Burdastyle 11/2012 # 107: End of Summer Trousers

At the end of July I spent a week in London – touring with 20 students, so I didn’t get a huge amount of time to  follow sewing pursuits. But I did get a change to visit both Goldhawk Street and Walthamstow Market and TMOS (Karen will be able to tell you all you need to know about him).

After I’d been to TMOS first there wasn’t much that exists in the world of fabrics that I had not bought yet, so I only bought one fabric in Goldhawk road, which told me it wanted to be made into a pair of late summer trousers..

IMG_2453

They are, of course, completely OTT, but isn’t it the most fun fabric all the same? Unfortunately its quality is not very good: it grows considerably during wear and although I have worn those trousers only twice it has already started pilling a little bit where the legs rub together. So they might well be the trouser of only one summer…. We’ll see! That’s what you get for buying cheap fabric, I suppose.

IMG_2454

I used my usual trouser pattern, Burdastyle 11/2012 #107. I made the pattern so many times, but this time I decided to try a side zip rather than the front fly. I thought this would be a quicker make and more flattering to the tummy. The later may be true, the former certainly wasn’t as the zip broke after the first wash and I had to replace it. That’s what you get for buying cheap zippers of some guy off ebay… Lesson learned, I only buy the expensive OPTI zips (one for the price of four off ebay) now, after three of the crappy zips broke on me in a row.

IMG_2450

IMG_2451

Let’s not talk about my need for a racerback bra – I only included these pictures to show how those trouser fit.

IMG_2465

The sweater is one I knitted about five years ago and probably only wore once or twice until I forget about it. I recently did a bit of a wardrobe purge and came across it again. During the purge I tried to follow the Mari Kondo mantra of “Only keep what sparks joy!”

I found joy a bit of a strong word for the purposes of tidying. I get joy from my family, from nature, from a sunset at the beach, an evening with my friends, I don’t really associate joy with clothes (although there are very clear exceptions, as the Siena dress proves.) 🙂

But of course I get the point behind the Kondo approach: get rid of stuff you don’t like, that doesn’t make you feel good. A few things in my wardrobe fell prey to that, but with a few others I really didn’t know. One example is this sweater, so I decided to wear it a few times in order to decide whether to keep or chuck it.

To be honest I still don’t know.

IMG_2457

Let me leave you with a little flower and a look at the state of my nail varnish testing:

IMG_2458And a question: Should this sweater continue to have a home in my wardrobe or should it move on to a better place?

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Burdastyle 11/2012 # 107: End of Summer Trousers

  1. jennystitched September 13, 2015 at 12:14 am Reply

    They look great! Great print

  2. SewingElle September 13, 2015 at 4:41 am Reply

    Keep the sweater. It looks good with the OTT trousers and sort of tones then done a bit with its muddy olive green colour ( can you tell I’m not a fun of this colour?!). The trousers are fabulous.

  3. Paola September 13, 2015 at 8:48 am Reply

    I vote keep the sweater – it looks good, especially with these trousers.

  4. delightfullypeculiar September 13, 2015 at 2:08 pm Reply

    I really like the print and the fit of the trousers, shame the quality isn’t as good. I also curse cheap fabrics and zippers often, haha. Definitely keep the sweater. It’s perfect putting on top of a t-shirt or a vest, I also like the colour.

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! September 14, 2015 at 7:26 am Reply

    I think the sweater looks summery with your trousers. Keep it!

  6. SewSouthLondon September 14, 2015 at 3:00 pm Reply

    Keep the sweater – it’s lovely!

  7. Thimberlina September 14, 2015 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Love the pants, and the jumper so both are keepers from me. 😀

  8. Mia September 15, 2015 at 4:25 pm Reply

    A clear vote for keeping the sweater because of the great match with the trousers! 🙂

  9. navybluethreads September 17, 2015 at 1:20 pm Reply

    Not OTT at all, you totally make these work. Sometimes a piece of clothing just needs a partner, these two look great together 🙂 How’s the fast going? I’ve been so busy it’s been pretty easy so far…

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

