Burda Easy Style A/W 2014: Leather and Sparkle

IMG_2405

Well, there you go: I sewed with leather for the first time! It’s only leather accents, admittedly, but I was quite excited about the whole concept of little Chris actually sewing with leather (like – LEATHER!!) .

This biker jacket was a loooong time in the making, in fact it was staring at me accusingly 75% finished for about a year. As is so often the case, finishing only took a few hours and afterwards I didn’t even remember why I hadn’t finished it months ago.

IMG_2415

This is the biker jacket from the Autumn/Winter Edition of Burda Easy Style 2013 or Spring/Summer 14 (I don’t quite remember and don’t seem to be able to find it online right now). Or rather, it isn’t quite: The original pattern doesn’t feature the collar, but I decided that my head somehow is too big for collarless jackets with a rather high neckline. It sort of makes my head balloon out from the jacket, if you know what I mean, so I decided to add a collar to frame my head.

IMG_2403

IMG_2412The fabric is a boucle – type fabric in all shades of blue and was the most expensive fabric I had over bought until the Siena dress came along. And it glitters! For real, I had never ever EVER even thought about glitter or sequins or any of the fancy effects that I always thought were not me at all. But in my old age I fell myself drawn towards fabric that “only teenagers should wear”, as Child 1 so thoughfully put it. Well, what can I say…

IMG_2417

I fell in love with those elbow patches!

IMG_2406

I just want to walk sideways all the time, just to show those elbow patches!

I’m pleased with the fit (a straight Burda size 40, my usual size) although the sleeve head looks a bit funny in this picture.

IMG_2407

Maybe that’s because the fabric is a little stiff: I block interfaced the whole fabric even before cutting (I had boucle fall apart on me before and decided I would interface this one into submission!), so maybe that’s what causes the slight bunching. I guess I will have to do without the “Lift me up and carry me away” pose in this picture.

It took me forever to decide on how to cover the zipper band. According to the instructions it is just sewn on top of the jacket on the one side, but come on, I’m not gonna sew a semi-exposed zipper on glittery boucle! I think  my solution to cover it with strip off fabric works quite well. It’s covered with a strip of leather on the other side.

 

IMG_2472Also, remark those elbow patches! 😉

As I mentioned this project has been in the making for quite some time, I seem to remember I bought the fabric in March 2014. I did notice that my tastes have changed somewhat in the past 18 months, because I find the lining quite boring now.

IMG_2473

If I were to start over again I would chose a flashier lining, something “fun”. Maybe that’s all to do with the sudden liking for glittery fabric. Child 1 would have a word or two to say about this. It’s as well she’s spending a year abroad and won’t find out about my wanton ways!

I still haven’t had the courage to add the metal snaps to the waist band. Firstly, I can’t find metal snaps the exact same colour as the zip (I bought gold ones, but now I don’t like the look of them) and also: snaps in leather??? Scary stuff! So scary that I have worn this jacket with a floppy flappy waistband for weeks now.

I did get to use the golden snaps on a parka (grey with gold glitter 🙂 ) but that is a post for another day, so I leave you on this cliff hanger!

 

Tagged: , , ,

14 thoughts on “Burda Easy Style A/W 2014: Leather and Sparkle

  1. sewbusylizzy September 20, 2015 at 11:23 pm Reply

    Great jacket – and I say indulge your love of sparkles!!

    • Chris September 21, 2015 at 11:27 am Reply

      Thank you! Yeah, it’s sparkles all the way for the moment!

  2. SewingElle September 20, 2015 at 11:26 pm Reply

    Love it. All you had to do was add silk chiffon somewhere to this project and you would have had all the difficult fabrics to deal with in one!

    • Chris September 21, 2015 at 11:29 am Reply

      oh, what a shame I did not think of that! That would have been fun to have a triple of difficult fabrics” jacket. Though I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the leather and its sewability.

  3. Andrea September 20, 2015 at 11:58 pm Reply

    Who said you can’t wear a bit of bling. I think this is the perfect amount for a non teenager. Your jacket is gorgeous and you should be proud of it! Besides you have toned it down with black pants.

  4. Nakisha September 21, 2015 at 2:54 am Reply

    Gosh it’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!

    • Chris September 21, 2015 at 11:30 am Reply

      You are too kind, Nakisha!

  5. Tia Dia September 21, 2015 at 5:48 pm Reply

    Beautiful colour. And glitter with leather NEVER goes out of style, regardless of teenagers’ opinions. Just a gorgeous jacket.

    • Chris September 21, 2015 at 8:26 pm Reply

      Thank you! I will let Child 1 know to teach her the error of her ways! 🙂

  6. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! September 22, 2015 at 3:51 am Reply

    You picked a fabulous fabric! Nice job! Leather elbow patches and all!

  7. navybluethreads September 22, 2015 at 11:23 pm Reply

    Love your fabric choices. I have a couple of jackets with a slight sparkle in the weave that I wear loads so sure you’ll get your head round it. Great solution on the zip, goes perfectly with the rest of the design 🙂

  8. ellegeemakes September 23, 2015 at 2:20 am Reply

    That’s one perfect jacket. I love the elbow patches and the leather accents. You’ll wear this one a lot, I’m guessing. The color is great too.

  9. Paola October 6, 2015 at 10:30 pm Reply

    Hello Chris!

    My name is Paola Bugs and I´m a Fashion Design student from Paraguay. I was looking for some jumpsuits patterns and found your blog! The Burda Style 5/2010 #119 jumpsuit you made is awesome and it looks super comfy! Looking through my patterns collection I realized I have that issue but I can´t find the magazine with the instructions, just the patterns sheet 😦 I was wondering if maybe you could help me with that 🙂 I´ve send you an email to craftychris@gmx.com

    XO,
    Paola.

  10. […] goes well with slightly glittery material (I’m talking Twilight vampire shiny here) and with my recent theme of bling. So all in all I’m really happy with parka, my first one for many, many […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

