Burdastyle 5/2010 #119 : The “Where did I leave my Aviator shades” Jumpsuit #jumpingintojune

aaaaaaaannnd

IMG_1644

there…

IMG_1641

she lands!

Flight Lieutenant Said&Done ready for service!

IMG_1647

No mission is hard enough for her, ’cause you never know what nifty gadgets she has hidden down those enormous elasticated legs!

IMG_1648

And look: She is fully qualified for walking down steps as well:

IMG_1654

See, told you, now mission too hard for her!

IMG_1649

And whatever you do, don’t mess with her, because you’re gonna get this kind of look.

IMG_1652

Or has she just realised that she has rolled up in a Top Gun Style jumpsuit without the Aviator shades? Well never mind, she’ll just have to show you her second jumpsuit, a BHL Holly, soon.

IMG_1650

Disclaimer:

If you feel the world – or at least this blog – has gone slightly mad, don’t worry. This post is in honour of #jumpingintojune, where a number of us has decided to sew jumpsuits for June.

Well, I say decided… In fact it might have been  combination of late night posting, general silliness and social networking pressure that made me and some avid non-wearers of jumpsuits decide it might be a good idea to sew some… Read the comments to this post in order to make up your mind.

And if you have made a jumpsuit, make sure you leave a comment with the blog post URL in this post so that I can compile a list of all June Jumpers.

Now for the science bit:

I used Burdastyle 5/2010 #119 for this. The pattern has struck me when it first came out – I just really liked the idea of making up what is essentially a boilersuit in a dressy fabric and wearing it with heels.

But then, I don’t wear jumpsuits, you know, so I never gave the pattern a second thought. Apart from the fact that apparently now I do wear jumpsuits – I think. I cut the size 40 top/42 bottom and sewed without any changes. As you can see, the legs could be a bit shorter and maybe a little less full. I was surprised to see that the top doesn’t have all that much ease – if you are more well endowed than me you might want to check for an FBA.

I used a heavy washed rayon for this, which is actually a shade of lighter blue. I thought it might be a cool idea to do black topstitching on it – which then turned out so awfully that I died over the whole thing in black to hide the topstitching. This now makes the fabric come out in an almost black kinda shade of midnight blue. Result! The buttons I stole out of the notions pile for my son’s next shirt – clear case of selfish sewing…

I have to admit that this is the coolest things to wear – once I put it on all I want to do is lounging cooly on corners and make Top Gun style salutes. How all of that is going to translate into real life I’m not quite sure, but I’ll report. I can’t really think of any proper occasion to wear a garment such as this “in context” as it were. Moreover my life isn’t exactly rich of “occasions” anyway. So I’ve decided I will just wear this as a normal everyday garment and see how I get on with it. How well I’ll judge by the expressions on my students’ and colleagues’ faces when I first touch down with this in school 😉 .

How are your jumpsuits coming on? Or if you aren’t a jumpsuit fan just yet, what would convert you?

Tagged: , , ,

16 thoughts on “Burdastyle 5/2010 #119 : The “Where did I leave my Aviator shades” Jumpsuit #jumpingintojune

  1. Thimberlina June 1, 2015 at 1:31 pm Reply

    Brilliant! Your write up is so funny that it would banish anyone’s Monday morning blues! Your jumpsuit is a master piece and dyed too – you have been busy. Love the whole post and can’t wait to see what all the other jumpers have created.
    I salute you Flight Lieutenant Said&Done – well done!

  2. Amanda June 1, 2015 at 2:31 pm Reply

    Love It!!!! Hahahaha! Brilliant!
    Mine is live too!
    http://aebgledhill.com/2015/06/01/jumpingintojune-sew-deputy/
    Thanks for organising!! X
    Over and out

  3. Tia Dia June 1, 2015 at 3:10 pm Reply

    Wowee! I love this! It looks fabulous and I can’t wait to hear your wearability assessment of it. Well done! I think this may be an addictive garment to sew. Looking forward to seeing your BHL Holly version!

  4. SewSouthLondon June 1, 2015 at 3:33 pm Reply

    You did it by 1st June! Amazing! It’s very cool.

  5. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) June 1, 2015 at 5:31 pm Reply

    wow that looks fantastic.

  6. navybluethreads June 1, 2015 at 7:40 pm Reply

    Love everything about this post: the photos, the commentary and do you know what? Even the jumpsuit itself! Looking funky and fun, can’t wait to hear about its first outing… 🙂

  7. […] still not tempted??  If you need more inspiration head over and have a look at Chris’s first Jumpsuit (yes – she’s made more than one!!) and Amanda’s (I bet […]

  8. […] Flight Lietenant Said&Done here for one last mission: to hand over the controls of Team JumpingintoJune to Holly: […]

  9. neela June 3, 2015 at 12:48 am Reply

    I love this version and it just reminds me of the electric blue boiler suit I had in the 80s. Great post and flippin’ high jumping girl…well done! Nee 🐝

  10. symondezyn June 3, 2015 at 5:30 am Reply

    Wow, I LOVE this one! Great style, and looks super comfy – love it, good stuff! Now I have to go check out that pattern! 😛

  11. […] self, Chris of Said&Done: Handmade by Chris, trying to be the teacher’s pet by making a long sleeve and a strappy sleeve […]

  12. […] no breathtaking sewing after the excitement of jumping into June. But in the end of the day, these are the garments that I wear most often, so certainly useful […]

  13. […] my Aviator jumpsuit this is fully versatile: Suitable for turning […]

  14. […] is what I call my Beach Bum Jumpsuit, a nice complement to the Aviator, the Holly and the Fake Jumpsuit, I think. It comes from the most recent issue of Burdastyle, […]

  15. […] by Chris over at “Handmade by Chris” I decided to follow in everybody elses steps and make a jumpsuit in June, for the so called […]

Leave a Reply

Thimble End

Sustainable sewing | Ethical living

Tweed & Greet

hello to handmade fashion and lifestyle

LOTILDA

stricken & nähen | slowfashion blog

The Monthly Stitch

Come sew with us...

Sewchet

Sewing, crochet, crafts, accessories, baking, tutorials,

Love, Lucie

Where hands and minds are rarely still

Apricot Mylo

a dressmaking journey

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Stitched up by Jenna

"Sewing mends the soul"

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

nelnanandnora

Faith, family and creativity

