Selfless Sewing: Boy’s Shirt – As it happend

Unbeknown to each other, Tereasa from Navybluethreads and myself have found ourselves in the same place in life again: frantically making shirts for our sons, who have discovered that mum has neglegted them sewingwise for far too long. Teresa is going down the print road with her son’s shirt while over here Child 2 asked for a white shirt. Really he wants a suit, shirt and tie, but I just found that a bit too neo-con for a twelve-year old (remember there are no school uniforms here, so normally, a boy only gets his first suit for dancing lessons, if that), so I made him a navy pseudo-suit type jacket from sweat shirt fabric (unblogged) and now a white shirt.

I spent a couple of hours tonight and so far things are looking rather well:

20151019_224020

I cut corners by not interfacing the button band and that shows through a bit, but I suppose once the band is closed it’s gonna be fine – I hope at least…

20151019_224048I used a Burda boys pattern in a size 156, but Child 2 has grown since I first made the patterns and is now more like a size 164, outside the Burda kids size range, but not inside the men’s range. So I just lengthened the pattern and put in a little pleat at the back to get some extra room.

The sleeve placket turned out really well:

20151019_224418I made them in about 20 minutes at the end of a long day spent sniffling with a head cold and not really on top of things – I sometimes think this is the best way of not overthinking scary sewing stuff. These are the best plackets I ever made, that’s for sure.
Clearly, my iron has issues and spouted water everywhere – I think we might have to part ways soon.
Originally I wanted to make a tower placket, but even after watching a couple of tutorials I couldn’t get my head around them, so they are left for another day with more brain power.

So I think a couple of hours well spent and a long way towards Child 2 actually getting something with long sleeves on him. He said we could also go and buy some shirts, but of course they wouldn’t be as good quality as if mom made them. Well, what can i say?! He knows how to play me…

 

In other sewing news I went to the fabric market on Saturday:

20151017_155255All of those fabrics have already been turned into pajamas for Child 3 – I seem to be on a selfless sewing run.

leo

Tagged: , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Selfless Sewing: Boy’s Shirt – As it happend

  1. ellegeemakes October 20, 2015 at 6:05 am Reply

    Gorgeous plackets, in spite of not feeling well…you are definitely on a roll here. Your family is lucky.

  2. Thimberlina October 20, 2015 at 9:55 am Reply

    The shirts coming on nicely, and the Jim jams looks so comfy. Lucky boys in your house! Mine are still being neglected, tho I did show H the gilet from this month’s seamwork mag. He said he’d prefer adidas or Nike. Charming! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    • Chris October 20, 2015 at 2:23 pm Reply

      I think we might have spoiled our boys a bit too much ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 21, 2015 at 6:26 am Reply

    Lucky boys! I could only sew for my kids when they were young. Now they prefer to choose their own brands. Sorry you were ill. It appears there are a few bugs going around!

    • Chris October 21, 2015 at 10:03 am Reply

      My daugher is the same, she isn’t really keen on me sewing for her. But the boys are amenable so far ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Tia Dia October 21, 2015 at 3:09 pm Reply

    Hmmmm….. I’m into a long haul of selfless sewing for the next month or so what with 3 costumes to make and a little mini-wardrobe for DD2, who is sadly lacking anything other than jeans and tees. And my DH keeps hinting around for shirts…. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Chris October 21, 2015 at 8:59 pm Reply

      I think it’s the fact that you do selfless sewing so superbly that keeps you away from selfish sewing. Maybe if you made more mistakes? Or chose worse fabrics? Or complained more? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      But with your new serger you are gonna speed through all this in no time ๐Ÿ™‚ !

  5. navybluethreads October 22, 2015 at 5:38 pm Reply

    Oh, well done! I didn’t interface my button band either so hoping my turns out ok. Pjs looking good too, hope your boy’s forgiven you now ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. sewingbeefabric October 27, 2015 at 10:16 am Reply

    I love the raglan sleeves on your pyjamas. They look great

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nรคhen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

