Burdastyle 7/2015 #123: One Last Jumpsuit. Promised! #jumpingintojune

IMG_1800

oh dear…

You know where this is going, don’t you?

My dad always used to say “Chris never knows when to stop” – so yes, I made another jumpsuit!

Landing right now:

IMG_1799(All photography curtesy of a rather uninterested 12-year old… )

So, let’s have a proper look at what is definitely my last contribution to Jumping into June:

IMG_1794

This is what I call my Beach Bum Jumpsuit, a nice complement to the Aviator, the Holly and the Fake Jumpsuit, I think. It comes from the most recent issue of Burdastyle, 7/2015 #123.

 

While this wasn’t hard to sew technically I still had a slightly hard time to make it look like the model picture. I had to make a few changes:

  • shorten the straps by at least 7cm – didn’t really measure, just took off what it took to make the armhole an armhole rather than a “full frontal view of the complete chest area”-hole. Honestly, you can tell from the model picture that it is quite lose, but what results from the pattern is something else.
  • change the order of construction of the straps. For the first time ever I really, really couldn’t make head or tail of the instructions. I was raised on Burdastyle, so normally I just grit my teeth, soldier on and work out the instructions, but this time inspite of reading them several time I just didn’t get it. However, the technical drawing makes it clear what you want to end up with and so it was easy enough to figure out a way of attaching the front  straps to the back. My way had the advantage that it is open to determining the length as the last step. They don’t sit quite flat, but I’d lost the will to live once I got where I am now, so they are there to stay, at least for the moment.
    IMG_1792
  • add a front button band rather than a back zip. I just thought that a back zip and urgent toilet business are not a happy combination, I saw myself with a stuck zipper desperate for the bathroom, so in came the buttons. In fact I really like the way it breaks up the front, so I’m happy with in on an aesthetic as well as practical level.

IMG_1791

  • sew the drawstring casing to the outside rather than do the inside + button hole option. Again, I quite like the fake-belt look of the contrast fabric.
    A little word of warning: The dropped waist is very dropped indeed. So dropped in fact that it really looks ridiculous and is quite restricitive as well because it results in limited leg movement.
    IMG_1795Burda make a big thing out of how the dropped waist conceals a lack of waist definition. Well, I think that’s only gonna work if you lack waist definition because you are so skinny you don’t have any curves. If you lack waist definition because of a overabundance of curves I don’t see the tent-with-drawstring look doing you any favours. Anyways, I’m only gonna wear this with the crotch hoiked up!

So altogether this isn’t the chicest garment I ever made, but I really love the relaxed vibe. When I put it on I feel like walking as if I was wearing flip-flops. The fabric is the lightest cotton lawn – it’s so light and breezy it puts me in a holiday mode when I put this on. Unfortunately I have to wait until the beginning of August until my holiday. Oh welll…

IMG_1796

So I bow out of Jumping into June. It is such fun to see you all joining in. I must say that I’m cured of all jumpsuit-related scepticism – it’s all the way from Saula to Paula for me.

Don’t forget to add your jumpsuits to the linkup party for #jumpingintojune and go and have a look at all the wonderful contributions.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Burdastyle 7/2015 #123: One Last Jumpsuit. Promised! #jumpingintojune

  1. NancyD June 17, 2015 at 10:47 pm Reply

    Just wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed your jumpsuit series. You have converted me into a jumpsuit fan. Very enjoyable reading!

    • Chris June 18, 2015 at 5:53 pm Reply

      Thank you Nancy. Glad you enjoyed it too.

  2. berrold June 17, 2015 at 10:57 pm Reply

    I saw that issue today and thought of you! I like the changes you made…a back zip is an accident waiting to happen! Thanks for the jumpsuit fun this month, I’ve loved being part of it!

    • Chris June 18, 2015 at 5:53 pm Reply

      Thank you! It’s been great fun, hasn’t it?

  3. yosami June 18, 2015 at 12:04 am Reply

    Looks great and so glad you made this, I was wondering what this’d look like on. Your pattern mods suit the style perfectly and your review is spot on as always! So glad you’ve finally converted to jumpsuits, at least I’ve got company now!

    • Chris June 18, 2015 at 5:51 pm Reply

      Yes, you have really converted me. Long live the jumpsuit!

  4. Tia Dia June 18, 2015 at 2:18 pm Reply

    Love this! I looked at the jumpsuit in Burda and mentally passed on it because of the dropped waistline. But yours is so comfy looking! You have a great set of jumpsuits, Chris.

    • Chris June 18, 2015 at 5:52 pm Reply

      Thank you. It seems that for both of us that whole jumpsuit business has gone a lot better than we thought it would, don’t you think?

