Fashion Style/Knipmode 9/2015: Raglan Bluse x 2

IMG_2660

I was going to write a big long post about this! After all I made two blouses, starting off from the same pattern but taking out a LOT of width from model 2. But then life happened and so there’ll only be a few pictures.

IMG_2675

This is blouse no 1, from a very thin rayon (that started to pill even after the first wear at the area where I wore a belt to hold in the width of the blouse. SO annoying!)

IMG_2661As you can see it is really quite wide! I cut a size 40, same size I would usually cut in Burda, but I need to get used to the fact that Knipmode cut their patterns more generously. I was inbetween a size 38 and size 40 on their chart, but I think I could have safely gone down to a 38 or even 36.

The original pattern has a straight hem, but I put on a high-low hem. Not completely sure about it, maybe I’ll cut it off. On the other hand, I doubt this fabric will make many washes, so I might as well not bother.

IMG_2671

I also lowered the neckline considerably. I do appreciate that high necklines are much more en vogue at the moment, but they make my neck look huge.

IMG_2652And this is version 2 in an “all my favourite colours in the world” rayon. I’m trying the front-tuck here, which I understand is a thing. Not sure if I have quite mastered it just yet 😉

IMG_2654

Full tuck here so you can see that I took out about 12cm of width all round compared to no 1.

IMG_2648

Still roomy enought, don’t you think?

IMG_2637

Constructing the lower collar in a much less drapey solid  stash fabric was a bit of a white knuckle ride. The collar was meant to be cut on the bias, but as the solid was strictly no drape I decided to cut it on grain but to amend the pattern piece by making it curve to lie flat.

IMG_2639

Well, that kinda worked… It took a lot of steam and a liberal dose of post-watershed language to make it lie as flat as it does.

IMG_2646

All in all, those bloused are fine, but I haven’t really fallen for them. Or maybe it’s me in them. But especially the ivory one has been worn a few times already – it’s great as a layer that goes with everything and is not as same same as my usual knit tops.

The jeans in those photos are my latest iteration of Burdastyle 3/14 #115, which I did again here and here and there are a few unblogged versions. I think I got the front crotch area as right as I can:

IMG_2683

The back still needs a little bit of work, but I didn’t quite get there through all my different versions. So rather than flog a dead horse I bought the Ginger pattern by Closet Case – all blogged version look just amazing, so I’ve overcome my PDF fear and hope to be able to report great things asap.

In the meantime, however, I have embarked on a selfless-sewing project of an epic scale. After making a shirt and then another shirt for Child 2 I have now succumbed to his calls for a suit. So I made a boys suit (finished apart from the button holes). And a suit needs shirts to go with it, doesn’t it?! So I made not one, not two but, three shirts. And now I need to make a matching shirt for Child 3, ’cause otherwise that would be unfair. It’s as well that Child 1 is staying abroad this year – helps me to prevent sewing overload.

Three of those shirts are basically finished – apart from  (Guess what?! – Yes, you guessed it!) the buttonholes. So one of these day, before Christmas, I will need to make about 50 button holes and attach the corresponding buttons. Why, oh why, do I decide to go overboard like this???? I don’t think this is the first time I quote my dad on this blog: “Chris never knows when to stop!”

Photos of the finished project will be up hopefully after Christmas.

Oh and then I bought supplies to make another coat, the long lusted after Burdastyle 12/2012 #104. I have fallen for his coat when it first came out but never had the confidence to try it. But if I can make a suit and shirts sweat shop style surely I can make a coat like this?! Please say yes…

Tagged: , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Fashion Style/Knipmode 9/2015: Raglan Bluse x 2

  1. Thimberlina November 30, 2015 at 12:02 am Reply

    wow! You’ve been so busy! Have you taken early retirement, lol! I thought I’d don’t well making one shirt for me. I would never have guessed you’d made those jeans, they look so RTW! I’ve had the Ginger PDF printed off for a while. I ended up doing a repair job on my current jeans instead of making a start on them. So much on my to do list (in my head!) it’s driving me crazy! ;-0

    • Chris November 30, 2015 at 11:36 am Reply

      You’ve got the Ginger too? Well, I almost think this is calling for another collaboration! What do you think? Denim December might be a bit ambitious (given that I have gazillions of button holes to do), but how about Jeans January, as a compliment to Jungle January?

