Fashion Style/Knipmode 9/2015: It’s a Wrap!

Some of you might know that Dutch sewing magazine Knipmode have started publishing a German edition this year, which they call Fashion Style. While I can just about work out sewing Dutch, using their patterns with German instructions is of course a lot easier, so I bought a few of their magazines in recent months.
My impression is that they specialize in simpler designs that are wardrobe builders you can wear everyday. I haven’t seen any of the more experimental things Burdastyle sometimes have, but their patterns aren’t quite as obviously utilitarian/art teachery as Ottobre – all in all there is a lot to like, in my opinion.

A case in point is this wrap dress from their September edition.

IMG_2609

“I can’t see the dress for the background” I hear you say. You are right, of course, but I’m standing here on the drawbridge of Ingolstadt castle, one of the most historic buildings in Upper Bavaria. So there, now you know.

History lesson over, let’s look at the dress:

IMG_2611

One might be forgiven for thinking that this is just a standard wrap dress. Well, let me tell you it isn’t, at least not for me: it is the first wrap dress in the history of mankind (or at least Chris-kind) that stays put all day! I didn’t have to adjust the dress once, didn’t expose myself in any way I didn’t want, I can’t tell you how pleasing this is! Take the other wrap dress I made this year as a contrasting example:

IMG_0855

I love the look of this – but I have only worn it twice since I made it in the spring and it is now in my refashion pile because it just gapes and gapes, not matter how tightly I wrap it. So after I have moved once I have to adjust it unless I want everyone to be able to discuss my choice of underwear and that constant fiddling annoys me no end.

IMG_2610

I didn’t have enough fabric to make the wider skirt of the original pattern, so I simply added the skirt from the Burda dress above. In the more drapey rayon knit it looks very different, don’t you think?

IMG_2613

Many wrap dresses work better on the more well-endowed, because they need something to keep the bodice held taut. Not this one! No wardrobe malfuntion all day, even though I was wearing a slippery slip underneath.

What would a sewing post be without the science bit? So have a look at the insides of the dress:

IMG_2689

I really like the way this pattern deals with the problem of attaching facings to the wrap fronts: It doesn’t have any. Rather the wrap fronts fold over on themselves so that the entire center front is doubled and then attached the the side front. In this way there are no problems with finding the right tension for attaching facings and also all seams on the front are nicely enclosed.
You can also see that the shoulders are quite wide. I cut a size 40, according to my measurements (which would be a size 42 in Burda, fyi), but I feel I should have gone down one more size on this. Next time I make this I might cut the pattern witout seam allowances, effectively taking it in by a size or two. Please note, however, that my dress from is suffering from an anorexia problem at the moment (in fact it’s threwn up all the screws that keep the waist setting in place, thus resetting her to the smallest setting) – so waist-wise, those are not my measurements and the dress is not sewn to be as small as that.

IMG_2690

The centre front continues to the back to form a little shawl collar. Again, this helps to make the front give more coverage than on most wrap dresses and for me, that makes it so much more wearable.

And finally a rare glimpse of Child 3, who has never been fully behind my “no child photography on the internet” policy. Will there ever be a point in life when pebbles do not magically jump into shoes?

IMG_2612

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

17 thoughts on “Fashion Style/Knipmode 9/2015: It’s a Wrap!

  1. sewbusylizzy November 16, 2015 at 12:50 pm Reply

    Lovely dress, knit wrap dresses are just magic.

  2. Tia Dia November 16, 2015 at 3:34 pm Reply

    Just lovely! Wrap dresses are so simple and so chic. Your fabric is perfect, too. And gotta love the lack of gaping along the neckline!

  3. ellegeemakes November 16, 2015 at 6:49 pm Reply

    Great dress! I’ve struggled myself with the fitting issues you describe. The double layer of fabric in the front sounds like just the ticket. Your photos are great….

  4. fabricfan November 16, 2015 at 10:33 pm Reply

    Glad the neckline stays put. Looks great on you! Rosemary

  5. SewingElle November 16, 2015 at 11:16 pm Reply

    Its lovely. And thanks for the technical details. Gotta say I love all the technical stuff almost as much as your lovely photos with great backdrops and pebble-in-shoe removal techniques.

    • Chris November 17, 2015 at 4:54 pm Reply

      Thank you! You are officially the first person to confess a liking for my pictures 🙂

  6. craftycreeky November 17, 2015 at 12:41 am Reply

    Lovely dress, looks great!

  7. Thimberlina November 17, 2015 at 10:53 am Reply

    Looks fab on you – the style, the for and the fabric choice are just perfect! It’s really flattering. I imagine we’ll be seeing a few more of these on your blog 😀

    • Chris November 17, 2015 at 4:53 pm Reply

      haha, how well you understand the workings of my sewing brain 🙂

  8. navybluethreads November 17, 2015 at 7:49 pm Reply

    You’ve been on a roll lately Chris! Really like this on you, and much prefer the less-full skirt. A super-flattering design on you and very elegant (and clearly practical too).

    • Chris November 18, 2015 at 11:18 pm Reply

      Thank you Teresa! Do you know that I have started to make a suit for Child 2? The things you do!!!

      • navybluethreads November 20, 2015 at 10:18 am

        A suit? Goodness, I’d be making it XXL so that it lasted a good few years! 😉

  9. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 18, 2015 at 3:47 am Reply

    Ah! Children. Always trying hard to do what they haven’t been asked to do! I love your fabric. You do such a nice job on the wrap dresses. Impressive!

  10. […] used my tried and true Knipmode wrap dress pattern. What I like about it is that there really is no option for any wardrobe malfunctions. The skirt […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

