Burdastyle 6/2015 #121: Rouched Dress Take 2: Print Madness

When I showed my new favourite dress recently I also announced that I had made a second version in a crazy panel print. I had not actually worn the dress at the time!
Well, if you’re looking for print craziness, I’m sure this doesn’t disappoint:

IMG_2621It’s the same pattern as for the British racing green dress, but in a panel print. Looking at it with the benefit of hindsight, the white section looks quite unfortunate, I think. But I could not have cut the dress any other way with the fabric I had, so if I were to start again I would not use this fabric for a dress again.

IMG_2624

There was some discussion about the tummy camouflaging properites of rouching and whether a print will hide more than a solid. Well, judging from this dress and the solid green version I don’t think there is much of a difference. I guess I will either have to stop wearing snap-to-fit clothing or get over my tummy-phobia!

IMG_2627Here’s me crossing the road – because I can!

IMG_2630

And here again me with my white bum… The more I look at it the more I am convinced this will not do. I guess I’ll just cut it off and use it as a top – do you think that’s a good idea?

And while I ponder the the dangers of print placement I ‘ll leave you with my “To be or not to be” moment if this Halloween

IMG_2634

PS: The tombstone reads “They wanted a treat, but what they got was a trick” – it’s our take on reverse psychology on Halloween 😉

Tagged: , ,

11 thoughts on “Burdastyle 6/2015 #121: Rouched Dress Take 2: Print Madness

  1. Summerflies November 9, 2015 at 11:58 am Reply

    I like the style of your dress. I think it looks really nice (as did the racing green one too). I do think the white is not in the ideal spot but really it would have been difficult any way you’d done it. I think it will look great as a top.

  2. tigerlounge2000 November 9, 2015 at 1:38 pm Reply

    I agree – the white stripe is just a big odd. IT will work well as a top though.

  3. linda November 9, 2015 at 3:02 pm Reply

    How about over dyeing it? Pick a colour similar to the rest of the dress and you might camouflage the white area. It’s a really nice dress!

    • Chris November 9, 2015 at 6:45 pm Reply

      Linda, what a great tip! I would never have thought of this, but of course that is the thing to do! I’m not sure of the fabric composition, so not sure how well it will take dye, but I will experiment with scraps.

  4. Tia Dia November 9, 2015 at 6:40 pm Reply

    I love your fabric, and I, too always struggle with appropriate pattern placement – it’s just so hard!! I think the top idea is great, and you would still have something to show off this gorgeous fabric.

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 10, 2015 at 7:19 am Reply

    I think the pattern is great! Very unique! I like your fabric too but there is no way I would add a white strip on MY butt! It would be frightening! I think a tunic top even would be better, saving some of the white stripe for the hem line. Looking forward to seeing your “save”!

  6. Thimberlina November 12, 2015 at 1:35 am Reply

    Love the print, but I’m not sure either about the white stripe. Could you chop it off, turn it upside down and stitch it back on?

    • Chris November 12, 2015 at 6:40 pm Reply

      I might experiment with a scrap, but because the new seam would be placed at the strategically worst location I wonder if it might pop when I bend… And then having my bum hanging out would be even more inappropriate than the white stripe…

      • Thimberlina November 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

        Lol, you’ve a vivid imagination!! 😂

  7. […] my top 5 wins AND fails contain the same pattern. This British Racing green dress is a win, the Does my bum look big in this -dress a fail, both using the same pattern.  Live and […]

  8. […] It marinated in my stash for a little while as I wasn’t really sure how to show off the print to its best effect and also I was scared of another print placement fail. […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

