatshirt, definitely my favourite, although the final dress is pretty lovely too! Roll on 2016…

    • Chris December 29, 2015 at 12:57 am Reply

      Yes, let’s! May the jeans we are going to make be the first fab project of 2016

      • navybluethreads December 29, 2015 at 1:35 am

        Now you’ve ton and jinxed it! 😉

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 27, 2015 at 7:59 am Reply

    Definitely five sewing wins! all of them are right on!!

  3. Thimberlina December 27, 2015 at 10:47 pm Reply

    Can’t believe a jumpsuit didn’t appear in your top 5, lol! Only kidding, can see why these 5 were the tops, especially your frock. A great sewing year for you! 😀

    • Chris December 29, 2015 at 12:57 am Reply

      I have to say, Jumping into June was the most fun sewing of 2015 by a long stretch! I quite forgot about Flight Lieutenant Said&Done – should make him reappear asap!

      • Thimberlina December 29, 2015 at 12:57 am

        Yes you must! 😂

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

