Top 5 Fails that Made it on the Blog

It’s that time of year again when sewing bloggers indulge in the therapeutic pleaseure of not being perfect and admitting to it: it’s Top 5 Fails -Time again!

In my case I have to restrict myself to fails that made it to the blog – because I often don’t get the chance or inclination to take pictures I haven’t blogged most of my fails this year. Fortunately there weren’t all that many real fails, but there were a few items that I hardly ever wore, so these will make up my list of wearable fails. This is a chronological list, starting in January 2015.

  1. Strange Birds Blouse

IMG_0598

This should have worked in theory. The blouse turned out fine, technically speaking, but it turned out I wasn’t really too keen on the very loose style after all. Also I hever really fell in love with fabric – I would not have bought this blouse had it been in a shop. So off into the charity bag it went and hopefully on to greener pastures.

 

2. Greensleeves Trousers

IMG_0611

Here some overzealous taking in made the previously loose trousers too tight, so that I feared for the durability of the “pressure points”. That’ll teach me to serge off the seam allowances without trying on the trousers first. Or it should – did this again the other day. Well, live and (don’t) learn!

3. The Shocking Dress

IMG_0600

This is a true shocker, because on this dress I love the pattern (it’s probably one of my favourite dress patterns ever), I love the fabric, a cotton stretch satin with just a little bit of sheen – and I still have never reached for this dress. I might be that I just have too many clothes so I never get round to wearing this, but anyway, it still has to make my top 5 wearable fails.

4. One Stripe too Many- Top

IMG_1669

Nothing wrong with this – still never wore it. Sent off to charity – I don’t take any prisoners 😉 !

5. Does my bum look big in this – Dress

#

This goes to show how close agony and ecstasy can be together in the world of sewing. This dress’ solid coloured sister is one of my favorite makes of 2015 – however this one here will never be worn. I’m still debating whether to simply make it into a top or maybe try to overdie the white, but as is, this is my favourite pattern-placement fail of 2015.

 

So overall the sewing year wasn’t too bad. My biggest downfall is selecting the wrong fabric/pattern combination and sometimes liking stuff more in my head than on my body. I’ve always had a vivid imagination, maybe that’s my problem 😉

Tagged: ,

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Fails that Made it on the Blog

  1. navybluethreads December 19, 2015 at 6:16 pm Reply

    The too many clothes situation sounds familiar, despite my recent clear out and fast! That pattern placement is such a shame on the last one! I actually really like the first one, the whole outfit in fact, but if you don’t reach for it then it has to go! Need to take a similar ruthless approach, but it really doesn’t come naturally to me…

  2. Andrea December 19, 2015 at 8:24 pm Reply

    I really like the blue dress! I don’t usually have sewing fails but you have my thinking about my own makes and yes, there are some less than desirable results this year.

  3. Tammy Twinkle December 19, 2015 at 8:34 pm Reply

    New Year, new start and hopefully lots fun sewing! Who cares about the projects that missed the mark, we learn from our mistakes and if we’re lucky we won’t make the same ones again. 🙂

  4. Marianne December 19, 2015 at 9:25 pm Reply

    Please have mercy on the shocking dress!

  5. SewingElle December 20, 2015 at 10:45 am Reply

    I love the shocking dress. I hope you can save the does-my-bum-look-big-in-this. Pattern/fabric/style partnership are so important aren’t they.

    • Chris December 20, 2015 at 8:56 pm Reply

      The shocking dress is on parole and we’ll see if we get on better next year.

  6. Tia Dia December 21, 2015 at 1:29 am Reply

    The shocking dress is gorgeous! Please give it a good, healthy long parole, because it looks so fantastic!

  7. delightfullypeculiar December 21, 2015 at 6:03 pm Reply

    I had to laugh reading the description of the green trousers, sometimes it feels as if we never learn haha! I’m a fun of the shocking dress too, it looks great!

  8. Jana December 21, 2015 at 11:55 pm Reply

    Wow, you have been so productive this year. I actually love the Shocking Dress on you! You look great in it! Best, Jana
    http://www.meandmyveritas.wordpress.com

  9. […] has been an excellent sewing year for me! Even the fails weren’t all that bad and in compiling my top 5 I even had a few more contenders and had to give some serious thought to […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

