Burdastyle 6/2015 121# : British Racing Green Dress – Second Time Lucky

Well, most people might call this colour Forest Green – but I call it British Racing Green which (in my world view) makes it sound a lot more stylish!

IMG_2479

 

I used Burdastyle 6/2015 #121 – a pattern that I knew I wanted to make up from the moment I saw it on the preview.

It is gathered both in front and back and only the gathers make the strangely shaped pattern pieces assume the form of a dress.

IMG_2487Somehow this dress feels very me. It’s unfussy and fitted, but the gathers in front detract a little bit from the tummy roll that so annoys me in fitted dressses.

IMG_2482Obviously it’s not exactly shapewear, but it’s good enough for me to wear the dress without feeling too self-conscious.

IMG_2485

Burda necklines are know for their wanton plunginess, but for once, this time I didn’t think it is too bad. However, when I first made the dress, this happened:

IMG_2402The neckline is finished with a facing that is so narrow that it keeps popping out. Not acceptable, I’m sure you’ll agree. So I unpicked the whole facing, sending a lot of unkind thoughts towards the gods of Burda pattern making (in fact some inappropriate words might have been heard…) and made a new, wider facing:

IMG_2508The blue piece on the left is the new facing, the red one on the right the original pattern piece (without seam allowance.

IMG_2507Here you can see how much wider the new facing is. This worked a treat, the new facing looks  a lot more comfortable:

IMG_2509It’s wide enough now not to flip out and doesn’t need any fiddling and adjusting.

IMG_2485

So overall I’m really pleased with the dress and have worn it several times since these pictures were taken about six weeks ago. So much so that I already made a second version, this time in a crazy panel print!

Tagged: , ,

20 thoughts on “Burdastyle 6/2015 121# : British Racing Green Dress – Second Time Lucky

  1. Nakisha October 31, 2015 at 5:41 am Reply

    You look AMAZING!!!!

    • Chris October 31, 2015 at 1:00 pm Reply

      Thank you! I see from your blog that you are into that colour as well – it’s such a versatile colour, isn’t it?

  2. fabricfan October 31, 2015 at 6:35 am Reply

    Great style and colour.

  3. Marianne October 31, 2015 at 10:50 am Reply

    Love it!! Stunning colour and great facing solution!

    • Chris October 31, 2015 at 12:58 pm Reply

      Thank you! I could happily live in this colour (and seeing that I bought 8 metres of this fabric in a sale I might well have to 😉 )

  4. Mia October 31, 2015 at 11:27 am Reply

    WOW! I am deeply impressed by the this wonderful creation – full 10 points from me.

    • Chris October 31, 2015 at 12:57 pm Reply

      Thank you Mia (and thanks for not mentioning the less than desirable underwear situation ;-))

      • Mia October 31, 2015 at 3:10 pm

        Haha, Chris 😀 Have seen worse and all attention goes here to that nice dress!

  5. Tia Dia October 31, 2015 at 7:44 pm Reply

    WIN on the new facing. Sometimes the Burda pattern people don’t think things through, imho. I love the colour of this, and I’ve always wanted to sew this pattern, too! But I’d need industrial strength shapewear and a patterned fabric before I’d be brave enough to wear it. In an aside, I agree with you on the CF gathers providing some camouflage. Although there are people who really hate them, I’m in the love ’em camp!

    • Chris October 31, 2015 at 8:02 pm Reply

      I finished the patterned version No 2 yesterday. If I get a chance I’ll make and post some pictures so you can judge for yourself whether pattern beats solid in the camouflage department.

  6. Thimberlina November 1, 2015 at 11:07 am Reply

    Love it! The style really suits your, and well done for unpicking and fixing the neckline. I bet it would look good with a contrast facing too. 😀

  7. navybluethreads November 1, 2015 at 8:59 pm Reply

    Looking fab! I love this colour and the style is great on you. And a little gentle rushing is so much better than those huge, support pants. I’ve only tried them once and it just squished it all into a really unnatural position…

  8. Hege November 2, 2015 at 10:25 am Reply

    Very pretty dress. Looks awesome on you. Gonna sew this one too:-)

  9. SewingElle November 2, 2015 at 11:55 am Reply

    Love it! I loved this pattern too when the magazine came out. I am yet to get around to sewing it…

    • Chris November 2, 2015 at 11:38 pm Reply

      It’s quite a fast sew, so when you get round to it, you’ll have something new to wear really soon!

  10. DoctorTDesigns November 2, 2015 at 6:01 pm Reply

    I love your dress! Perfect combination of color, fit, and style. You look great!

    • Chris November 2, 2015 at 11:38 pm Reply

      Thanks you so much! 🙂

  11. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! November 3, 2015 at 3:49 am Reply

    Ya your facing is a lot better than their sloppy one. Love the colour and the style is very flattering!

  12. […] the same pattern as for the British racing green dress, but in a panel print. Looking at it with the benefit of hindsight, the white section looks quite […]

  13. […] are the vagaries of sewing that both my top 5 wins AND fails contain the same pattern. This British Racing green dress is a win, the Does my bum look big in this -dress a fail, both using the same pattern.  Live and […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

