Knipmode/Burdastyle 4/2015 # 103 Combo: Almost a Jumpsuit #jumpingintojune

Look what’s landed:

IMG_1749

Yes, you see correctly: almost a jumpsuit! I got so inspired by #jumpingintojune that I decided to make a matching set of trousers and top to recreate the look of a jumpsuit while preserving the versatility and ease of bathroom access of separates. On the minus side I do get to flash some tummy while jumping. But I seem to jump a lot more rarely in real life than this blog suggests so I’m fine with that.

IMG_1730

So there I am in my natural habitat, outside the Gasthaus Wilder Man (the Inn called “Wild Man”) – tbh, I’ve never been inside inspite of having lived here for 15 years, but the ice cream parlour is just opposite :-).

IMG_1731

I used some emerald green rayon crepe which I completely fell in love with. At first I thought it contained some portion of poly because it really is quite thick and doesn’t crease all that much, but  burn test confirmed that indeed it just seems to be rayon. It comes in coral too – I can see a bout of late night fabric shopping coming on…

IMG_1733 Like my Aviator jumpsuit this is fully versatile: Suitable for turning round

IMG_1735and walking! I’ve made some jaunty turnups for the legs when wearing it with flats, but it could also be worn with heels.

IMG_1736

The trousers pattern is from Kniipmode, a Dutch sewing magazine. I can just about work out the instructions although I don’t speak any Dutch at all, but it seems to be similar enough to both English and German for me to work it out. Plus, on a woven tracksuit pattern there really isn’t any great challenge of how to make these up. The top is my new favourite Burda woven top, 4/2015 # 103. This is my third version, version one, without the hem band is here.

What I like about it is the arm scythe:

IMG_1737It’s breezy and flowy but still offers full coverage, at least on the less well endowed. Both armhole and neckline are finished with bias tape, so this isn’t the fastest make, but while it takes a little bit of time it is not a complicated sew.

IMG_1739As you can see I had my hair cut, much to the chagrain of my colleagues who much preferred it longer. I seem to get a short hair flash every year summer starts – I had it cut the same length (though a slightly different colour) the same time last year.

IMG_1711

My husband forced my to take off my sun glasses, aka No Makeup Protection, once in the icecream parlour. At least I contrast coloured my drinks! All in the name of fashion, ey?!

If you haven’t got thirsty by now, go and have a look at the wonderful jumpsuit creations that Jumping into June has generated.
And if you’ve gone thirsty, go have a drink and then have a look at the wonderful jumpsuit creations that Jumping into June has generated.

Happy June to all of you!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Knipmode/Burdastyle 4/2015 # 103 Combo: Almost a Jumpsuit #jumpingintojune

  1. Thimberlina June 13, 2015 at 12:33 am Reply

    Love the combo, and the emerald green really suits you!
    I’m so behind my blog reading this week, so glad this was near the top! I’m working backwards, not sure if I’ll ever catch up! 😃

  2. symondezyn June 13, 2015 at 4:09 am Reply

    I absolutely love your hair this length – it looks fantastic on you! Also the outfit is great, and your poses are even better ^__^

    • Chris June 13, 2015 at 11:03 am Reply

      Thanky you Symon! Yep, crazy posed seem to come a lot more natural to me than sexy/feminine/flirty/beautiful ones…

  3. Love the green on you. How many jumpsuits have you made already this month?

  4. Marianne June 13, 2015 at 1:13 pm Reply

    Nice outfit! If you ever need any translation help for Knipmode, just say so!

    • Chris June 13, 2015 at 8:12 pm Reply

      Thank you Marianne, very kind. I may just take you up on this – although they have started publishing Knipmode in German now (it’s called Fashionstyle here), so it’s all a lot easier now.

  5. navybluethreads June 13, 2015 at 8:23 pm Reply

    Lovely Chris, and a great colour on you. I accidentally clicked on your photo, so got an extreme close-up, almost as if you were jumping out at me, yikes! 😉

    • Chris June 13, 2015 at 8:24 pm Reply

      Goodness, I didn’t mean to be that scary. Although a little scary is a good thing for a teacher, don’t you think? 😉

      • navybluethreads June 13, 2015 at 9:58 pm

        Absolutely, I like to veer between charming and smiley Mrs Davey and sharp and utterly no nonsense -keeps them on their toes 😉

  6. Amanda June 14, 2015 at 7:55 am Reply

    Love it!!! Looks fab! I agree …it’s a great colour on you!!

  7. anniehanks June 16, 2015 at 4:01 pm Reply

    The color is wonderful on you!!

    • Chris June 16, 2015 at 10:09 pm Reply

      thank you Annie

  8. […] is what I call my Beach Bum Jumpsuit, a nice complement to the Aviator, the Holly and the Fake Jumpsuit, I think. It comes from the most recent issue of Burdastyle, 7/2015 […]

  9. neela June 21, 2015 at 9:57 am Reply

    Love it. The green is fab. I’m impressed how far you can jump! Hahaha👍!!!

    • Chris June 21, 2015 at 10:14 pm Reply

      Yep, my jumping is much improved after all that practice 😉

  10. Tina Olsson / Gavanna July 2, 2015 at 3:10 pm Reply

    That a very impressive karate jump! And the not-jumpsuit is very,very nice too!

  11. Jessie Blank August 20, 2015 at 6:48 pm Reply

    very cute idea! may I ask where you’ve bought that wonderful rayon crepe? I’ve been looking for some for quite some time.
    Jessie

  12. Jessie Blank August 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Ahh, thank you Chris, I’m even living in Germany so shipping shouldn’t be a problem 😉
    Thanks so much, I think I’ll take that
    same color – it’s beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

Strickblog | Nähblog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