  5. Thimberlina June 18, 2015 at 7:23 pm Reply

    They say there’s safety in numbers so you’ll be super safe with your collection. I’m not sure which is my favourite, I love them all! I’ve made a little ‘playsuit’ will try and get some photos tomorrow 😊

    • Chris June 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm Reply

      Looking forward to more jumpsuit-love 🙂

      • Thimberlina June 28, 2015 at 5:59 pm

        I’ve just started tracing this then lost the will to live because I couldn’t stick my non stick baking paper together! I half realised you’d made this then just checked and you’ve sold me again! I’m definitely getting rid of the back zipper too. Is there much ease? I’m about 2 inches bigger than the biggest size. 😀

      • Chris June 28, 2015 at 6:04 pm

        I thought there was plenty of ease but not a massive amount. I made my usual combo of size 40 bust/size 42 hips and I think I could have gone down one size each without a problem. But there is massive ease length wise (check out my drop crotch picture – that is with the straps already shortened by something like 7cm!)
        Let me know if you figure out the Burda way of assembling those straps, ’cause I couldn’t! Still don’t get how they want this to be done…

      • Thimberlina June 28, 2015 at 6:07 pm

        Thanks for the info, I’ll let you know. I also am going to buy the new Sallie Jumpsuit that’s come out from Closet Case Files. They’re everywhere! We’re such a cool bunch of jumpers, i mean ladies!!
        Any thoughts on future fashion crazes which we could start off!? 😀

      • Chris June 28, 2015 at 9:06 pm

        I think we should be asking Teresa ;-). She seems to be the authority on that!

      • Thimberlina June 28, 2015 at 9:58 pm

        Lol 😀

  6. delightfullypeculiar June 19, 2015 at 5:46 pm Reply

    I was also wondering what this looks like, it’s a great addition to your collection, you can go on a jumpsuit holiday!! Really nice and I will do mine at the weekend! It was a great idea. What other garment parade can we have next?

    • Chris June 19, 2015 at 8:53 pm Reply

      ooo, Something or other for July? Sew for September? That would be such a fun idea. But what to make??

      • delightfullypeculiar June 21, 2015 at 10:16 pm

        Hmm, I don’t know, maybe skirts & shirts for September since school starts again? We can take some time off during July & August haha!

  7. Paulinakoss Bruce June 21, 2015 at 6:51 am Reply

    Great jumpsuit Chris! I really loved this jumpsuit in the July issue for its simplicity but thought that the neckline was incredibly low! You made it work and I love the result!!!

    • Chris June 21, 2015 at 10:16 pm Reply

      Thank you Paulina. Those Burda necklines do need some taming, don’t you think?!

  8. Hila July 6, 2015 at 4:13 pm Reply

    You never cease to amaze me! I love this! Great pictures too!

  9. Hila July 29, 2015 at 6:12 pm Reply

    Hi Chris! Having been inspired by this jumpsuit I also started to make it. I have just got to the back straps and for the life of me I cant figure them out. I spent last 1.5 hours on it and arghh!!! I have a headache. So my burning question is How did you do yours? Thanks!

    • Chris July 29, 2015 at 10:03 pm Reply

      Hi Hila,
      those straps are a headache aren’t they?! I’m not at home at the moment and I can’t for my life remember how I did it so I’ll let you know as soon as I’m back home so I can check my jumpsuit. I do remember I somehow didn’t sew right and wrong side of the straps together completely so that a pocket would remain in which I could insert the other straps and then topstitch them down. Details that might make sense soon…

      • Hila July 29, 2015 at 11:07 pm

        Thanks Chris!

      • Chris August 8, 2015 at 9:05 pm

        Hila, I’m back home now. Do you still need help with the straps or have you soldiered on somehow?

      • Hila August 8, 2015 at 10:58 pm

        Thanks Chris! Yes please! I tried to soldier on but eish! I bagged it and backed off. I couldnt get the yokes to attach..

      • Chris August 9, 2015 at 10:14 pm

        Ok now, I just checked my construction and although I remember it as rather traumatic it’s acutally rather simple:
        1. I finished the back facing completely without attaching the straps at all.
        2. I pinned the shoulder straps into place in order to determine the correct length (I took off something like 7cm/3 in) to raise the armscythe which in its original state didn’t give any sideboob coverage at all. May be attractive on some, but not quite my style.)
        3. I then cut the straps to size including a seam allowance for folding under.
        4. I folded under the seam allowance and pinned the straps back into place.
        5. I topstitched the straps into place.
        6. Finished!

        Yes, i do have topstitching now where it’s not necessary according to the Burda instructions. But I just couldn’t get them to work + the Burda way you can’t check for length of straps until they are basically finished. I think my way works out just fine.
        Hope that helps and you get to wear your jumpsuit for the tailend of summer!

      • Hila August 9, 2015 at 10:20 pm

        Thank you! I will pull it out tomorrow and let you know how I get on😃

Leave a Reply

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

thesewingmiserablist

where stitchery gets to meet mediocrity, face-to-face, and firmly shakes it's hand

wakeymakes

Returning sewist, crafter and runner

saturday night stitch

A UK Sewing and Style blog by a Mum of 5 with a fervent passion for all sorts of dressmaking.

