Burdastyle 2/2014 #101: Twee Tea Dress

To be honest, I don’t even drink a lot of tea! But then again, have you ever heard of a Coffee Dress? No, me neither, so a Tea Dress it is:

IMG_2602

 

I used the bodice of Burdastyle 2/2014 #101.

101_0214_b_large

Really, I had wanted to duplicate my Siena dress and use the BHL Elisalex bodice. But I could not get the sleeves to work. When I put them on my Elisalex muslin from back in the spring the whole thing just looked way off, so much so that I did not know where to start fixing it. So instead I used the Burda pattern that I knew would fit. Not because I have a dress using it – I have a wadder using it. But what made it a wadder was the skirt that I cut wrongly, so that dress had been hiding in my stash for more than a year. All tears have been cried, the wadder is all taken apart now, the fabric’s been cut for something else and the pattern has materialised in this tea dress again.

IMG_2604

I’m in two minds about this. I have already worn this dress a few times and I love wearing it. It is really easy to wear, not restrictive in any way, it’s made from a medium weight ponte, so it really is like secret pajamas. It also doesn’t need ironing, so what’s not to like?!

IMG_2596On the other hand I’m not sure it’s not all a bit too twee. Burda US market this pattern as “softly charming” and “demure”. I’m sure it’s all that, I’m just not sure that anyone would describe me as softly charming… Maybe it’s the half circle skirt in that just below the knee length? Or the rather Catholic purple?

IMG_2594This is where I search for the answer to all these questions – I’m sorry to say I haven’t found it down the water wheel.

All in all I’m still happy with this project. I envisaged this dress exactly when I bought the fabric, so it’s not a case of my vsion not becoming reality. I just thought I might look a bit more stylish in it. But I love the colour of the ponte so I think it’ll see me through autumn, even if it might not be the pinnacle of fashion.

Tagged: , ,

13 thoughts on “Burdastyle 2/2014 #101: Twee Tea Dress

  1. Thimberlina November 3, 2015 at 12:31 am Reply

    I’m liking it, and it suits you, but I don’t know you in real life so you could be softly charming! I’m wondering are your belt and boots grey? They look it in the pics. I’m wondering if black might look more striking against the purple? 😀

    • Chris November 3, 2015 at 12:46 am Reply

      Hahaha Ali, yeah, I could be softly charming in theory – but we both know I’m not…
      Yes,boots and belt are grey. Maybe I’ll try black next for a bit more edginess.

  2. Rory Franklin November 3, 2015 at 1:42 am Reply

    For the street test (don’t worry this is a clean comment) — If I saw you walking down the street I would thnk, “Oh, how pretty!” I’m not getting the twee vibe at all. So, maybe it’s not your usual look, but I like it. I also agree that if you want a little bit edgier, black would look great.

  3. kaitlynssimplyvintage November 3, 2015 at 2:34 am Reply

    Definitely not twee. Love the colour. Chunky boots and a chunky scarf/necklace would work well. Also, if there is a coffee dress, I would be all for that!

  4. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 3, 2015 at 7:06 am Reply

    I like it. I am looking for a good knit dress pattern for myself. The list is long but I haven’t chosen anything yet. Maybe this? I love your fabric and you’ve got yourself a pretty dress there!

    • Chris November 3, 2015 at 11:07 pm Reply

      The pattern worked really well in a ponte that is not all that stetchy, but it’s worth bearing in mind, that the pattern is not set out for knits. However, I did nothing to adapt it from woven to knit other than leaving out the cb zip

  5. Bonnie November 3, 2015 at 1:01 pm Reply

    Love your dress! You look lovely & the fit is perfect. Looks so comfy, I like your “secret pajamas” quote! Great job! Bonnie @ sewplus.blogspot.com

  6. ellecsews November 3, 2015 at 3:35 pm Reply

    Lovely dress and definitely not twee.

    Do you remember the Selfish Seamstress? She drafted a pattern that she named The Coffee Date dress. Page down to see it.

    https://selfishseamstress.wordpress.com/downloads/

    • Chris November 3, 2015 at 11:09 pm Reply

      Thanks for the link! That coffee dress looks delicious too!

  7. navybluethreads November 3, 2015 at 6:59 pm Reply

    I’m absolutely loving this, not at all twee (though I guess you could shorten the length to get away from this if you really wanted to). Very elegant and a lovely colour. And if it even feels like wearing secret pjs, then what could be better?

  8. Paola November 3, 2015 at 10:12 pm Reply

    Not twee at all, and love it with the grey accessories.

  9. Miranda November 7, 2015 at 3:30 am Reply

    Not twee at all! Also, I love the fact that you called it “secret pajamas.” That right there should trump any and all concerns about it being twee. Who cares about being twee when you’re that comfortable?!

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

