Burdastyle 11/2011 # 111: Glittery Parka

IMG_2432

I might look a little doubtful in this picture, but I actually really like my new(ish –  it was made in July) parka!

It’s based on Burdastyle 11/2011 #111, the same pattern that I made my duffle coat from. No hand-quilted lining crazyness this time, the parka (apart from the hood) is unlined, so I french-seamed all the inside seams.

IMG_2434

I made the hood quite a bit smaller than in the pattern, but as you can see it’s still quite big. I also made the back hem dip down a little bit. The whole parka has a tunnle around the bottom hem that holds a cord.

IMG_2424I put in a zipper and  poppers to overlap the zipper. I like the variety of closing optings this gives plus I like the look of it.

IMG_2436The hood is fully put-upable and will keep off a little rain, something that came in pretty useful when I first wore the parka on a recent London trip.

I put two generous patch pockets on, however, the chest pocket flaps are just for decoration, there are no pockets underneath them. I figured that I wouldn’t put any contents in there anyway, so decided to leave off the pockets.

All the hardware is really really shiny gold which goes well with slightly glittery material (I’m talking Twilight vampire shiny here) and with my recent theme of bling. So all in all I’m really happy with parka, my first one for many, many years.

Now both Child 2 and 3 want one of their own, so I better hurry up!

Tagged: , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burdastyle 11/2011 # 111: Glittery Parka

  1. ellegeemakes October 11, 2015 at 4:05 am Reply

    I love your jacket! I’ve been considering a similar project, but haven’t found the right fabric yet . i’m looking for a water repellant, breathable fabric that looks stylish as does yours. Not so easy to find. Love your jacket.

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! October 11, 2015 at 7:55 am Reply

    Lovely jacket! It has all the authentic touches!

  3. SewingElle October 11, 2015 at 12:25 pm Reply

    A glamorous sparkly parka. Love it!

  4. SewSouthLondon October 11, 2015 at 12:41 pm Reply

    It’s a winner, especially when worn with glamorous sandals!

    • Chris October 12, 2015 at 8:48 pm Reply

      Not that I wear those now – it’s far too cold by now and well into boots territory, unfortunately.

  5. Helena@grayallday October 11, 2015 at 10:31 pm Reply

    Wow! That looks so well made and detailed! That is fun to add blingy hardware and make it special. Really impressive all around.

    • Chris October 12, 2015 at 8:47 pm Reply

      Well thank you! Yes, I’m quite the fan of sewing hardware now.

  6. notsewsimple October 12, 2015 at 1:21 am Reply

    Love your parka, all the details are spot on – perfect for this kind of not cold but frequently damp kind of weather we are having!

  7. Thimberlina October 12, 2015 at 8:35 am Reply

    Amazing! Love all your gold hardware, looks so not handmade and really expensive. 😀

    • Chris October 12, 2015 at 8:46 pm Reply

      And hammering those poppers was therapeutic as well. The rest of my family was quite worried at my screams of joy 😉

  8. Tia Dia October 12, 2015 at 5:46 pm Reply

    This looks great! And sparkly… woo hoo!

  9. navybluethreads October 12, 2015 at 11:16 pm Reply

    Wow Chris, that’s a very impressive make! Looks highly complicated with some great details. Really suits you well 🙂

    • Chris October 13, 2015 at 10:27 pm Reply

      Thank you! Good to hear that it looks a lot more complicated than it actually was 🙂

  10. […] to each other, Tereasa from Navybluethreads and myself have found ourselves in the same place in life again: frantically making shirts for our […]

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

