Great minds think alike: Some basic T-Shirts

Isn’t it funny how sometimes several people seem to do or think the same things at the same time, unbeknown to each other? Case in point: I came down from my sewing room the other day, having cut a few basic Ts (sometimes you just have to do the basic stuff, don’t you) only to find posts in my reader from Teresa and Emma-Jayne bout how “you sometimes just have to do the basic stuff”. Great minds think alike, ey?

IMG_1658

I didn’t use a commercial pattern for this, just a quick and dirty copy of a standard GAP scoop neck tee, when all’s said and done still my favourite T-shirt pattern, next to my standard cowl neck top.

IMG_1659

I could not get Helena’s fabulous royal/coral/white collection out of my mind (honestly, I want every single item in her collection!), so I raided my stash for some royal blue jersey that is very, very fine indeed, too fine for all the other projects I had considered it for. I’ve already worn this top three times in two weeks, so it was certainly worth cutting into it.

The next picture will amuse you:

IMG_1576What do you think about the result of me thinking: “oo, diamond shapes, must make sure they don’t end up right at the bust apex”? Of course, they ended up right at the bust apex…

IMG_1577Trying to camouflage them with either navy blue or make-your-eyes-go-crazy self fabric breast pockets.

IMG_1662Not perfect but workable and a nice way to finally get rid of the scraps of this dress.

IMG_1669

Any finally a littel stripey number, following a Burda batwing pattern – can’t remember which one, lazy book-keeping on my side. But every other issue has one, so it would be easy to find one.

IMG_1674The bat part isn’t all that big. I really love batwing shirts to look at, but wearing them is another matter. Somehow I always feel swamped and never cool and flowy…

IMG_1675However, would you please like to take note of that stripe matching! Thank you 😉

IMG_1670

There is another green T somewhere that I never managed to get photos of, but it’s just as basic as the other tops so you’ll be able to picture it.

So, no breathtaking sewing after the excitement of jumping into June. But in the end of the day, these are the garments that I wear most often, so certainly useful sewing.

And what can I tell you: #jumpingintojune seems to have done something to my mind: I bought a new jumpsuit pattern today… Oh well…

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Great minds think alike: Some basic T-Shirts

  1. ellegeemakes June 12, 2015 at 5:25 am Reply

    Love all the shades of blue here, as I am crazy for blue right now! Love the placement of the pockets…LOL. I’ve had similar issues with prints before. Frustrating….

  2. SewingElle June 12, 2015 at 10:40 am Reply

    Great tops. What is it about basics? I’ve just seen a super super plain black pencil skirt… Worn the next day of course.

  3. Emma Jayne June 12, 2015 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Most excellent stripe matching… what is the pattern repeat on that?! Thanks for the mention. I have the most basic of basic on my list to do: Plain white t-shirt.

    • Chris June 12, 2015 at 9:35 pm Reply

      I did think of you when pinning the stripes! Though I didn’t use quite as many pins as you do. Tbg I didn’t even take not of the pattern repeat as the fabric was an end of roll remnant…

  4. navybluethreads June 12, 2015 at 8:31 pm Reply

    Great minds think alike indeed 😉 love all of these, and your print placement did make me laugh, great save!

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

