A Look Down Memory Lane – in Honour of Jeans in January

Thank you so much to all of you who’ve already said they will join Jeans in January – and a big welcome to those of you who are still thinking about it!
A few of you are planning to make their first ever pair of jeans, some want to hone their craft. I kinda fall into both categories.
I made a fair few pair of jeans, using three different patterns, but I only wear one regularly.
The first pair of jeans I ever made was Burdastyle 4/2010 #120 . When I started making jeans I didn’t really understand about stretch percentages in fabrics yet – so some of the pairs I made form non-stretch or barely-stretch fabric were simply too tight (first try)

IMG_6716

or too loose (second attempt).

I also decided that I perfer a higher rise that contains both muffin top and butt crack and so I stopped experimenting with this patten.

Then I tried bootcut jeans, Jalie 2908, again in a barely stretchy fabric, which unfortunately caused my completing a pair of jeans , pattern size chosed exactly according to my measurements, finished with lovingly executed top-stitching, that I wore exactly once.

IMG_8609

It turned out so tight that my lady bits felt quite uncomfortable, so they went to the back of the cupboard to wait for slimmer days. Well, don’t hold your breath for a reappearance, I tried them on the other day and I can’t even do them up now. All those pies taste a lot better than their result looks… However, I’m certainly not done with this pattern, so a hopefully much better fitting version will feature in Jeans in January.

Finally, my third and (to date) only truly successful jeans pattern is Burdastyle 3/2014 #115. It’s my go to skinny jeans pattern and I lost count of the versions I made. Here, here, here and here is a little bit of evidence. But in fact the one pair of jeans that I wear most often isn’t even properly blogged:

Same pattern, look at the bottoms here, of course, not the blouse!

IMG_2675

So by and large I’m really happy with this pattern – BUT I still have a little bit of an issue with the back crotch that isn’t quite 100 % the way I would like it.

I did consider the possibility that my behind might not be quite 100% the way I would like it, but in the world of all-shapes-are-beautiful-sewists that would be heresy, wouldn’t it?! So during Jeans in January I’m going to throw myself into the adventure of trying a new pattern, the Ginger, of course, because truly: I haven’t seen a single bad version of them in blogland ever.

How about yourselves? Do you have previous regarding jeans sewing? And highs or lows to share? Or are you one of the (apparently) many jeans virgins who printed off the Ginger and never managed or dared to go further?

Tagged: , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “A Look Down Memory Lane – in Honour of Jeans in January

  1. jennystitched December 14, 2015 at 1:52 pm Reply

    I’m planning on having a go at a pair of Gingers in the new year too!

  2. Helen of Troy Fashion December 14, 2015 at 2:42 pm Reply

    Wow! Looks awesome! I should put this on my to-do list!

  3. Thimberlina December 14, 2015 at 3:00 pm Reply

    I’m a Ginger Virgin! And at my age sounds quite ridiculous! But I think I’m going to do the style arc pull on Misty Jeans first.
    Thanks for organising this Chris. Once again a few words lead to a little pushing into something new 😃

  4. Tia Dia December 14, 2015 at 4:42 pm Reply

    My DD3 loves the Burda April 2014 skinny jeans, and they fit her well. I’ve made that pattern for her several times, and she’s always happy with the look and fit of the jeans. For me, nothing beats the fit of the normal waist version of Jalie 2908, and Burda 1/2010 #136, which I’ve made up a few times, and is a plus-sized pattern. I don’t have to alter the Burda pattern AT ALL to accommodate my rear, so I often use the back of that pattern as a block for every other jeans pattern. I’ll probably not use the Ginger pattern – I’m too lazy to fit and fuss with another jeans pattern! – but I already have a queue in mind! Maybe even a Jungle Jeans January version….. shhhhh…..

  5. navybluethreads December 15, 2015 at 12:46 am Reply

    It all sounds very technical… These all look good, but particularly the last pair. Once we’ve broken up, I will see if there’s a non-scary version I could attempt…

    • Chris December 15, 2015 at 7:29 pm Reply

      I think you would find that the sewing of jeans actually isn’t scary. The Ginger sewalong is just awesome (you know, not just American pretty great-awesome, but properly awe-inspiring) so that everything is broken down into easy steps.
      The jeans fitting is another matter… But then, that’s no worse than any other trouser pattern (at with skinnies in stretch denim it’s in fact easier, I think, because you can just have them snap to fit. No breathing then , of course, but a girl can’t have everything … 😉

      • navybluethreads December 18, 2015 at 3:29 pm

        🙂 Oh, go on then… Arghh, what have you got me agreeing to now!?! X

      • Chris December 18, 2015 at 5:48 pm

        Result!!! Welcome on board!

      • navybluethreads December 18, 2015 at 9:47 pm

        Your powers of persuasion are impressive 😉

  6. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 15, 2015 at 7:08 am Reply

    Good idea … organizing this. I have measured and taken a Craftsy course for a muslin and then a pair of jeans from a McCalls pattern. I’ll have to try it again sometime as I have a black stretch denim in my stash. But first I have some other projects that I have to finish. So I will happily watch this time, if you don’t mind!

  7. delightfullypeculiar December 15, 2015 at 7:24 pm Reply

    That Burda 115 is a winner, I love all the versions. I’ve never sewn any jeans neither have I bought a pattern, despite having been very tempted by the gingers. I look forward to seeing what’s going to come out of this challenge.

  8. notsewsimple December 16, 2015 at 12:11 pm Reply

    I would love to have a go – I really struggle to buy jeans that fit! Also tempted to try Gingers.

    Louise

    • Chris December 17, 2015 at 7:07 pm Reply

      What view of the Gingers are you thinking of? I want to try the stovepipe leg ones, but probably try to add the high waist of the skinnies. Not sure this is going to work out, but we live for the challenge, don’t we? 😉

      • notsewsimple December 17, 2015 at 7:54 pm

        I think higher waist skinniest – I need lots of coverage! Of course I am definitely going to diet in January so I will be so much slimmer after that!

      • Chris December 17, 2015 at 7:59 pm

        Haha, another thing we have in common! I, too, will be a lot slimmer in January, honest ! 😉

  9. Tutti G-Land December 17, 2015 at 10:07 am Reply

    Eine gut sitzende, enge Hose ist in meinen Augen die Königsdisziplin beim Nähen. Kompliment! Diese ist TOLL!!!
    Liebe Grüße Tutti

    • Chris December 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm Reply

      Vielen Dank, Tutti. Ich hoffe, dass ich bei der Ginger Jeans auch alles gut hinkriege!

  10. Alex January 4, 2016 at 9:39 pm Reply

    I can’t believe I didn’t sign up here too! I’ve already mentioned it on the blog, but here is my official entry. I already have Ginger cut out, so I’m off to cut the toile, already the 4th of Jan!! Well done for yet another fab idea, Chris!!

    • Chris January 5, 2016 at 12:28 am Reply

      Well, consider yourself signed up now! I just finished my first pair of Gingers (bar the belt loops and leg hem) – they are looking good!

      • Alex January 5, 2016 at 10:19 am

        No way!! It’s only 4th Jan!! What are you, some kind of Wonder Woman ?!!??? 😵

      • Chris January 5, 2016 at 10:29 am

        Haha, no, no wonder woman, just very determined to do this before I go back to work on Thursday!!!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