      • Thimberlina December 4, 2015 at 6:45 pm

        Jeans In January? It’s certainly got a ring to it! And it might be the kick up the but I need to get me going. I’ve also got the Styl Arc pull on jeans pattern that would qualify too! …also not made yet 😦

      • Chris December 6, 2015 at 1:48 am

        Well, then we have a plan! There seem to be quite a few people who would welcome some extra jeans sewing motivation, so Jeans January it is!

      • Thimberlina December 10, 2015 at 12:44 am

        Brilliant! Can’t wait!! Fabric bought 😃

      • Chris December 7, 2015 at 8:54 am
      • Thimberlina December 7, 2015 at 9:34 am

        Yay!! The kick up the butt I needed! I bought some fabric on Saturday, a dark blue stretch woven with a pattern on, looks a bit like wallpaper!! Only kidding, think I’m going to make Styl Arcs Misty Jeans first 😀

  2. navybluethreads November 30, 2015 at 12:06 am Reply

    I think these tops look great on you Chris. And a whole new wardrobe of shirts and a suit (wow!) for your children, super impressed but don’t blame you on the button holes, they still make me v v nervous…

    • Chris November 30, 2015 at 11:38 am Reply

      Yes, button holes. I do envy those New Yorkers who seemingly just hop down the block and pay someone to have them done. I would totally do that too, if there was a button holey kinda place around where I live.

      • navybluethreads December 4, 2015 at 11:50 am

        Need one in Manchester to 🙂

  3. craftycreeky November 30, 2015 at 12:16 pm Reply

    Those jeans look amazing, I keep promising myself the ginger pattern, but not quite got round to it yet 🙂

  4. ellegeemakes November 30, 2015 at 7:57 pm Reply

    I like your tops, but your jeans are the show stopper for me. Ginger jeans are on my to do list, but have been for a while. Other projects keep getting in the way!! Honestly, you are so prolific…I’m in awe of your ‘completed projects’ list.

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 1, 2015 at 7:40 pm Reply

    Love your blue print fabric! Nice job on the tops. Great job on the jeans. I want to make another pair, a black pair, but the “sewing to do” list is big!

  6. delightfullypeculiar December 1, 2015 at 10:14 pm Reply

    I actually like the white one a lot, there’s something very liberating about it, if it makes sense. The other one of course is gorgeous, great print and colours! Are we going to see the suit? Also Jeans January, I’m in, if we extend it to denim 😉

  7. Tia Dia December 3, 2015 at 4:07 am Reply

    Love that second blouse iteration. I have to say, I haven’t given the oversized shirt/blouse trend a go. I’m afraid I’ll look like a ship in full sail. I just finished making up my 3rd pair of Jalie 2908 jeans. I am so in love with that pattern, and I hate my ice-cream cone skinny jeans look, so I will watch from the sidelines and cheer ferociously until I am hoarse if you do have a Ginger sewalong. These jeans look good, btw. I was impressed with the fit when you were talking about the shirts.

    • Chris December 7, 2015 at 8:57 am Reply

      Those Jalies would definitly be a worthy addition to Jeans in January. That pattern is on my list to – I made on pair, too small from the start so I only wore them once, but January will be the month when I manage to do a properly fitting pair.

  8. […] the Ginger jeans sewing pattern but hadn’t got round to making it yet.  If I interpreted the comment section of the relevant blog post correctly, we aren’t the only ones. So maybe it is time to pull out all the stops and start making […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

